Winning! Thanks and behind the scenes of my 60 Seconds of Steem Video

in #sixtyseconds5 years ago (edited)

So I was one of five winners in the 60 seconds of Steem contest thrown by @surfermarly with my video titled "What is Steem?"

3otnl6ut9a.png

Congrats to everyone else who participated! My personal favorite was this video by @ashtv.

124grgtyrj.png

So I wanted to talk a bit about my video and show a bit of the "behind the scenes". If you follow my blog you've already seen a lot of the build up to the final video, but there will still be some stuff here I haven't shared previously.

So I'd actually been thinking about doing a Steem promotional video for a while. Some of the artwork I've posted in the past has been experiments and tests to try out different looks for this. For example

qmv5iej503.png

tblg43piht.png

5y5i633s00.png

7zipllh9vf.gif


8lok7lzouh.gif

Maybe you can see the common theme of blocks. That's something I've always thought should be key to the illustration of Steem and blockchain. So when I started this project that hadn't changed. One thing though was that this project had a rather quick turn around at two weeks. All of the above examples require quite a bit of time to render these images in the software that I use and two weeks wasn't going to be long enough for me to come up with the concept, script, designs, animations, and rendering.

So I needed to adjust the look to something that could be computed much faster. With that in mind I started to research some "Toon Shading" in my preferred renderer(Octane). I did a few tests and came up with something I liked.

Here's a few of the early tests

m7zg2xttev.jpg

iefjlaeule.gif

hqm5xvf9qp.gif

After I'd figured out the overall look I went forward with designing styleframes. Styleframes are images that define the look of a shot or an entire animation sequence. Here's some of the styleframes I then completed over the next week.

e3f622nlvk.png

omspcl51fm.png

pkkc41akhk.png

ptvpzvokwa.png

bxxd3fzjxn.png

etkik26mp7.jpg

Not all of these frames made it into the final animation, but most did, and more importantly, they defined a cohesive look that I could then use as my guide for the look of everything.

After that it was work on the animation which is actually probably the easiest part on something like this. The main work is figuring out the designs, after that the animation wasn't that laborious. This was also intentional because of the time constraint.

Here's some of the behind the scenes on that work

7xy55lzy6w.gif

purtw1f95l.png

zwnbvahpu6.png

ftdr9alq14.png

770i9g09gc.png

While I do believe that social applications are a good fit for Steem, I definitely think that's only the tip of the iceberg. In my message for marketing Steem, I wanted the viewer to not come away with a definition but with curiosity. "How could Steem be all these things? Let me google it or check out the website linked at the end"

In it's current state I believe if someone came to Steem believing this is a platform that rewards content creators, they'd be disappointed. Maybe one day, but not right now. Right now, to me Steem represents potential. it's like a table of ingredients that we're still learning what all we can cook with them. Social applications are the first good thing we made, but SO much more is coming in the future, Just look at Drugwars. It's a game from 10 years ago, but sprinkle a dash of Steem in with it and all the sudden it's blowing up like crazy. This is only the beginning for us.

So thanks again to @surfermarly and all the sponsors of the contest as well as everyone who participated as voters. Feb 20th we're going to have a media blast where the community shares these videos on other social media. You can find out more details here.

That's about it, thanks for looking peeps!

Sort:  

You have gained a follower as well as my reward votes as one of the winners! Congrats!

Thanks so much @done! I really appreciate the support in the competition and now :)

I love this post, seeing the building blocks of your video.
I had no idea quite the level of work in rendering that this project required!

Well done man, it’s a very slick pierce of work, and deserving of the win IMO.

I know what you mean re. playing with some ideas for a promo before this contest came about... same really.
I was always planning to do something and had a bag of ideas but this made it come to life.

I agree with what you say about the state of STEEM too. If we keep things up then in a couple of years this place will be ablaze (in a good way)

Well done @midlet, wise words and wise work :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks @ashtv! Loved your video and the behind the scenes footage, looked like a really fun project :)

Congrats! Well deserved :) And this is really cool seeing the work that goes in behind the scenes for even short animations like this. You rock!

Thanks @carlgnash! Really appreciate it :)

Grats @midlet ! Well deserved <3 Love your commitment and talent <3 Amazing feat <3 <3 <3 Seeing the elements, thoughts, and work that goes into the video is great <3 <3 <3

Thanks so much @veryspider! You're the bestest :)

Wow, it's really impressive to see how much time and efforts are required to produce such a video - very well done!

Thank you very much for the insight - and again: big congrats on entering the top 5 :-)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @midlet!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.443 which ranks you at #2148 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 206 contributions, your post is ranked at #11.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Well done, midlet! Your animation and presentation skills are top notch so I knew that you would win when you entered the competition :D.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58802.33
ETH 3158.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42