Project Sub-4 Complete

in #runningproject5 years ago

image.png

Marathons are events of love.
I was overwhelmed with the amount of love I got to absorb this past weekend.

On Saturday, I got to see Haley twice on the half marathon route. She looked amazing and did amazing! I also got to meet up with her parents to cheer on all the runners. I yelled for Haley so hard at the finish line the recording would make you deaf.

image.png

Seeing Haley run fast was quite inspiring. Her performance somehow reassured me that there is a chance I can run a sub-4 marathon. That night, we enjoyed a fantastic feast at Little Nona's with garlic bread and tons of pasta #carbload.

The morning of the marathon was the prettiest morning. 31F. Slightly overcast. Very light wind. We could not have asked for better weather. We arrived just early enough to check our gear and use the bathroom. I was nervous. When the gun shot, I was not even sure it was for our corral to start. "I guess we're running!"

Screen Shot 2018-11-20 at 11.08.12 AM.png

The first three miles flew by. We had so much energy, and the crowds were absolutely mind blowing. We ran at around 8:50 min/mi and I felt amazing. I thought to myself "Well maybe a 4-hour finish was too easy." Of course, it sounded absurd when I re-analyzed this thought 18 miles later. I closed my eyes couple times from mile 4-7. There were drums, guitars, various brass instruments, very loud speakers and even a choir. One Indego biker with a speaker was playing a Disney(?) song when we ran by. Many spectators clapped and made the very loud wooooo sound. I woooed back a couple times and encouraged them go even louder. It was an amazing feeling to be in the middle of that love and support. I thought "This is why I signed up." But once again, this thought was later shattered at mile 21 and replaced by "Why am I doing this again?!".

I saw Haley on the left side at one point on Chestnut, but I couldn't recognize her with a red ball cap on. When I realized this strange woman who seemed to be taking pictures of everyone smiled back to me and cheered me on, I shouted "Haley! I couldn't see you!" and she snapped this photo:
image.png

Chestnut was the rowdiest crowd, but the support continued strong along the route. People were giving us water, beer, tissues, ibuprofen, vaseline and even cakes. It was actually quite interesting how people cheer so differently. On the hardest hill, one lone spectator gave us many catchphrases as if he was our personal trainer. Others said "It's all downhill after that loop!" when offering us some gu's. Tractor drivers waved and honked. Some people called out "Great job, Trang!" when they saw my name on the bib. It was heart warming the whole way through. "We're all in this together!" - that's what it felt like.

I remember my younger sister Ngoc was struck by stranger's kindness when she was at her highschool camp/festival (hoi trai 26/3). She was in the middle of a tug of war between two classes when a standby student from a different class cheered for her and gave her tips. She was quite shocked by the kindness from the stranger. It's a different experience to feel loved and supported by someone else other than our mom.

On Kelly Dr, I got to see Serkalem Abrha on her way to break the course record:
image.png

At mile 15, @dhimmel snapped this photo of us under the tunnel above which a special incident occurred:
image.png

Around mile 16, I said hi to a woman and asked for her name when I saw her the third time. Alyson proceeded to tell me about why she ran the marathon: her son passed away a few years back because of spinal muscular atrophy, so she decided to run it for him. I think she teared up a little. We talked a little more about our motivation then got separated. We later saw her at the finish line and gave her a hug.

We were at around 9:20 min/mi from mile 15-20. We should have paid attention more to the pace, but I was also quite tired. At the turnaround point, we realized that the 4-hour pacer was just right behind us. We quickly reassess the situation: there was no slack and we really got to keep it together for the next 6.2 miles. There was some downhill back from Manayunk, but that still didn't give us great separation from the pacer. I reminded myself of Nadia's text the day before:
image.png

So, one step at a time. One mile at a time. I told my heart: "Be good. You got this!" My legs wanted to cramp up, but I kept punching it and consumed gatorade every chance I got. If you took a photo of me without my knowlegde at this point, you will see PAIN, not the usual smile. Daniel was often a few feet in front of me. I wanted to drop back, but his words kept me going:

We've worked so hard for this! We're so close!

or

This is just like our training run on the Schuylkill. We have home field advantage.

Mile 25, I know I can do it. I told Daniel to sprint ahead and that I got this, I won't fall behind, I'm so close. He stayed with me. We saw his dad at one point during mile 25. I was tired, but I smiled for a brief second.

Mile 26.1. We did a Trang's sprint to the finish line. 3:58:47.

At the finish line, I gave Daniel a hug of disbelief: Are you sure we really did it?!
image.png
This photo was captured by my old roommate Johanna (we had an incredible time living together with a few others) who came to support me. She saw me three times on the route and was able to snap this precious pic.

After hanging out with our incredible supporters and got some hotdogs + banana + chicken soup, we walked back to the finish line to cheer for our friend Jason. I cried when I saw a man with no bib held his partner's hand and ran her to the finish line. As for Jason, he looked strong at 26.19:
MVIMG_20181118_131121_exported_stabilized_7878398152148951058.gif

Here are some bonus photos of us:
image.png

I'm sure for many, the race is a personal mission. I'm not sure what it is for me, but I know I can now party late on Fridays now that Project Sub-4 is complete. What's next? NYC marathon? Sub-3:50? Well, that's too far ahead to plan. I think for now I'll drink beer, eat turkey and sleep on victory for a little bit.

Gobble gobble gobble.

Sort:  

Amazing! Cross-linking to my post on the marathon

At the turnaround point, we realized that the 4-hour pacer was just right behind us.

That was probably the most memorable moment for me.... the OH SHIT moment.

Thats a really fast pace. Well done!!

Posted using Partiko Android

@king-cobra Thank you so much!!! We're probably at the average in our age group but I'm extremely happy with the result!

U r still young. Maintain training.. ur performace will definitely increase💪💪

Posted using Partiko Android

Chúc mừng @trang, bạn đã nhận được một upvote 25%. Tôi là con bot của cộng đồng Việt Nam trên Steemit. Tôi được tạo ra bởi nhân chứng @quochuy và được uỷ quyền, tín nhiệm bởi các thành viên Việt Nam, hôm nay tôi vote cho bài của bạn để ủng hộ bạn. Tôi hi vọng sẽ được thấy nhiều bài viết hay từ bạn.

Chúc bạn vui vẻ, và hẹn gặp lại một ngày gần đây.

Congratulations @trang! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed
Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @trang! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @trang! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 6000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 7000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @trang! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 200 comments. Your next target is to reach 300 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00