Is it easy learning Vietnamese? 🗣🇻🇳

in #blog6 years ago (edited)


Is it easy learning Vietnamese.png

If you haven't realised by now or have only just started to follow me, I live and work in Vietnam. For the last two years, it's been home and became a little more permanent recently when I was granted Temporary Residence.

Over the last couple of years, I've got by with some basic Vietnamese phrases.

I know many ex-pats that have lived in Vietnam for over 10 years and can't speak the language. I don't get that. For me, one of the reasons for living in Vietnam is to experience the culture. So learning the language is essential to
to emerge yourself in day to day life here fully.

Being able to communicate is a luxury we take for granted. Many a time, I've just wanted to speak to someone, only for there to be misunderstandings or mistranslations.

What I've found, learning Vietnamese.

IT"S NOT EASY

The language has 6 different tones which can mean very different things.

The six tones are:

  • Mid-tone: produced at the relative middle of your voice range. No tone mark is used. (ma = ghost)
  • High-rising tone: begins high and rises sharply. (má = mother)
  • Low- falling tone: begins low and falls lower. (mà = but)
  • Low-rising tone: begins low, dips lower, then rises sharply. (mả = tomb)
  • High-broken tone: begins above middle, dips, then rises sharply. (mã = horse)
  • Low-broken tone: begins low then falls sharply. (mạ = rice seedling)

Unlike in English, if you mispronounce the word, typically you know what that person is trying to say. With Vietnamese as you can see from the examples above, you need to ensure the tone is right.

This is what I've found difficult about speaking Vietnamese. It is very different from English. I'm generally softly spoken, so adding the tones feels very unnatural for me at the moment. It feels like a real workout after each lesson.

Good news, I'm getting better. Like learning anything, practice, practice, practice.

Now,

  • I'm starting to understand more when people are speaking.
  • I can communicate more effectively when out at restaurants or buying things from the shops.
  • I've also improved as an English teacher. Being able to understand why they make certain mistakes helps me improve them quicker. I can also translate with the limited vocabulary I know.

My Goal


To speak fluently to a group with confidence, be able to make more friends and help people that cannot speak English.

How about you? Are you learning a new Language?

Thanks for reading folks, hope that gives you a little insight into my life here in Vietnam.

Keep it real
Derek

If you like my posts,
Please consider upvoting and commenting.
I always reply and upvote comments that upvote the post!

Sort:  

I'm also learning English. I am Vietnamese. I feel vietnamese harder than english. It has so many different tones as you say. I think you will speak Vietnamese well soon. Try. I look forward to meeting you at the upcoming Hanoi meeting. Nice to meet you☺️

Thanks, I hope so too. I'm improving always :). I don't know anything about the Hanoi meet up. I'll hopefully make it, if not this time, then in the future.

Hanoi meet up at 10/6/2018. Can you come in Ha Noi? ^^

Don't think it's so difficult like that. Thank you :)

It's not difficult if you're Vietnamese ;)

one more difficult . When we are talking with somebody, we just use I and YOU in english, but in Vietnamese, you have to call many different pronoun depeding on the age and relationship : BÁC , CHÚ, CÔ etc

Right! there are so many pronouns. Depending on age, gender or the situation.

🤣🤣 nếu về việt nam. Thử đến miền trung bạn sẽ được nghe một ngôn ngữ khác

Bạn bè của tôi đã nói điều này haha

Vietnamese is very difficult language, I see people say so. Because I have the punctuation. ... Foreigners difficult to pronounce. We have 3 regions, North, Central, South ... I live in North Vietnam, I do not understand what the South and Central Vietnam say ... So when foreigners learn Vietnamese will It is difficult ... If you want to learn Vietnamese, learn the Northern Language, because this is the common language and the common convention of Vietnam.

Yeah, I have also been told that learning the Northern is best. As I live in the South, my teacher teaches the Southern dialogue. For classifiers, I learn both.

welcome back, learning english or even korean is much easier than vnese.

Thanks Dang, it's good to be back :) It's tough for sure! Korean I'd have thought harder, with the written symbols.

Hello @derekcowan ! I really want to speak English fluently!
Try to practice a lot, so your Vietnamese will be better. And you have a lot of free people around you so you can easily speak Vietnamese! If you are trying! Wish you success! 🤗

Learning a language takes time, but is achievable :) You will be fluent in English, no problems!

Hihi you too. You will speak Vietnamese well!
And if I want to speak English well, I think I need someone else's help. Or will I have to take a course, because I learn slowly. I am quite slow to absorb something 😂😅😅

A teacher is very important, especially a native speaker. It will help so much.

Hihi vâng! ☺️

Phong ba bão táp không bằng ngữ pháp Việt Nam.hihi.

hahahaha đúng vl

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Do you know what does “ Kinh vãi chưởng” mean? It means your VNese linh vãi chưởng :D

Is it something like "my Vietnamese is a disaster" haha

Lol no your Vietnamese is actually so good!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61745.50
ETH 2898.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61