Sikhism - Meaning of MOOL-MANTRA

in #sikhism7 years ago

What is the Mool Mantra in Sikhism and What does it Mean?

Mool-Mantra is made up of two words Mool and Mantra. 

Mool simply means Original, Fundamental, Root or Seed.

Mantra again has two words in it; Mann- means mind, and Tra- means Tool. So, Mantra means Mindtool or a device to control the mind.

It is controlling the own mind and not some other person's mind.

Hence Mool-Mantra means the original or fundamental mind tool.

Now what is the Mool-Mantra in Sikhims?

Sikh Mool-Mantra is written in the beginning of the Sikh Holy Book "Guru Granth Sahib". 

It is written in Punjabi and I have translated it in English using the small knowledge blessed to me. 

Below are the links to three posts I did on EKK-OUNG-KAAR

Meaning of EKK

Meaning of OUNG

Meaning of KAAR


As of my understanding, EKK-OUNG-KAAR is the root symbol for Creativity (without form and with form) and the rest of Mool-Mantra is Characteristics of EKK-OUNG-KAAR.

Please be advised that this effort is only to inform my fellow Sikhs and people from other religions about the Sikhism. Sikhism is about freedom and respecting all other religions and not forcing its beliefs on other.

Sort:  

These posts on sikhism are great.
I particularly like the meaning of the Mool-Mantra, original mind tool.
Thanks for enlightening me on some teachings from your great religion my friend :)

Thanks a lot @cryptodan for your appreciation and all the support you are giving me :))

You are most welcome my friend, it's easy when you have this great content :)

Wahiguru Ki Khalsa - this is what i only know. I'm in Sikh Temple every week and I'm Gora

Thanks a lot @mynewlife, for sharing your experiences about Sikhism. Also thanks for visiting Sikh Temple every week :))

I dont know much about Sihkism, though i am learning. But i keep seeing so many similarities to buddhism.

It is controlling the own mind and not some other person's mind.

We can only control our selves and thus must make every attempt to do so. By working on ourselves everything around us will change. This is due mostly to perspective.

You are a beast @mathworksheets. Keep it up

Thanks a lot my dear brother @nicnas. I really feel the energies you send me over, I am so grateful to you!!

Did a great job in defining Mool-Mantra.Keep it up my dear friend.

Thanks for the appreciation Sidh.

very valuable information for us. thanks for sharing.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by math worksheets from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64768.36
ETH 3436.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51