Searching for Zen.

in #spirituality7 years ago (edited)

A POST IN WHICH I WRESTLE WITH ZEN AND COMPARE MYSELF TO A PESKY PARASITE.

Zen past Future.jpg

When first the spirits started to communicate with me I was as excited as a hopping flea on a red hued, electric hotplate. Infused with energy and excitement I couldn’t stop myself from asking questions.

I soon learnt that this was not acceptable as they chided me gently and told me;

“Linda, some things you are not meant to know”.

Or;

“All will be revealed in divine timing, when you are ready”.

This only further piqued my curiosity as I replied;

“But when will I be ready?”

To which they simply stated;

“You will be ready when you know you are ready!”

The spirits can be a slippery bunch of busy wisps; loving an on-point analogy and, seemingly, delighting in being obtuse - leaving a person to unpick the wisdom stitched into the very fabric of their own unique life experience.

For some long while they have encouraged me to strive towards a state of Zen and cautioned me against over thinking.

For, through over thinking, a person can get themselves into a right royal and rather ratty tangle!

But, (and yes, I know that a person should never start a sentence with a but, but hell! - rules are made to be broken as, rather incredulously today, my bank manager once told me back in the lawless wild west South London ‘burbs in the 1990’s!)

So, I’ll try again -

But what exactly is Zen?

I have quietly pondered this enviable state of being for some long while now and here follows my best interpretation to date:

The state of Zen exists, suspended, in the incredibly finer than fine, blow one’s mind, notional line that exists between the past and the future. Zen is achieved in the gnat’s hairs breath space when what has gone and what is yet to be are of absolutely no consequence.

It is the state where total acceptance is achieved and all expectation and judgement are suspended.

An illusive and super complicated, in its supreme simplicity, state.

A state where a person, without breaking sweat, becomes intuitively tuned into a collective and universal wisdom and simply “IS”.

A state where all has the possibility of being revealed.

Work in progress here folks!

:)

I wonder, does my definition resonate with you? How do you define Zen?

With Love.

xox

me 200 x 200.jpg

(Still relatively new to Steemit I have a lot to contribute to this vibrant community. All words, pictures and illustrations are my own work. I politely request that if you enjoyed this piece you spread the love and generously upvote/follow and even consider a cheeky resteem so as, together, we can fly - with thanks).

http://www.lindadacey-laforge.com

I also invite comment on my recent efforts:

https://steemit.com/spirituality/@ldacey-laforge/once-you-know-there-is-no-turning-back

https://steemit.com/art/@ldacey-laforge/my-virtual-gallery-now-open

https://steemit.com/spirituality/@ldacey-laforge/wisdom-7

https://steemit.com/inspiration/@ldacey-laforge/why-you-should-consider-ditching-facebook-today

Sort:  

Hi there, I've been looking through some posts and came across yours. you do have some great articles and some lovely artwork.
I'm new too, I'd like to invite you to have a look at my page which includes my first video editing attempt. (it's something I've always liked to do).
I've upvoted you and I've added you to my follow list.
Good luck with your future goals.

Thank-you for your kind and generous comment.

I am sure you will love it here; there are some really interesting and supportive folks.

Off to check out your blog now.

:)

I wish you happiness and success.

xox

#life
TB Joshua : Your situation does not embarrass God because He has solution.

have you read the power of now, i do find it one of the books that holds the most truth in many ways that it is just about being and full acceptance of the now

Indeed.

I love Eckhart Tolle.

xox

@ultravioletmag that’s one of my “go to” books. Love E Tolle so much! xx

Yeah it’s definitely a lot of truth you can just pick it up randomly too and it makes sense without reading the whole lot

I read all
His books twice. LoL
Tolle really helped me when I was newly Awakened. My aunts recommendation and aid for growth. xx

This is kinda weird? I liked it but I think i didn't understand the whole complex. I must have lost my zen existence just because I read his. lol!

Stay cool!

Zen is not an easy concept to understand.

And is even more challenging to achieve.

A person could spend a whole lifetime cultivating this practice and still fall short!

xox

@theloneword I kind of felt the same but got the gist, of you meditate or travel through the dreamworld it is that State of Being that takes you straight to other realms and/or a place of peace where your soul finds the most comfort. Have you been there? xx

ahh. Just like the buddhist do! Got it. Thanks @eaglespirit

I would love to learn how to do that!

Do you know if you are an Empath? I wrote a blog on the traits, of you aren’t sure. Have you have a NDE? Do you have abilities, some call these gifts?

No mind.

The sound of one hand clapping 👋

In my method of the Basic Rhythm of Verbal Dancing I call it the Expansion phase.

I believe that we make Zen complicated. When, in fact, it is the purest, most simple state :)

Welcome to Steemit! You are a great addition, and I look forward to sharing thoughts <3

I believe you are right.

Thanks.

:)

xox

I've been lucky enough to catch a fleeting glimpse at zen during some meditations. Still learning. Hopefully it will start to come easier, stay longer and seep into relationships. - Great post :)

I think we never stop learning if we are open and honest.

Thanks for passing by and your encouragement.

:)

Off now to reciprocate the favour.

xox

The way I've come to know Zen is that it's just a word and rather than representing a thing Zen is a lack of things; unborn and uncreated. That's why it's elusive. Happiness is the absence of the need for happiness. You could say Zen is the absence of need itself.

You could also call it the absolute Cool!!! if you want to bring it to a bunch of teenagers. If you look at Zen stories they are really about people being insanely cool.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56769.47
ETH 2402.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30