Watching sports is dumb... (aka. I hate american football season)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #sports7 years ago

....ok ok ok... let me clarify a bit I guess. Don't get your panties in a twist.

I like sports

What I don't like are spectator sports meaning:

  • Someone else plays a sport
  • They collect your money
  • You sit on your butt

Trust me. I love being active. I love competing.

When I was a child, I played baseball for 4 years.

Here is a goofy novelty magazine cover my parents bought one year for proof...

baseball.jpg

Now as an adult I rock climb.

(Above is the first rock climbing competition I competed in last halloween)
(I WON BTW)

... and trust me. I love watching rock climbing videos for the adrenaline rush, and to set goals. I also watching my friends climb.
Whats the difference?

  • When I am watching, I am setting personal attainable goals
    OR
  • They are personal friends

Professional athletes have no vested interest in you as a person. They wont care if the argument you had over watching the football game was the final rift in your marriage. They don't care if you are a struggling alcoholic trying to get better... they are sponsored by your favorite beer. They MIGHT care about you as a fan... that is all. They care about you because you root for their accomplishments and give them YOUR money.

When you watch your favorite team on tv you are claiming pride in something that you have no part in achieving. When they when you get a dopamine rush. A sense of accomplishment. That is false. Your enthusiasm is a lie. You turn on them when they loose because you don't get that rush. You feel like you lost... and you didn't. You didn't even play. You will never play. You will sit on your couch drinking beer and eating chips as always.

GET UP. WAKE UP

Stop living vicariously through someone else, live your own life.

Do you better.

b3.png

"Don't be mad cause I'm doing me better than you doing you" - Childish Gambino

P.S. I have my own time wasters, I am aware of this. However, I refuse to feel a sense of accomplishment from anything other than what I have done for my own self.

P.S.S. If you like wagering on teams/playing fantasy sports for money. DO IT. Make that money if you can haha

Sort:  

Rock climbing brothers! I skateboard, surf, and rock climb. Rock climbing has taken the #1 slot as far as how I spent my non-lifting, non-training time. I tore a tendon, but have recovered and am back on the wall.

Send those routes, boss!

Upvoted on behalf of the dropAhead Curation Team!
Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead witness account of the dropAhead curation team!

Watch out for the #xx-votesplus tag!

Do you want more earnings?

By doing the above you will give us more STEEM POWER (SP) to give YOU more earnings next time.

Keep up the good work!


Most recent post: Moving #25_votes_plus to Discord

Interesting. I found it always weird when people say " We won " or " Tomorrow, we are playing against....." Like they are playing.

Im not the type who thinks, ive achieved something if a team im rooting for wins, but perhaps others might feel so. I dunno

Never thought about this. Interesting article @saywha

I live in Washington State and the local football team here the Seahawks went to the superbowl two years in a row, so I had to hear nothing but "seahawks" crap for literally years... It kind of forced this introspective thought.

I can see the beauty of young millionaires hitting each other in the head. Especially the bloopers, cause it's so dumb.

lolol. Talking to an ex-nfl player, I wish I could say I found it funny. Especially in a society where we teach our kids that that is who they should be.

This is a bold opinion piece and I agree with the statements!! Gg :) Rock climber huh, nice!!! I'm more of a high cardio and impact exerciser, bag work, speed weights, explosive exercises... that kind of vibe. I believe I'll try out some rock climbing at some point though :):)

Bouldering (a type of rick climbing) is super explosive. If you enjoy that then id try!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05