Mucha inspired Singularity Spring Painting and Making a new Veg garden

in #slothicorn6 years ago (edited)

Spring has sprung in the Singularity future where machine and green combine

april18robotspringthumbnail.jpg

I was inspired with my gardening post this morning to make this Mucha inspired Singularity Spring painting.

april18robotspring.jpg

Spring is one of my favourite seasons because it contains Hope and Relief.

For me, the Hope of coming change is powerful. New chicks are growing, seeds planted on windowsills in cold February are bursting forward,some even fruiting already. The air has a new light and traces of warmth; you can get your hands in the soil, dig a fence post, plan a garden. You can sip your coffee and sketch on the cool rocks of the shore, imagining yourself out there in the sea in a few months, gliding through the warm waters watching fish and sea life.

Relief comes in the form of shaking off those Winter doldrums. A relief of no more snow or shorter days. And what relief I feel after this winter! We lost power so many times. Yet, most clouds have silver linings, and my current obsession and series of Singularity paintings were born of the contemplation in cold dark Winter days.

And even though is was just meant to be a short post to share my plans for my new veg garden and show my seedlings progress, of course I had to include some art.

I draw or sketch every day so it makes sense to make this mornings piece be about this post

I thought it'd be fun to do a version of Spring, much like many artists have done. One of my favourite's is Mucha's Spring in his series Four Season. I thought it's be fun to do a take on that but with one of my Singularity creatures. As I am often daydreaming in that world, it makes sense.

I'm not sure she'll ever be more than this sketch and watercolour (that is to say if I will make her a more detailed oil) but she lives and breaths quite happily in this form.

Now, this post was meant to be about plants and gardens. And as we have had such a wretched Winter this year, I started my Seedlings at the end of January, which is a bit early, and then added more Summer bulbs and such around Early March.

Here they are: You can see I have filled every possible space on the windowsills that face the warm sun.

april18garden10.jpg

I was worried that my cukes were beginning to blossom already, as it is still far too cold to go outside for them, so I used a paintbrush and pollinated them myself. I wasn't sure if it would work, but you can see the little guys forming.

This year I have also planted some Summer bulbs for perennial flowers and ferns and I am trying something new. I covered the soil around the bulbs with wildflower mixes for shade or sun, depending on the bulbs requirements. I also planted a few pots of these wildflower mixes. They are really crammed in there, but when I transplant them I will break them into sections, like plugs. Some might not make it, but these mixes are meant to be scattered and crowded anway.
april18garden8.jpg

april18garden6.jpg

I also planted annuals as well and here we see my green and purple zinnias getting taller and peering out at the new fence where they will live with the veg.

april18garden9.jpg

I am also making a new smaller veg plot on the sea side of Toad Hall. It is going to be an experiment for sure as this side gets endless wind and salt spray, which is why my main veg garden has always been on the other side of the house with large tall fencing around to keep the wind at bay. However, with my picket fence and the subsequent chicken wire needed to keep the rabbits out, I'm hoping it will cause a bit of a wind break.

This side of the house gets endless sun all Summer long, so I am hoping that as it is against the house wall, it will be a heat trap. It is very rough now and you can see here @winstonalden helping clear the brambles and such as I make a spot for this garden and a future porch as well.

april18garden1.jpg

april18garden3.jpg

Here you can see from this side of the new little fenced area ( it is only 8 foot deep by 20 wide) there is a lovely view of the sea.
april18garden5.jpg

And here I am clad in my wellies dreaming of coming warm weather and plants.

You can see one of the raised beds in place but without soil. That is my trusty post hole digger, exhausted from it's day of labour. I have made so many post holes I can't even count them any more.
april18garden4.jpg

Well, I shall close here. I have done my morning artwork and now my morning steem, so I have a busy day left of mulching and moving wheelbarrows of soil. A gardener/artists day is never dull nor too lazy.

I shall be looking forward to afternoons sat in my little veg patch surrounded by my growing plants sipping G & T's and sketching to my hearts content.

One's labour has to have a happy destination after all.

If you like my work please upvote and feel free to resteem and by all means leave comments.


Check out my other posts:


asteemitfooter.jpg

My bitcoin wallet as per the @slothicorn request to provide it with your artwork.

ADDENDUM. I think I should be using the creative commons license so it could be shared, but still uncertain if this is the right image or the right wording. If anyone from @creativecommons wants to let me know?

Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0)
creativecommonslogo.jpg

Sort:  

You've received an upvote from @slothicorn! Click Here to Learn More
(@ghulammujtaba)

O girl, love your Mucha style :) But the view you have is priceless, looking at the sea..From this distance looks like SF to me :) But I have goal in life and that is, one day I will come back to live near sea, any sea ..I was born there so my life has to end there also.
Love this spring moment of yours @donnadavisart.

No, not San Francisco I wish, it'd be warmer. I am on the other coast, the Atlantic coast. Although it usually suits me just fine, but this past Winter has been a horror, so it's not as lovely to be here then.

What a lovely location for your new little garden! I do hope spring comes along in time for you to move the garden from sill to dirt lol! I am taking this year off, and I thought I might suffer a little sprout envy when I made the decision but not so much... I can very much enjoy your baby plants and still enjoy not having to worry about it this year!

I got tired just reading ALL THE ENERGY you put into your art, steemit, gardening. I shall do more.

Meh, it's not a lot of work if it's what you love. When I wake in the morning I am thinking about" what can I draw and play with in art" or, "what can I do for the garden/plant/animal project." If you have a passion/love you just fixate on it. At least I do, it might just be my personality. I've always had an odd focus where I obsess on a thing but tunnel vision sometimes leaves other things out of the view!

You probably have more fun, I never go out drinking and doing silly stuff, just dont' think about it, but you are like an air spirit, you need to be out and social and filling the world with your bright flame. :)

I agree,spring is a time of hope for change!:) it has so much life!:) it is very interesting to see how nature is transformed, the ground is covered with grass, trees with leaves, insects and animals Wake up:))

LOVE the colors in your drawing! It's like the entire color spectrum of the season! Excellent photos too - I can almost smell the damp, salty air.

Spring has been a fickle mistress here in New Hampshire, but I'm finally seeing signs that it might actually be here to stay.

Good luck with your gardening and drawing!

Thank you. I tried to make it feel very Spring with the blossoms and fresh green of the dress.

You're welcome, and I'd say mission definitely accomplished!

i love mucha also <3 his style is so elegant and classy <3 <3 <3 and your spring inspired piccar is so nice * ___ *

also your garden pictures are amaaaaaaaazing <3 very amazing that some people have such connection with the natural world * ___ * me, i have the opposite of a green thumb... ; __ ;

those yellow flowers is sooooooooooooo pretty * ___ *

upvotes

Those yellow flowers will be delicious cukes that I will eat and love. A warm cucumber on a hot summer day with some fresh cut dill and spring onions with a bit of yoghurt will be heaven. You can also eat the flowers, as you can eat the flowers of courgette/zuchinni. I love growing and eating plants!

I dream of that sweet weather🙄

Finally made the sketch. You asked forIMG_0296.png

You did it! I should command others to do art then I can have a 'gallery' post and exhibit all the work, now draw my minions DRAW! ;)

You can hide. It on the. Back of your canvas. Sorry, pencil does weird double. Taps sometimes. Makes. Writing disjointed.

That does look like it would be a difficult place to grow a garden. But if anyone can do it, I have faith in you. Seems the ocean and all it's buddies, as you say, would give it a constant buffeteure. Hardy plants needed for sure. And I can relate to the post hole digger, I put in a long fence this late fall/early winter, and need to put in more. Such exercise, such joy.
(I saw a great utube video of a guy sucking his post holes clean with a shop vac. I think I'm going to try that. I think he actually did the WHOLE hole that way. Might be hard on the vac though. Hmmm).

It's hard to describe the satisfaction of a good exhaustion and a feeling of pride after a day of digging post holes and putting up fence. It is the structure and bones of our gardens and it just feels good. It is not unlike the feeling I have after finishing an involved painting, though I am not as dirty with that now, as it is digital. (Though once I had the mess of paint and the smell of turpenoid/mineral spirits at the end of a big painting)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28