Sort:  

Here, at age 35, I look back and can't help but wonder, "where the fuck did the last 15 years of my life go?

Why is there a gnawing sense of discontent and unfulfillment that won't leave me alone?

Well @rok-sivante, as you can see I've read your post top to bottom and also did watch the video start to end to tell you my most honest opinion about this issue.

First of all you have nothing to recriminate yourself mate. You've simply been the victim of mighty modern drug dealers. Both you and everyone else. Jíbaros is the name we give to them around here on my neck of the woods. They use the most furtive practices to behead your soul through the most addictive substances you can imagine. ¡Massaging Your Ego! They know their job pretty well.

Therefore, just to make this comment short I'm gonna complement your video with a second one which also have subtitles in many other languages to spread your message even further and clearer reaching to everyone. And finally after that, kind of a recommendation for you.


(Click CC and activate your native language)

¿My recommendation?

Thanks God you're still on time. Casually at barely 48 hrs to take a great purifying shower of spiritual sand. One that will invade with sacred dust even the most intimate and hidden crevices of your own being. Hurry up mate! pack your stuff and get ready to burn your ancient decrepit ships after seven days. };)

Greate video / addition to the thread. 👌

I’ve been thinking about doing Burning Man next year for the first time... :-)

Love the whole enchilada.
Thank you for your contribution!
Good fortune.
84060860-7581-4014-ACF0-2425371A99AF.png

I had to watch the video over and over not because I didnt understand but because the truths contained in it is too live. Im pretty much like the last guy that spoke, for me, social media has been dead for a long time, my facebook, instagram with one or two posts in a year, ofcourse a lot of my friends complained, I thought I had a problem of being anti social media, I could not even exactly say why, it just didnt reflect me in the way I wanted, the connections were not deep, besides the way other people judged what they saw put me off. I remember my first social media account on Hi-5, it was quite meaningless, then facebook came, helping me reach old school friends from far and wide, I was caught up in connecting and reconnecting, it was all short lived, till everyone got busy again.

Then instagram came along, stealing attention span as illustrated in the video, quite flashy innovation, the very addictive notifications of amount of likes that followed a post, that meant acceptance, or recognition of some sort. My attitude actually made me an outcast of some sort towards my social circle, as I was expected to be enveloped like everyone else.

That is another thing when you dont conform, you become an outcast, or someone perceived as incapable, unenlightened or too broke to have nothing to offer, i'm speaking individually now, some of these actually got to me, and took its toll too.

Its like a case of if you conform, then all they said in the video is totally follows suit, but if you dont, then there is another battle of social construct that has to be faced.

It does not get better, these designs keep infiltrating our everyday lives, the damage keeps growing like a virus and it is evident that we are already been programmed, just look at kids whom from 7years are already caught up in this web, it is a norm, a deadly norm individually, socially and culturally. Attention engineering, oh dear!

Well...

You may have gone through those trials of judgement by your peers as a consequence of the non-conformity. But, you know what you emerged as? A leader.

For real: when I came across your account - along with Mide’s and Tomilo’s - it stood out. In a very good way.

It’s a pretty fascinating thing, how such a refusal to engage in the norms can generate such a response in your social group. Funny, even the reference of “unenlightened and have nothing to offer.” Yet, in continuing to live your truth, time comes around to the outcome of having more to offer, from a place of greater enlightenment.

Lol. 😇💖

main-qimg-bc177514398e04f8ece12b7e56bff3c7.png

Wow! The video actually said it all sir...just like one of the speaker said " social media tool are designed to be additive the actual design desired use..."

I also agreed with the speaker that said that this social media is like a cocaine that when taken leads to addiction thus makes the individual involved to develop hungry to have a habitual response of checking and going back to his or her social media just to know if any comment or "like" have been made to his or her social media post.

Its a pity social media that is supposed to be used for propagation of friendship is now used to savage, hurt,hate and bring down reputations of individuals just in a second.
Nowadays people come up to social media to fight and brag of what they are not just to attain a particular height in social life.

Its appalling that the essense of social media like facebook isnt fully utilized for business purposes...everyday number of people logging in are increasing.

Time they say, is of a good essence. Social media eats into our time and make us to be wasteful as regards our priority of duty in our work place.

However, I dont engage in anything that will keep my tummy empty thus making me to feel less hunger because of the excitement of "comments and likes"

I created a working schedule to make the spirit of facebook to be far fetched from me.

Nevertheless, I do advertise some of my products like some laboratory equipments thus helping me maximise my resources and time for enhencing the fast sell of my local products.

Social media is like a double edged sword...it can make us achieve a time maximization or limit us to jobless workers

Indeed, the yin & yang pervades everything.

Ultimately, social media is merely a tool - which can be wisely used or irresponsibly abused...

Obviously

Here is a similar interview that was quite brutal about the smartphone

we must realize that constant exhibition of personal life on social media gives diminishing returns over time. it is common sense to understand that our personal lives are just that, personal. By holding them in, we build character over time.

yes, articles get read because you expose yourself. But that is just voyeurism and it becomes a drug. a drug that is manufactured into heady cocktails by social media platforms.

some personal stories are worth to be published because they are engines of change. but that is far and few in between.

if one really desires to publish content, appreciate criticism over praise. don't be worried about the outcome of creating content. and your life is not content for someone else. Your life is your own to grow and develop.

I totally agree! Facebook is like a dangerous addictive drug - and its by design! They have eaten the internet are now censoring everything that doesn't fit within their very narrow Silicon Valley left liberal viewpoint and need to be stopped.
If you want to help stop them Join the Class Action against the illegal Crypto Ad Ban! https://www.jpbliberty.com/class-member-signup

Lots of strong images passing very important messages... I love this post bro you full of wisdom @rok-sivante ........I was once like this too, I had similar experience with the writings in the post.

Well said! The inherent dangers of social media are many, people learn how not to interact one on one and social skills go down the tube. Addiction is a whole other issue leading to a change in the brains ability to discern need from want thus creating a cycle of compulsion. I briefly had a Fukbook and twitter account years ago, never really got into it and deactivated both, seemed like putting my personal stuff out there might be dangerous.😉

The way of your writing is just incredible. This is a deep writing and the way you connect the readers with the story is worth learning.
I am 25 and I was totally fucked up until recently. The minimum wages, Fucking addictive lifestyle, The wrong choices and the negative influence and on the top of that Loneliness. Loneliness is very interesting as it deepens as we grow up. I never was this lonely and there were many factors which were affecting my mindset. I can't express how filthy and I can still feel the smell.
I called my mentor and told the story. I wrote over 150 words to describe what I was feeling and you know what his answer was too concise and perfect.
Meditation, physical exercise and service. He said," There is a very important tool in your body and it can figure out anything. It has made many millionaires. Your problem is nothing just make sure your mind and body work in a sync."
I followed a routine and I am feeling, doing and behaving in a way better now. The tool is body and mind.
Thank you so much for sharing and I appreciate your act of sharing the story because most of them live behind the mask.

your welcome.

sometimes, mistakes and failures are just part of the process. live, learn, upgrade, and recalibrate for new strategies guided by greater wisdom...

....and here's my annual reminder to not renew my World of Warcraft account.

Admittedly I haven't watched the video yet, but I feel you. Years ago, when I had a smartphone, I realized how dangerous it was having Facebook in my pocket. So when that phone died, I downgraded to a not-smart phone, and I lived that way for years. I recently got a smartphone again, but I do not have Facebook or Messenger on it. I refuse. I still spend some time there, but most days, not nearly as much, and I whittled the friends list down to people I actually interact with regularly, and revisit that weeding process periodically (without announcing it for ego stroking first). Some friends I care about, that's really the only way to keep in touch. So ...it's not as bad of a time suck as it used to be, but I haven't #deletefacebook'd because of that fact.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28