Sikhism - MOOL MANTRA "Meaning of NIR-BHHOW NIR-VAIR"

in #sikhism7 years ago (edited)

Meaning of NIR-BHHOW and NIR-VAIR in Sikh Mool-Mantra

Starting from EKK-OUNG-KAAR which is the Symbol of “The Creativity”, I tried to explain the relative attributes of it. I explained the meaning of EKK-OUNG-KAAR     SATT    NAAM    KARTA     PURAKH, as I understood being a Sikh.

Today I will try my best to open up the meaning of “NIR-BHHOW” and “NIR-VAIR” as much as my minuscule knowledge has caught it.

NIR-BHHOW is a compound word in Punjabi. NIR- is just a prefix and it means opposite of the word next to it.  “BHHOW” means “FEAR”. So "NIR-BHHOW" simply means “Fearless” or “without any fear”.

But Why?

As I see it, the biggest fear is the fear of death. It can be physical death, death of the wealth (once someone loses everything, according to me it is death of ones wealth), death of high status, death of good health etc.


But “The Creativity” I am talking about, is eternal, ever existent and never dies. So EKK-OUNG-KAAR is NIR-BHHOW (Fearless). 

The next fear is harm by fellow humans, by natural disaster or by an animal. Somebody or something more powerful than us can harm us. But there is nothing more powerful than “The Creator”, actually all powers come from “One Superpower”. Hence noting can harm EKK-OUNG-KAAR and so it is NIR-BHHOW (Fearless).

The other fear can be from unknown future but “The Creator” created the time, so no fear of any kind of time.

Next Comes NIR-VAIR: NIR- is a prefix again which makes the meaning of following word opposite. "VAIR" means enmity or hatred. So "NIR-VAIR" means "without enmity or hatred".

As nobody hates oneself, similarly the whole creation is part of “The Creator” itself, so how The Creator can hate itself.

Finally I can say that “The Creator” is without any fear and without the enmity or hatred.

The lesson I learn here is that my presence should not terrorize any of my fellow humans or creatures. Also I should not be terrorized from any of my fellow humans and other creatures. 

As my creator is NIR-VAIR (without hatred) so do I have to be NIR-VAIR.

Following are the links to previous posts on MOOL-MANTRA;

 Meaning of EKK  

Meaning of OUNG  

Meaning of KAAR  

Mool Mantra  

Meaning of SATT NAAM 

Meaning of KARTA PURAKH

Sort:  

Nice breakdown my friend.

Trying my best (very limited explaining capacity in English and what I am explaining can't be explained fully)! Just trying my best!!

Thats all we can do. And the effort to pass on the knowledge is the absolute best thing anyone can offer. Keep it up. I know you will.

Thanks a lot my dear @nicnas. I can feel the energy you are sending over :))

Thanks a lot for your nice comment. You are great my dear friend @pompe72. You do your things differently.

I found origins of any tradition very interesting, since they are derived from a deep experience on survival. Keep going, my dear @mathworksheets.

Thank you very much for your input my dear friend @lighteye. I think that's why the basics are very similar for all.

Wow, that is great information. Sorry that I have missed your posts, I will read them now.

Thanks a lot @schamangerbert for taking the time to read my posts. I appreciate your support and encouragement :))

Thank you so much for sharing this post. I am a Singh from South Africa, and it is so brilliant and generous of you to share this information about our culture.

Thanks a lot my dear brother @sashin. Yes, there is a lot to do on our part to tell our fellow citizen that what sikshism is about? How we respect all the beliefs and believe in universal salvation, wellness and freedom! I am so happy to hear from you brother.

As we are all EKK-OUNG-KAAR...I am NIR-VAIR

~namaste~

You got it my dear brother @cryptologyx. Thank you very very much for your time. Please stay in touch brother.
~namaste my dear~

Interesting @mathworksheets, I want to thank you.
You, my dear new/old friend, have inspired me to once again
ponder the the possible existence of such a state of being...
...as both beginning and end simultaneously.

namaste

You are welcome dear brother @cryptologyx. Your interactions make me think deeper, I don't know why!

~Namaste dear bro~

May the god bless us all so that we will always be NIR-BHHOW and NIR-VAIR .. Fearless and without hatred.

Thanks a lot @utfull. You are awesome dear. I am so grateful to you for taking the time to read my post and giving your great feedback.

Mindblowing! I am sure I will never remember those words and their meanings, but I will at least recognize them whenever I see them again and I'll know exactly where I remember them from.
Thank you for sharing!

Yes, it is hard to remember meanings in current memory but they always stay in back and become current at certain occasions. Thanks @bdmomuae, for your very valuable time feedback :))

Keep up the good work brother. Lot to learn from you.

I will. Thanks for stopping by dear brother :))

I like the words and meanings to it @mathworksheets

Thank you @cryptopie. I am so grateful to you for taking your valuable time to read my post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 64646.46
ETH 3357.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.44