You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Social Media Mindfucked, Sabotaged, And Corroded Our Souls: Addictions, Reflections, And Powerful Perspective...

in #socialmedia6 years ago (edited)

I had to watch the video over and over not because I didnt understand but because the truths contained in it is too live. Im pretty much like the last guy that spoke, for me, social media has been dead for a long time, my facebook, instagram with one or two posts in a year, ofcourse a lot of my friends complained, I thought I had a problem of being anti social media, I could not even exactly say why, it just didnt reflect me in the way I wanted, the connections were not deep, besides the way other people judged what they saw put me off. I remember my first social media account on Hi-5, it was quite meaningless, then facebook came, helping me reach old school friends from far and wide, I was caught up in connecting and reconnecting, it was all short lived, till everyone got busy again.

Then instagram came along, stealing attention span as illustrated in the video, quite flashy innovation, the very addictive notifications of amount of likes that followed a post, that meant acceptance, or recognition of some sort. My attitude actually made me an outcast of some sort towards my social circle, as I was expected to be enveloped like everyone else.

That is another thing when you dont conform, you become an outcast, or someone perceived as incapable, unenlightened or too broke to have nothing to offer, i'm speaking individually now, some of these actually got to me, and took its toll too.

Its like a case of if you conform, then all they said in the video is totally follows suit, but if you dont, then there is another battle of social construct that has to be faced.

It does not get better, these designs keep infiltrating our everyday lives, the damage keeps growing like a virus and it is evident that we are already been programmed, just look at kids whom from 7years are already caught up in this web, it is a norm, a deadly norm individually, socially and culturally. Attention engineering, oh dear!

Sort:  

Well...

You may have gone through those trials of judgement by your peers as a consequence of the non-conformity. But, you know what you emerged as? A leader.

For real: when I came across your account - along with Mide’s and Tomilo’s - it stood out. In a very good way.

It’s a pretty fascinating thing, how such a refusal to engage in the norms can generate such a response in your social group. Funny, even the reference of “unenlightened and have nothing to offer.” Yet, in continuing to live your truth, time comes around to the outcome of having more to offer, from a place of greater enlightenment.

Lol. 😇💖

main-qimg-bc177514398e04f8ece12b7e56bff3c7.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58572.58
ETH 2551.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47