SAM - Could the last one out the door please kill the lights?

in #sam-saturday6 years ago (edited)

This is my first post for @bluemoon's #sam-saturday: Something About Me Saturday.

OK folks, you know I have a big mouth, right? Truth is, while I may go on and on about some things, I don't actually talk about myself in any serious way - I don't reveal many secrets.

Today I will tell you Something About Me which you do not know, and I'm not going to explain one word of it. Ready?

Although no crime was ever committed or charged, I was born in prison, and when I was ten months old, I was still doing time!

Chew on that one if you like!



Now, let's talk about Steem, ok?

I don't know why I'm still here - if you're still here (and reading this) why do you remain? With the price of Steem dropping lower every day, is there any hope for the future? Honest thoughts please, I don't need to hear automatic Rah-Rah, "steem will rule the world" talk. No B.S - what do you really think?

Considering the amount of time it takes to participate here, is it now a wasted effort? I'll tell you the truth, I've hit the Power Down button a few times, but I always change my mind and cancel. If the value of Steem is going down to zero, shouldn't we try to redeem at least some value?

My account is now worth a little over a hundred bucks... I could use a hundred bucks! Should I stay or should I go?


Random photos follow:

Are you still looking up?

1tamkodn19.jpg

Or are you looking down?

jtdajs1y52.jpg

I've been active on this platform since late January. Maybe I should just get a paper route instead! Is anyone out there still bullish on Steem? Anyone actually buying steem while it's so cheap? Hello???

Sort:  

Me? I'm looking UP Bro! But what question shall I address first?

First of all, I am not going to let you get away with telling us those tantalizing details about your entrance into this world without elaborating.........just a little? I always knew there was something very unique about you and my instincts were spot on!

And now you've really stimulated my thought processes, so I thank you for that. They, (my thoughts) are continuously telling me to go at the pace of my aging body but I refuse to give my brain any peace. It was dormant for too long when sinking into the deep abyss of drug addiction........but like you, I have been released from 'prison.' But unlike you, I committed the crime of relying on sleeping pills for my existence........such as it was. But that is relegated to history now.

I can't wait for next Saturday when we get to read another snippet of your past. Love the take away approach my friend. It works every time (lol)

Now let's talk about steemit and why some of us are still here. You did ask, so I'm taking the liberty of giving you my opinion.

One of your questions is this: "Shouldn't we try to redeem at least some value?" That my dear friend is a very relevant question. And it all depends and what you value in steemit. You see, I've stopped putting value on the status of the dollar. I've tranferred it now to where the real value is at the moment, and that is in Steem Power.........emphasis on the word, 'Power.'

I value every single dollar that comes my way, and I can make $100 go a very long way, but I am too old to work therefore I am unable to boost whatever finances I do have. And the older we get, the more concerning it is for us baby boomers to work out how we are going to manage with inflation going up and our health going in the opposite direction.

Our independance is extremely important to us and to our loved ones because their lives are more enjoyable if they are not having to worry about looking after us in our old age. Our sons have always reassured us not to worry about the eventuality of when we can no longer look after ourselves as they will look after us but we do not want to burden them.

I believe that a healthy mind and a positive outlook does wonders for us physically as I have proven this to be true and by stimulating ourselves creatively, I also believe that we slow the aging process down considerably. When the steem value was much higher than what it is currently, it just wasn't possible for John and I to invest in it.

Thankfully, the current scenario is playing right into our hands and we made the decision to make a sacrifice by fore-going our next planned holiday to invest in a little steem while the steem value is low. I would never advise anyone to do what we have done because we really have no idea what the outcome will be. But I strongly 'suspect' that cryptocurrency is the way of the future and when I say, future, I have no time line in mind because if I miscalculated, I would be very disapponted if I was premature in my estimations.

Sure, I'll be very disappointed if steem doesn't turn around in time for me to personally make good use of it but I'd kick myself more if I gave up now and missed out on what could well be, a very worthwhile opportunity. John and I have experienced many heartbreaking losses over the years and acknowledge the extreme difficiulty in finding the positives when everything around us is negative, but we continue to choose to be positive.

I enjoy photography. I enjoy writing. I enjoy developing friendships here in steemit. I also enjoy doing many other activities away from steemit, but if I didn't value Steem like I do, and continue to hope that one day things will improve, I would probably dust off my rusty old knitting needles. But who needs woollen mittens or booties in tropical Queensland?

I rest my case. (U & R )

I understand your perspective and I truly appreciate you taking the time to make a detailed answer. I do want to ask you though - power for what??? I understand how SP let's you give nice upvotes, but if the upvotes are worth nothing, what's the point?

If you just want inflated numbers in your account without caring if there is a monetary value attached, you could just as easily post on Weku or Whaleshares. I was very opposed to Weku when it came out because I saw people leaving Steemit for the new "greener pastures". Many did leave and have not come back. I can't go to Weku because I'm banned for the crime of creating an account but not posting.

On the other hand, I recently joined Whaleshares which is yet another Steemit clone (with some changes) but it's very lonely over there. Since Whaleshares is a clone of the same software, things work along similar lines... for example, you need "500" to get the vote slider. Never mind 500 what - it's all worthless anyway, right?

Ok, now follow me for a second. I'm not trying to convince you or anyone else to go to Whaleshares - BUT, after making 5 posts I will have the vote slider immediately - like within a day or two of the initial payout. So I will have more "Whalestake" in my wallet in a week than I have SP after a year.

Yes, it's worth nothing, but we're not concerned with monetary value, correct? That's what you said if I'm not misunderstanding you. So if all I want are big numbers in a wallet and the ability to cast votes with bigger numbers attached, I might as well just be there. I'll have more "empty" power immediately, and cast "bigger" zero value votes, and then I'll feel like a tycoon with all that "Power".

What's the point?

About the prison... Ok, it wasn't really a prison but there were nine foot tall stone walls and you couldn't go in or out, so I've been told. That's all the hints for today :)

Double the intruige!!!!!! I shall just have to curb my impatience and wait for the next installment. (lol)

When I mentioned the word 'power' I am referring to that place one can attain to with effort and committment when we can actually do something with the steem power earned. My goal is to one day have something tangible in my hand such as a car or something similar. Being able to make a choice with how I spend what I have earned is power. Im not at all interested in climbing ladders to reach positions in steemit as that does not interest me. Inflated numbers are just that unless we make them work for us and we derive adequate monetary rewards.

And being able to reward myself one day for my efforts is what keeps my motivated in Steemit. As far as going to whaleshares or similar, I just don't have time and don't want to spend more time than is necessary online.

I look at the voting system in Steemit as my way of thanking others for being loyal to me and for my appreciation of blogs that mean something to me or are just beautifully written and/or presented. I try to be fair with how I distribute my votes and I get a lot of pleasure when I can contribute votes that have a bit of weight behind them. There is no other adgenda for me.

I like you how you're looking at things. The price is down some more today.

Yeah.......but the steem keeps builidng my friend.

It's a real pleasure to read you, @trudeehunter! Thank you! I agree with what you say and I think now is the time to invest in Steem. Nobody knows what's going to happen, but it's worth taking that risk. I'm going to try and buy next month because now I've kind of used the money.
Your comment is a real SAM post, even if you have not officially attended. I hope you don't mind that I think you've already done it. Thank you again!

Thank you very much @bluemoon The way I see the current situation is this: We can withdraw what we have earned by hard work and committment and a lot of time and when we spend it, we'll derive a certain amount of pleasure (for a very short amount of time) from either buying something we really need or celebrating with abandonment on something frivilous, but tomorrow its gone!

If, on the other hand, we hang in here and if, crypto comes to the party by giving us sizeable and tangaible rewards down the track, then the sacrifice is going be ever so sweet and wonderfully rewarding.

You know I'm here to stay! I'm making more here, even at these prices, than I have EVER made on Facebook. But I'm mostly here for the friendships I have made all around the world. And I have total faith in Steem. If all the other crypto coins were going up I might be worried, but I fully expect that when the market starts going up, steem will too! I did buy some Steem last week. I can't afford to buy much, but I do believe it is a good investment!

I'm not sure payment here vs Facebook is a valid comparison. If I don't get paid here, I will look for some other pay site. Facebook is for all the people I actually know in real life. All my friends, family, past co-workers etc are there. I don't go there for pay, and I don't go there much in any case.

You go to Facebook for the same reason I come here! To hang with my friends!

I get that, I'm only pointing out that Facebook friends are often people you know in real life and have met in person. That's far rarer here, isn't it?

True, but for me some of my friendships here feel just as real!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you @pixresteemer!

I could make far more money everyday panhandling on the corner. No one would care if i'm an effing good blogger or not either.

Exactly, I often say the same thing. Walk around for an hour or so until you find a quarter on the ground, then call it a day! Wow, big earnings! :)

I thought about going a while back when my account was worth $5000. Gee I'm glad I didn't... It's worth about $300 now. Think of all the tax I've saved paying

Posted using Partiko Android

There ya go! That's putting a positive spin on things for sure! :)

Always positive except in my gearing

Posted using Partiko Android

Howdy sir keithboone! wow I don't know about steem. I think about leaving everyday but end up deciding to stay a little longer but I can't keep this up forever because I need some income. lol. I have no problem with anyone leaving. Obviously to be here full time you have to be in a comfortable enough position to not need income to pay the current bills and lots of us are very close to that point of not being able to last any longer without income.
Hey I love that fact about yourself, it's a great riddle! I usually hate riddles but I like that.

I've taken enough cash out of Steem to buy a cup of coffee. Not just a "normal" coffee mind you, but one of those fancy TV show coffees with the mocha-java-half-caf-latte-whatzits in it. I can't wait to buy that cup of coffee on my one-year anniversary of becoming active on Steemit! I wouldn't be planning on paying any bills with Steem unless a miracle occurs.

BTW, if you do go somewhere, let me know where to find you. You probably think I'm a kook, but I like talking to you :)

haha! Well if I thought you were a kook then that would mean I'd try even harder to stay in contact! lol. Were you one of them who were in TSU? So many people on here were, not me but Melinda and others.

Everyone complains about so many people leaving but I'm surprised so many have stayed. I mean I guess that's what has kept me here, everyone saying it's going to improve and so many saying it are very savvy business people or experts, or at least it appears that way. I probably woun't leave completely would you? I'd stay very part time, post once a week or something. You have tons of pictures in files right? You could just post a picture every once in a while.

When is your one year anniversary?

I think I started posting in late January. I opened the account months earlier but just couldn't figure things out a first, it all seemed too complicated.

Yes, I was on Tsu and met our friend Melinda and many others there. Come to think of it, I got paid over $300 on Tsu, and when it was about ready to shut its doors I had another $60 in the account which I just donated to charity - that was a thing you could do directly on the Tsu website. That was US dollars, cash money, not crypto. Gimmie some of that today! I don't think I'll see those sort of numbers around here.

No, I don't think I would leave here unless it actually shuts down. You're right, I can just keep posting photos, although I do like to write a little at the same time and that does take some effort.

hey sir Keith, how long did it take you to make that $300 on Tsu? So after a year of probably spending alot more time on a more difficult platform you have made like nothing.. unless the price of Steem goes up.

Steem is supposed to be an investment, I guess you have to think long term, that's the difference. Tsu, I don't know... maybe a year or so to earn that? Still wasn't paying many bills, but it was better than nothing!

yeah the $300 sounds pretty good right now, lol. maybe we're suckers, I don't know.

Did you write as often before getting on Steemit? One thing this blogging platform does for me is to provide encouragement to write stuff, even if it only gets read by a handful of people. That's good practice. I think my photo posts get a better response when accompanied with some kind of story (or rant!)

I borrow the words of @trudeehunter , each words are precisely my thought, except my darling is not called John, and I invest alone, which gives me the peaceful mind that in the worst scenario, it would be only my money involved, and as Trudee, I would never advise someone to do the same like me, each one has to be in alignement with own soul ;-)

When the steem value was much higher than what it is currently, it just wasn't possible for John and I to invest in it.
Thankfully, the current scenario is playing right into our hands and we made the decision to make a sacrifice by fore-going our next planned holiday to invest in a little steem while the steem value is low. I would never advise anyone to do what we have done because we really have no idea what the outcome will be. But I strongly 'suspect' that cryptocurrency is the way of the future and when I say, future, I have no time line in mind because if I miscalculated, I would be very disapponted if I was premature in my estimations.
Sure, I'll be very disappointed if steem doesn't turn around in time for me to personally make good use of it but I'd kick myself more if I gave up now and missed out on what could well be, a very worthwhile opportunity.

I want to know more about the prison birth...

Some secrets remain. Sixty-four years almost, and some secrets remain ;)

Well, I respect secrets ^_^

First of all I want to thank you for joining our game @keithboone!
It's your mysterious style and you've managed to awaken curiosity. I did not understand what you wanted to reveal, but thank you for doing it. It remains to try to understand ...

Going to the side about Steemit and Steem, your questions are mine too. I wasn't and I don't want to be hypocritical. I have come here for the opportunity to earn money, I have always been fascinated by the opportunity to earn working from home with the help of my PC. I have tried that for many years in internet marketing and I have met many who have earned important money. I lost more, I abandoned the so-called online business and tried crypto. Steemit seemed attractive but I was never on the side of the optimists who thought Steem would be worth hundreds of dollars in the future ... for me it would have been enough to value only a few bucks.
Now it's just the pleasure to write, to interact with some people here ... it's addictive and I have no opinion about the future. I would be sorry if Steemit disappears!

I know I did not play your game correctly. Perhaps in the future, I will reveal more, or else talk about something less private :)

Of course! Hoping to be a future, isn't it? A game is a game, I liked it.

Possibly I am the last remaining member of the Romanov family and the legal Tsar of Russia!?!
;)

Oh, yes! The paper route! I promise I will help you roll up the papers and put and elastic band around them or push them into a plastic sleeve on rainy days!

I might go for a greeter at WalMart, whaddaya think? I think I might be able to pull it off!

To be clear, I love steemit and hope that it does an about face. I didn't think there would be anything to ever replace TSU and yet, here I am, loving it. I'm optimistic that all will be well in Camelot.

!tip

Thank you, Denise! Do you know, I've never been greeted at Walmart? I see them there, ignoring me... one day I'm going to walk over and say "Greet me, damn you!" I'll check if it's you first though, I'd never talk to You like that! :)

OMGosh! I laugh. You must be super mean looking if not even the geriatric crowd wants to greet you! :)

Haha! If it's me, I promise I'll greet you. Just bring me a newspaper so I can read it when I am ignoring the rest of the people. ;)

🎁 Hi @keithboone! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Christmas Tree Tuesday Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67975.29
ETH 3240.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66