Optimism at the End of the World #11 : Death is Awesome

in #spirituality7 years ago

Not too long ago I was in Hong Kong with my parents. We went to a restaurant where ducks were hanging from their necks, ready to be served. My parents had seen this in Chinatown at home before but they never dared enter restaurants that displayed dead animals in the window. Just mentioning a living cow when we were eating beef would cause my father to lose his appetite. But why should it?

pexels-photo-206351.jpeg
image link

In the suburbs of the western world (as well as a few other places), we seem to like to sterilize things, make them as inoffensive, perfect and picturesque as possible. We have phone numbers to call for stray animals, insects and rodents in our homes, and we can even have groceries delivered to our doorstep. We act as if the holy act of washing our hands can prevent all illness. When we do get sick, we act as if staying alive at all costs is the highest prerogative, despite how uncomfortable life becomes. In many places doctors are legally not allowed to let a patient die, even if the patient wishes it upon themselves.

Death from a distance

We enjoy blood filled action movies but few of us have ever seen death up close. The news mentions it every day but never actually shows it, they'd get in trouble if they did. Somehow to show a depiction in a movie is ok, but to show the real thing is beyond taboo, morbid beyong even mentioning. We're not talking about something that may or may not exist here, we are talking about one of the most fundamental of all life experiences, something that is inevitable for all of us.

Did you get a little uncomfortable reading that last sentence?

Meat eaters will put chunks of dead animal meat into their mouths every day. Even vegetarians are absorbing the life force of plants, rarely pondering on the process. We avoid telling children the realities of death for as long as possible, as if we could protect them from it. We live as if we will never die for most of our lives and once it starts to stare us in the face, we try to look beyond it to whatever may or may not lie beyond, almost skipping over death entirely.

There are those in the scientific community who are pushing for immortality and many hoping they succeed. What drives them? Is it truly a passion for life and a desire for more of it? Or is it a stubborn attempt to run away from what they fear?

Why do we fear death

There are many ways to explain why we fear death. There's the scientific explanation that makes some sense; our fear of death motivates us to continue living. There is the philosophical connection to a fear of the unknown. From a social point of view, people who live in fear are easier to manipulate and control. How convenient...what better way to maintain a position of power than to make something which is unavoidable a taboo. By reinforcing death as something to be feared we are essentially left with an entire population which is easily programed. Offer a sense of security and they'll do anything you require of them.

Fear and Mental illness.

I was inspired to write this after reading this post by @scandanavianlife about how emotional disorders come about from an overly complicated lifestyle.
I do agree with his assessment that many disorders are exaggerated by overcomplicated lives. I'm also reminded of one of my very first Optimism posts. In it I attempt to show that most, if not all emotional issues stem from fear. One kind of fear stands above the rest in it's near universiality, a fear of death. By facing this fear, a giant weight is lifted off our chest and we can really begin to untangle the rest of our fears and whatever is holding us back.

Death is beautiful

In Japan, every spring millions of people head to public parks and other comfortable corners of the city and countryside to enjoy just a few days of cherry blossoms. For many, the cherry blossoms symbolize the impertinence of life. In the idea of impertinence is a sense of unparalleled beauty. Who make the extra effort to go out and enjoy the beauty of the cherry blossom leaves like pink clouds above the whole country, or like snow sprinkling the skies if it was something they could enjoy throughout the year? Through idea of impertinence, we are able to grasp the true beauty of life.

Death is part of the cycle of life. Our body is made up of molecules that were likely part of other animals. We make houses from trees. We must consume once living things to survive. One of my friends prays before all of his meals. When I met him I thought that he must be Christian. Later he told me he has no religion. I asked who he was praying to. "To all the plants and animals that give me energy and allow me to live each day". Since meeting him I've started doing the same. I try to avoid killing bugs and when I do I make sure to apologize and send love their way.

Regardless of your feelings about what does or doesn't come after, death is something we need to face if we want to have a full understanding of life and find harmony with nature.

Ponder your own death for a second. Does it scare you?


IMG_1406.JPG

Join the "Be Awesome" community

The Be Awesome discord chat, was created with the intention of making deeper connections with fellow steemians.

Be Awesome discord channel

thetree - Confessions of the Damaged (my fiction) @ patreon

Sort:  

I'm not scared to die at all. I just need to raise my kids first. I hung between life and death for a few days once. It would have not been difficult to go over. But I had 3 kids, one just born.

When I feel close for a while I don't fear it, but then when I've gotten away from it and it comes back it's much scarier. I guess that fear of not being here to finish whatever it is you are doing here is also kind of a fear of death though, even if it's not a fear for yourself like most people have. You are a brave soul though.

I have accepted death as a cycle of life. It is the pain I fear. Not so much for myself, for the ones I love deeply.

Life is indeed no clean room. Shielding ourselves from violence does not mean it is not out there.

Beautiful thought about praying for animals and plants that keep us alive. Thank you for sharing.

Hmm that is a tricky one..... I haven't thought much about fear of pain, but I do think that we invite pain to our experience to help us grow. So when you grow to a certain point you outgrow the need for whatever pain you are experiencing and it tends to go away. This is a big jump though.

Death to me is the end of a cycle that is a part of neverending cycle. Birth, Preservation and Death is the Trinity of Existence

I'm interested in knowing how you came to that conclusion? It took me staring death in the face multiple times to understand this.

Well lucky for me I didn't have to look death in the face. I came to this conclusion because of extensive research into astrology, history, numerology and many different things. Actually I'm now inspired to make a post to properly answer your question

Nice! Link me when you finish :-D

I like the different-from-mainstream perspective of death.


This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

I'm glad you picked this one. He totally deserves it. :)

Sure. I'm always glad to get OCD love. I'd worry about always hogging it but good thing there's lots of OCD love to go around :-)

I don't know what happened, but I guess I gave into the idea of being middle aged. I'm not going to live to 90, so I guess I'm past middle aged. Still feel like a kid in my head, but it's just not the reality.

I don't fear death because I don't believe it all ends with our physical corpse. If there isn't more beyond death, then I really don't know what this life was all about. Seems somewhat trivial. Fight, scratch and claw to keep your sorry ass alive long enough to propagate the next generation of struggling souls and then kaboom, you're dead.

I enjoyed your friends prayer to his food. I'm going to start doing that.

I had a death dream a while ago, where as I lay dying, my grandmother was holding my hand, telling me there's nothing to fear. I then saw a bright light that paved a path for me. As my soul started moving upward in that light, the elation I felt was intense. That feeling remained with me and made a huge difference in the way I see death. I now know it's going to be beautiful.

However, as @onetree said, I fear dying before fulfilling my responsibilities. I want to leave this earth when I have done my duty ( as I see it).

As usual, amazing read.

Wow how did i miss you all this time. Great post. I find death fascinating I no longer fear it. I mean if you hung me off a cliff I am sure I would scream bloody murder but the act of myself dying I do not worry about. It is a natural part of the cycle. I am not religious myself. I do not fear hell or worry about heaven. I try to be the best person I can be because I want to.

A bit off topic i had an aunt tell me I needed to do three things or I would not be able to visit her in heaven. ( this revolved around Jesus) I found this so.... ridicules. Of course I did not say that, I love my aunt, I just said " i'm sorry I don't believe it works that way." but the way different religions and belief systems deal with Death is fascinating as well.

When I die I don't want to be put in a box I don't really care but it would be nice to be just thrown in a ditch so my body would decay and become part of the soil.

This reality is good enough for me. I don't need to believe in a god or afterlife to make this life worthy of living. Im OK with realizing I don't know what happens and nobody knows and if its just lights out. This life was stiff great and for me luckily worth living.
I find life fascinating too! The fact that we exist and live on this rock ball hurtling through space blows my mind.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67651.53
ETH 3845.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65