I'm a New @sndbox Fellow: Re-introducing #ArtGuildPH

in #sndbox7 years ago (edited)


My Thumbnail Competition Entry for @sndbox 3 months ago

The first time I heard of @sndbox it was when they launched a competition for their weekly post's thumbnail art. I was in the middle of joining lots of contests there so I hurriedly jumped in and created my entry. I did not win 1st place but I was a runner up which was still amazing. They're still continuously doing this initiative and I feel proud that my entry still pops up from their posts sometimes.

I've read about their group that time as well but I didn't really dug deeper and learn what incubator means. I was solely focused on earnings, and I've never planned on being part of their group. However, I did leave a comment asking how can I be a part of it because I was very interested in their 'sndcastle' projects.

Here's Why:

I wanted to build a place here for Filipino artists and that's something that sounds pretty much like a sndcastle to me. I was already part of different groups by the time @sndbox made their introduction and my project for Filipinos was housed under @steemph. I made its announcement in this post.


Temporary Banner for #artguildph

I have seen amazing people sharing their art in Steemit arrive with their dreams but disappeared heartbroken because their art doesn't gain too much traction. That happened to me when I started. I hoped to gain lots of upvotes, or even just comments, by sharing my best artworks but to no avail. It was demotivating. The purpose of the #artguildph is to help these artists achieve their dreams.

I was constantly helping people in Steemit through different groups and initiatives - especially those artists I've invited into the platform myself (sad to say, not everyone I invited stayed or even created an account but there are a few who kept believing and struggled a lot but achieved what they deserve). This #artguildph movement was actually started more than 3 months ago, it had a soft launch where I discussed with @errymil and @erangvee all my plans about it, and asked all the Filipino artists I know to start using the #artguildph tag as part of the soft launch. I even launched a website and bought a domain for it (but it's not updated yet cause of lack of time and support).

How Will the Guild Work?


Our new banner by @deveerei

Here's how described it, this message is pinned in the artguildph channel in the @steemph Discord server:

What is it?

An Art Guild based in Steemit.com composed of Filipino Steemian Artists. Posts use the #artguildph tag to be recognized. We’re keeping a blog at https://blog.artguildph.rocks/ to consolidate all the posts into one home. #artguildph is hosted by http://steemit.com/@steemph.

How will Art Guild PH work?

@steemph will be hosting this guild’s announcements. There will be weekly announcements set up, containing news about the guild or updates, featured Filipino artists, a weekly contest (may be open to everyone or exclusive to guild members), a member list (or a shortcut to it), a Guild Moderator list (with a few words that can be fixed or dynamic - mini-announcements), and guild resources (this may include tags, headers, banners, footers, badges/stamps, important links, etc)

The guild moderators (or GMs) can make announcements by themselves if they choose to, they are the core of the guild. Weekly posts has to be reviewed by at least 2 GMs.

Featured artists can be 1 per GM per week, or 1 per week. featured artist will get a portion of either the liquid SBD of the weekly post or have portion of the SP delegated to them or both (Featured artist will also have an option to refuse receiving proceeds and have their part added into the pool for #steemit-charity).

The guild will also work hand-in-hand with the Filipino Curation Team.(edited)

This needs an update though. Cause a lot of things have changed when I have thought of this initiative. You can actually read my post here which is an updated 'roadmap' of what we can do with this guild.

Featuring Posts

This will be one of the many things we can do in the guild. I have tried doing one or two posts featuring the best artists I have encountered and I can honestly say, based on their comments, that they were pleased and honored with the feature. It gives them recognition and gives them a feeling of being rewarded. With a bit more support we can reward them something more tangible.

Providing Tutorials

I also have noticed that not all of those artists I encountered know how to properly post here. I do know that formatting posts can be hard, especially for beginners in blogging so I've thought of giving out lessons through posts to uphold the value and quality these content creators can provide to the Steemit platform.

Other Planned Initiatives

  • Contests aimed to showcase Filipino artists' talents.
  • Meetups or live art shows hosted by the guild.
  • Expand the meaning of art (not just visual arts, but written and music as well).

Me as a @sndbox fellow

All my @sndbox posts as a newly nominated fellow by @dreamiely will be about the #ArtGuildPH initiative. It will revolve around art, curation, features, contests, and anything you can think of that will help artists part of this initiative. Thanks for the acceptance of my nomination and application @sndbox.


Putting Art in the Art Guild

Footers are one way to show support and be proud of your affiliations, some people actually sport multiple footers under their blog posts and it's just amazing, it proves how Steemit can build communities out of strangers that share the same mind, frequencies, and passion.

I, myself, am using a lot of footers on my posts and I have decided to make the graphics for #artguildph. I made the logo for it and decided to start making footers for the members. You can see the whole process of it in these posts:

You can enjoy the details of our logo here (or view the post above to see more about it):


Being Part of #ArtGuildPH

I am an artist. I consider myself to be a newbie and I may not be that good at creating my art unlike most people who may have already mastered their own art style. I'm just going to showcase a few of my creations here:


Johnny Depp Portrait WIP


Hand Sketch


Philippine Flag Doodle


Alone Again Drawing

Thanks for reading!


#artguildph is currently just a tag and movement/initiative with a few active participants, we do not have an account yet named after the guild but we will be creating one as soon as able. If this initiative isn't enough to be called a sndcastle yet, we will not give up. We will make sure we can provide these amazing people an amazing place to stay where they can be rewarded for their talent and passion. You can check out my other initiatives and groups:


Maraming Salamat!

Thank you so much!


footer.png

spacer.png

Source.png

Sort:  

Welcome to sndbox Dev! I'm super proud of what you have been doing in the community, and im sure with the fellowship, you'd be able to do even greater things!!!!

Thanks so much po. I actually owe all of this to you. For inviting me to this platform!

This is all on you Dev. Hardwork pays off :)

Welcome to sndbox Dev!! Idol ka talaga! ❤ I admire your commitment, drive, especially the stamina part 😊😊 Go get em son!

Thanks Momi Bear! :D I'm trying to catch up with the rest of the core. Haha.

anlupet eto talaga lodi at master ko sobrang dami mo ng commitments dev ah haha kaya pa rin :D

Haha. Salamat Juls. Master ka din oh, naka62 rep ka na!

Dahil yan sa advise mo at lagi kong pagbisita ko sa page mo kaya natutunan ko ang utopian salamat master!

those were really good drawings!! seems like the artists have found home in here. Ang gagaling!!! huhu

Thanks! I appreciate the comment @enjieneer! :D Yes, dami ng artists dito - mas magagaling sila sa akin.

i even saw one the other day. dinrawing nya si liza soberano sobrang panalo sa galing!! haha

Good job @deveerei, i support you all the way, as much as time would let me!

i liked this post because i love your post

Hey deveerei! :) thanks for some good stuff here!

Great sketches dev!
Welcome to sndbox!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59190.13
ETH 3187.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45