In-House Interior Design | Slow Rolling Home Journey

in #adventure6 years ago (edited)

DESIGN-SRH.jpg

FOR MONTHS, WE'VE BEEN COLLECTING INSPIRATION FOR THE INTERIOR AND EXTERIOR DESIGN OF THE BUS

Screen Shot 2018-02-01 at 11.09.03 AM.png
click the photo to visit the pinterest board

This Pinterest board is the culmination of that. It's a lot more than just interior design, though. We've included some appliance ideas, possible sustainability and resource-saving features, some space-saving designs, and the overall vibe we want for our house on wheels.

Full Tile Bath.jpg

ROOTED IN MINIMALISM

While we are fully aware that we will lack space like we're used to, the trap we don't want to fall into is that of creating so much storage that we cram our bus to the gills. In paring down our possession this year before the move, we saw that we could live with less, and that face continues to become apparent.

There's also a sense of peace in minimalism, both in practice and in appearance. The eye can rest when a space is uncluttered, and the imagination can run wild when undistracted by clusters of things, which always hold their own meaning. Here are some of our considerations when designing a minimalistic tiny space:

  • Adventure gear: Rock climbing, hiking, biking, and all the accoutrement that makes the outdoors accessible.
  • Weather gear: Rain, snow, scorching heat, hail, failure of our internal temperature control; when you're roaming endlessly, you have to be ready for anything!
  • Kitchen tools: A chef, a baker, both avid makers. We can't live without the ability to create delicious, healthy meals and DIY products, so an array of tools is a must.
  • Pet supplies: Food, toys, bedding, and care materials are essential when animals are involved. We want them to be just as, if not more comfortable than they were at home!
  • Minor construction + mechanical tools: Breakdowns happen, and we want to be prepared for them.
  • Our necessary live-aboard items: Clothes, self-care products, food, dishes, books, technology, linens, art supplies (okay, mine!), are what come to mind!

Level Change Paint to Floor Color.jpg

BRIGHT, AIRY, NATURAL TONES AND TEXTILES

Primarily, a style preference, but white walls and light woods instill a sense of ease that I want to have everywhere we go. Such a small space with short ceilings can quickly seem cramped, dank, even uncomfortable. Playing to the excess of windows and the inexpensiveness of white paint makes this color scheme somewhat of a no-brainer.

Wardrobe Organization - Use Wood.jpg

FUNCTIONAL STORAGE THAT HAPPENS TO BE SEXY

No cutting corners in the design of our interior space. Storage is so important, and just as important is the feel of the space. There's a delicate balance between hiding all of your storage behind flat panels or cabinets, which may make it seem barren and sterile, and having all open shelving where all you can see is clutter (and everything falls off the shelves while you drive).

My intent is to create a space that doesn't feel like a typical tiny home. Taking inspiration from the most gorgeous tiny homes and Airstreams I can find, pairing it with the idea behind the furniture from IKEA, the feel of old farmhouses, the comfort of a woodland cabin, and the flow of Japanese tea house.

Our layout is almost ready to publish! Stay tuned for the final design and more design resources I'm curating for our slow rolling home.

Here's the Slow Rolling Home in the snow this past week!

ORG_DSC02899.JPEG






Ink+VoltAsset 1-210.png



Hi, I'm Amelia! It's nice to meet you.

I'm a writer, minimalist, tiny home dweller, and maker living in East Tennessee, USA. My blog has lived at www.amelia-bartlett.com until I discovered Steemit, where I now post most of my work. To learn more about me, check out my introduction post, get up-to-date on my school bus tiny house conversion, and follow me for articles on slow living, sustainable fashion, self-expression, and quality curated resteems!

Proud member of

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

ameliabartlett_red.png
banner by @bearone

teamgirlpowa.jpg

DQmf7Q3iNuSZaRMS3fM865RiF75fQH8xYqbHfVRpNq5sDDg_1680x8400.png
banner by @bearone

ladies-of-steemit-curator.jpg

Sort:  

Fantastic project @ameliabartlett, I love the minimal living stuff. I have much to throw off to get there, including the family :). Only kidding!! One of my many ambitions is to travel around in my home, stopping wherever and whenever I like. Looking forward to following your bus. Check your mirror! ;) Thank you.

Thank you @anmeitheal - there are many families traveling in school buses, many with multiple children! It's very possible, you can do it.

Thanks for the encouragement @ameliabartlett, but my kids are at an age where we would kill each other! The killing would start when I'd try to get them on to the bus ;).

ok already I vote. do not forget to vote back

just heard you on PYPT..... so excited to follow this!!! :) upvoted and followed!! :)

Thanks for dropping by! PYPT was so much fun/so nerve-wracking. Happy to have met everyone!

It was SOOOOO nerve wracking!!! I ended up having so many issues and "chickened out" then finally worked up the nerve after it was just chat...(and the recording was over) ... Broke the chat... (Was talking to myself having a grand old time until I realized no one was there lolololol) hilarious.
But I did come back with bravery for the evening show! Lolol
I'll be back again next week for sure! What a fun way to get exposed to new things!!!! Like previews before the movie!!!!

Glad I came across your profile. Looking forward to following this journey.

wow , i like the rack very much and the bus with snow... ;-)

@adityajainxds #thealliance

excited to see what you create! we live in a tiny space and functional storage & minimalism are 2 Musts! looks like youre right on track. I'll look forward to being inspired :)

@mountainjewel yes, I have loved checking out your profile! We have some similarities in lifestyle. 😁

great idea, this will be fun to see come to life!

Wow! The claw-foot bath tub is incredible! Some fabulous ideas here. I'm really curious about the layout. Thanks for sharing this project with us! :)

We decided to go with a trough tub BUT we're going to go for a similar aesthetic (clean/crisp) by painting it! Paint Tub White or Contrasting Colors + Bathroom Tile.jpg

Hey there! So I grew up on a school bus...I actually just started doing some free writes about it as part of an ongoing project about rural america...if you’re ever interested. :)

Oh my goodness! YES. I would love to learn more about your journey. Where can I find this??

Here is a link to the free write I just put up. More coming soon...I’m a little nervous about this, I’m not usually quite so personal, haha. :) But it also feels like something I need to work with. Thanks for reading! I want to know more about your upcoming bus-ventures.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 57951.98
ETH 3051.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26