Monsoon Season in Vietnam ⛈🇻🇳

Monsoon Season in Vietnam 1.png

There's rain, and there's RAIN in Vietnam

This will be my 3rd year experiencing Monsoon season here in Vietnam. It's something quite spectacular! When the rain falls, it comes down, hard and fast, usually accompanied by the soundtrack of thunder and lightning! If you are caught outside when it comes, you can be sure to get soaked.

I live in the tropical south of Vietnam, so unlike back home in Scotland where we have 4 seasons, here we have just 2 seasons, dry and wet.

From now until October, it will rain almost every day. Usually, it rains in the afternoon for around 1-2 hours and that's it, then everything goes back to normal.

Monsoon Season in Vietnam 3.png

In Saigon, there are many rivers, so it's not unusual for them to overflow onto the roads and housing, or the drainage system becoming overwhelmed and unable to cope, streets can flood, leading to transportation nightmares.

Last night was a biggy! I'd planned to go out, however by the time I'd got my bike from the basement; it was torrential rain outside. I turned around and re-parked my motorbike.

After parking the bike back up, I thought I'd grab a quick drink at the restaurant at the foot of my building. As you will see from the video below, it wasn't long, and we were flooded!

Monsoon Season in Vietnam 2.png

The rain went from bad to worse, so we called it a night and went back to my apartment. I'm on the 23rd floor so was able to enjoy the storm from my balcony.

Earth-shattering thunder followed each fork of lightning. A real spectacle of mother nature.

Thanks for reading folks.

Keep it real
Derek

If you like my posts,
Please consider upvoting and commenting.
I always reply and upvote comments that upvote the post!

My last few posts
⚽️ Where's the most insane place you've played football?
Is it easy learning Vietnamese? 🗣🇻🇳
Bye bye iPhone, hello Oppo F7 ✅📲
Where ya been? 😆🇻🇳

Sort:  

thumup post ,i am following you .my last post about parents my post

Now that was some serious rain! Holy smokes!

I got hit by some rain on my first trip through Vietnam, but nothing as intense as this.

For sure mate!

Do you think you'll be back to Nam this year?

I hope so. I was thinking of going in August, but I already have two short trips planned this summer. I want to go in Fall, but I might be starting a new job soon. I'll have to see if I can swing it.

Ah nice, where ya going in the summer?

My friend from Germany @beat5e8 won a Steemit music competition and won a trip to San Diego (he's @beatseb but locked himself out of his account). I want to go down and see him in June.

In August I've got a family reunion, also in California.

I hope you can come back Viet Nam

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-20T12:58:27
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 107.20/200.00
Total Photos: 19
Total comments: 4
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.24 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Hanoi is also experiencing heavy rains. Heavy rain and rain like this Hihi😂

Have you ever feel the hot in Ha Noi in Summer?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66363.68
ETH 3207.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27