Is the love gone?

in #singlemom7 years ago

I was 6 months pregnant with our second child, I asked him to stay with me that night. He said he would, but didn't. He said he would go to the barber shop then come home. He didn't. He said he would go to the bar and then come home....I fell asleep knowing that I didn't love him anymore. I awoke, feeling broken, to the daylight beaming through our curtains. I should have felt as light as the sun rays. But I didn't.

That night marked the 11th anniversary of my dad's tragic death. It fell on the same Friday night 11 years ago. I needed my husband the most that night. I was pregnant, emotional and I simply didn't want to be alone. I explained it to him...but he stayed out all night. Not a care in the world. It was that night that I fell out of love with him. It was that night, between sleep and wake that I AWOKE. All that I felt for him, all that was there was gone.

We both come from a Guyanese household, where it is acceptable that the husband go out drinking after a long day at work. I remember dad used to have his workers at the house on a Friday night; they would order Chinese food and have a couple of beers in the backyard. My dad was present in my life, and well, I fully expected my husband to be present. My husband, however, had to be out of the house all the time. He'd always tell me "I was a road ni99a when you met me, I'm still a road ni99a and will always be a road ni99a". When he was home, he'd sleep all day long, rise in the evening, lollygag a bit, then get himself ready and out the door he was. I didn't see him again till the next day, on the couch, asleep. I began to resent him. He had been doing this to me for years. During his beauty sleep, as I like to call it, I was doing groceries, cleaning the house, doing laundry, cooking food for the week, taking the kids (step-son included) to the park, movies, whatever. We lived our lives completely separate from him. He was there, but not at the same time. I resented that he could have such a life. It wasn't fair.

I stayed a little longer after that. I gave birth to our second son and found in him the strength I needed. I began to realize that I was a single mom for many years. I began to realize that I can do it all alone. Why did I need this man? (Aside from the occasional fck session. And that's all it was, just a fck to get my rocks off.) I was fully supporting myself and my kids. So why the hell am I staying??? I bought a vibrator, moving boxes, and called my biggest supporters - mom and bro.

It was in that one night, Friday, March 15th, 2013, that the love was gone...

Sort:  

Congratulations @nadiahenry! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Good thoughts

Congratulations @nadiahenry! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @nadiahenry! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @nadiahenry! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65248.25
ETH 3471.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51