Another Singularity Sketch for Future Painting

in #slothicorn6 years ago

A lick of a sweet puppy awakens the human spirit in our hybrid beings.

april15robosketchthumbnail.jpg

Perhaps humanity will out, who can say.
april15robosketch.jpg

Even though I am currently still working out my Singularity Pandora painting I shared with you the other day I usually work on a few things at a time. Often an idea comes to me whilst working on another piece or sometimes just talking or writing about a piece spurs another one.

Discussing my idea of the world my Singularity creatures inhabit lead to my idea that it might be Man's best friend that awakes the spark of remaining humanity in these future beings.

I posited that these creatures dwelling in some unkonwn future who are looking to a human past they can't quite understand or remember may have been sparked to begin this journey with the lick of one of human's last remaining links: The ever faithful dog.

I first imagined a sort of play on Michelangelo's "the creation of Adam" with a sort of outstretched hand of these creatures with a dog taking the role of god. I also liked that God and Dog are an Emordnilap (palindrome in reverse). Yet, the more I thought upon it, I wanted their awakening to be more of a flutter of nature, like the wind from a butterflies wing, rather than a great God action or explosion of creation.

This Singularity world of my making is a gentle sort of place where the trail of a brocade gown upon fields of flowers is more apparent than say atomic explosions or war time aftermath.

In a way I picture a sort of post-post apocalypse. Things have been left to grow and form and the remaining hybrid human/machine creatures just continue onward, being their own power source, derving their life force from solar, wind, and who knows. And perhaps their elaborate costumes are simply the level of decadence to which humanity reached before the machine and AI took over.

I love that art allows one to create and dream up new worlds and to manifest them on page and screen.

I hope you are enjoying my indulgent play as my imagination takes me into this fantastical supposed future.

I am thinking to perhaps put this new lady, (working title of painting to be "Singularity Awakening")possibly against a building or partially indoors. I'm not quite sure yet. The next phase for this will be a watercolour study of course.

If you like my work please upvote and feel free to resteem and by all means leave comments.


Check out my other posts:


asteemitfooter.jpg

My bitcoin wallet as per the @slothicorn request to provide it with your artwork.

Copyright @donnadavisart - All Rights Reserved

Sort:  

When I was actively posting a lot of my subjects were near-term dystopic scenarios. I'd prefer to live in one of yours, with buildings softened by growing vines, roads of grasses and rusting street signs.

The future may be coming, but the past never completely loses its grip, like the indentations of a roman chariot on flagstones that gets paved over, betraying a slight dip originating centuries ago.

Its this delicious layering and selective destruction that the future is buit upon, as fine and complicated as the burl in a cross-section of tropical hardwood.

Yes, it's a 'softer side' of the machine apocalypse, if you will :)

This singularity story is getting bigger and bigger, and it grows so good @donnadavisart. Maybe one day there will be enough material for some good book or edition with lines your wrote.
And like your future vision, it's more positive than those dark apocalyptic scenarios that we are given always.

I guess I figure that story has already been told, so a more positive version is interesting to me, though it still as a slight darkness in it's history, kind of like real life : good in the bad.

I'm having fun and inspired to do more, so that is really why I do art, to play and express ideas and of course have fun.

So creative! Will I ever stop to repeat that?
If you ever want to make this a real oil painting, would come out amazingly.
...And if you ever do an exhibition, I would attend.

Nice drawings Donna! Greetings from Serbia! 💞

welcome, I love your art!

Very interesting perspective. This lady's face makes me think of Mary Poppins--the future Mary Poppins, that is.

Wait until I paint her in, she will be less like mary poppins, unless mary poppins is made of metal and plastics :)

For me, that pink dog on the chairs is great.

Oh, thanks. That's from a series I did "animals in chairs" I did so many animals on so many chairs :) I have a chair fetish :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59989.12
ETH 2380.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49