Running Project: 5km Training Programme Wk 6 Results - Shaming, Not Having It, Moving OnsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #runningproject6 years ago

A week or so ago I wrote about taking Pilates classes as a way to build strength, stamina and stability to support my running. I'd booked six weeks of classes on Mondays and a one to one session later in the week on Thursdays. I was really looking forward to it, I've taken Pilates classes in the past and really enjoyed them.

20180401_164655.jpg
One of the streets on my latest run where the little patch of earth at the base of each tree is planted with flowers by the householders. Every one of them is a miniature garden.

I set off on Monday morning with plenty of time to park the car and walk to the studio. Other women arrived, we chatted about the beautiful day and the Botanic Garden and muddy walks around Great Glen, a nearby and very pretty village. It felt good.

The class was horrible. I had already had faint alarms bells from a text the trainer had sent me and I was going to speak to her about it when we met for our one-to-one. This text and my response to it turned out to be prescient. I don't know if this happens in activities designed for men, or activities where a large proportion of men participate, but sometimes, in women's activities, especially around health and well-being (and that other bête-noire, "dieting"), there's an underlying value base which is about shaming. It's very subtle - a casual text or comment - but it's there and it's very damning. It's accompanied by an approach to physical activity (or eating) which is about punishing your body (and, by extension, yourself).

As a young woman, aware that something had happened when one of these remarks was made, but unable to disentangle what was going on, and suppressing my response, I would become depressed. Nowadays, I feel angry, and that's how I felt in this class. Although it used some techniques from Pilates, it was otherwise a soul-destroying going-through-the-motions exercise class where the tutor looked as bored and disengaged as I felt. I struggled with the compulsion to get up and walk out, but I kept my cool until the end of the class, when the tutor dropped another, casual, shaming comment. My classmates tittered anxiously.

The class was over in an hour, and I'd survived, but the effects lasted for longer and I was exhausted for much of the rest of the week. I kept weeping, the kind of weeping you have when you have lost someone, floods of tears that come of their own volition, whatever you are doing, coursing down your face, seemingly endless. I was confused, grieving in some way, angry, tired and, at the same time, aware that the discomfort around my lower back and right hip had gone. l wondered where I was on The Change Curve.

IMG_1716.JPG
Source: Insights A model for thinking about change.

It looked like I was ricocheting between stages one to three. "Listen," it says, "listen, do not advise or fix. Support." So I did. I stopped worrying, let it be, took some time out. I cancelled my Pilates arrangement, looked up the yoga classes that I used to go to and got on with trying some of the deep stretches that had helped my hip so much as part of the pre-hab sessions.

I missed my Sunday morning run with Easter visitors and other distractions, but in the afternoon, the Wk 7 Training Programme plopped into my feed and prompted me to go out and have a go at increasing distance. As I was trying a new route, I was walking, but walking as fast as I could to see how long it took me to cover the distance. I thought I had set my new walkmeter, but it only caught the first four seconds! I didn't walk as far as today, about 3.5km, and I managed the distance easily. I felt scrunched up, though, and didn't really find the flow that I enjoy when I am truly moving in the moment.

Screenshot_2018-04-02-16-31-33.png
Yay, starting to get the hang of the walkmeter!

Today, I went out again with three ambitions: to get the hang of the walkmeter, practice technique and walk as fast as I could. I walked just under 4km, the fastest time was 8:50 mpk or just under 4.5 mph - almost running! I had a couple of enforced stops at pedestrian crossings across the busy ring road. I hadn't planned to stop and take any photographs, but there was one shot (below) that I had to capture, so another voluntary stop during the route. I've learned how to turn the walkmeter on and off during these stops, so I can get a more accurate reading in the future.

20180402_141413.jpg
The flooding has shown up the remnants of strip farming in Knighton Park. Strip farming was well established by the 11th century when Knighton was recorded in the Domesday Book.

I managed the distance easily, I would guess slower than yesterday and I was more breathless, but managed the last .75 km at a good pace laden with beer and wine for our visitors tonight after a stop at the off licence on the way home. I was much happier about technique today, much better focus on pace and engaging core muscles for much of the walk. Tomorrow, I am working in London, so a rest day, probably a good idea as my thighs are definitely feeling the effects of yesterday and today. I'm home Wednesday and Thursday, and depending how I feel I'm going to try some running cycles for part of the run, but anyway, will walk the 3.2km target. I'm keeping up with the plyometrics and deep stretches, and yoga classes start on Friday.

It's been a tough week, I wouldn't have said that I hated life but it hasn't been easy. I've learned to be more picky about who I choose to work with, but even then, I've learned some new deep stretches which are helping. I would say I've been resilient about dealing with a setback, taking time and then getting back out there. The Running Project helps, that little nudge, following other runners, focusing on the potential.

Sort:  

Such a bummer about the pilates class! That makes me so angry when "fellow" fitness professionals act in a manner that is completely counter to what they are supposed to be achieving in their work. Going to exercise (in any form) should make you feel strong and confident, not shamed and belittled. Women are tougher on each other in many ways, which is really sad to see some times.

I think that's why I have loved being on Steemit so far--everyone all around has pretty much been very positive and supportive. I'm glad that has been your experience, as well! Looks like you are getting in some good activity, so I hope you can find a yoga class that works for you, as well!

Thank you, I agree. My experience with steem and the running community has been great. The problem that you're talking about is a much greater structural issue in our society, sometimes we can do something about it and sometimes we just need to walk away and get on with something else.

I've been to this particular yoga teacher before, he's very down to earth and I enjoy the way he says things like, "and here's something you can practice while you're waiting for the kettle to boil." He also talks about what we are doing as "practice" which fits more with how I think about things - an integral part of who you are.

Ugh. That is a frustrating story to read. The beginning part that is :). Good job catching yourself in the act and actually remembering some applicable theory! I usually suffer though a good week of festering thoughts before my higher thinking kicks in. But seriously, this is a sweet post about re-engaging movement as a remedy for the crummies. I was kind of hoping for the part where you walked back into that person's Pilates studio and scolded her, but that would be my way of making a bad situation even worse :/. Have you considered Tai Chi, or ever tried it? The running technique I generally subscribe to is based on that particular martial art, and Danny Dreyer, the guy who developed it, often talks about the difference between yoga and Tai Chi. I think his opinion is a little biased, but it is true that yoga is a little heavy on one side of the yin yang continuum (can't remember which is which). Running and walking really require both -- a strong central axis and soft extremities. A needle through a ball of cotton.

I am glad that @runningproject is providing little nudges. For me too! And more important, it seems like you are quite grounded in your own progress, keeping them to nudges and not overly ambitious paths to injury.

Is there anything specific I can help with this week?

Yes, the running project is good - the training programme provides lots of guidance without being too overbearing, sort of "take this and use it as you will". I don't think I had realised how profound a change it would be, to take up a new practice, it sounds easy, doesn't it - put your shoes on, start running? But I'm finding it's a bit more than that and it's good to have a network of runners around.

I did a bit of reading yesterday about Danny Dreyer and his ideas (I'm looking forward to practising leaning/falling forward and I've worked out just where I can do that in the house). At the moment, I feel that yoga is the best option for me locally. Later in the year, things will change and I'll have more options.

Yes please, here is something you can help me with:
My neck and shoulders are getting stiff. I must try and remember to see what I'm doing when I am out, whether I'm tensing or scrunching them, but somewhere you mentioned about using a foam roller? Maybe you have that planned for the next week or two of the programme?

I am getting really tired. Looking back at your programme for week 7, I think I need to pay more attention! I went out two days running, extending myself both days, but I see in the programme, you're saying, a day between, and do less the second time if you're still feeling tired (last night I was in bed by 7.30pm)!

Sorry I haven’t gotten to the roller yet. I need to get my model to pose for pics. I wouldn’t recommend rolling for the shoulders though. Here are my thoughts. Everyone seems to hold tension somewhere. In my experience it seems like women hold it in their shoulders more than men. That has zero science to back up, just my experience. Regardless, we can address tension in any area first simply by being aware of it, and making it a priority to relax that area. Breathe into your shoulders when your walking and running. From there, there are some specific technique pointers for the shoulders. You want to practice the armswing as a fluid motion where the arms are locked in a 90 degree bend, shoulders are relaxed, and you’re simply, gently, pulling your elbows back and letting the forward motion happen on its own. There’s no need to push the arms forward as they will fall back into place after the gentle rearward pull. Try it in front of a full length mirror with your feet in a staggered position. Watch yourself and tell yourself to relax. See the tension in your shoulders and then see it ease up. Let me know how that works.

I’ve been more tired lately too! Getting back in shape is no joke. I’m enjoying the current process because it’s making me appreciate some things I forgot. It does take a big adjustment to develop a consistent practice. It’s a fairly significant lifestyle choice, and that requires some shifting of priorities and routines, to say the least.

Thank you - good ideas about the shoulders, I'll try them tomorrow.

Sounds like a challenging time!

I've often thought about Pilates - I've got some issues with my back and more than a few people have recommended it. I've never found classes that fit with my somewhat variable routine of being away most weeks.

Being a country boy I love seeing the ripples in fields like that; used to see it a lot in Buckinghamshire where I grew up. I think it's called Ridge and Furrow and is from the middle ages.

Pilates is great, but I think there is great variation in the practice. Some tutors are holistic practitioners and are as accomplished as osteopaths, others have done a Level 3 (equivalent to A level) qualification in teaching exercise classes based on Pilates. I agree that fitting classes into a variable work pattern can be a challenge, I've found that.

Yes, Knighton Park and the nearby village centre which still has some very old buildings are interesting historically. As well as the evidence of medieval farming, it has a spinney, I don't think it's ancient woodland, but it is several hundred years old. The southern part of the park has shallow field reservoirs and forms part of the flood defences for that area of the city - playing and event fields when it's dry and muddy water tanks when it's not.

“Dwell on the beauty of life. Watch the stars, and see yourself running with them.”
― Marcus Aurelius, Meditations

Resteemed by @runningproject

Kind reminder:

Vote for your Running Author of the Week 10!

I hope you're feeling better soon @shanibeer... I didn't know about that change chart - thanks for the link !

Thank you, I am much better. The chart is useful - it's just one model, there are lots of others. I use it a lot at work, especially when things seem like a big muddle!

Dear @shanibeer
you have sent to us 5 valuable SBD, thanks for that!!!
Sorry but we want to ask you why, just in case is not a mistake ;-)

I enjoy the running project, it makes me happy, I get lots of value from it. Thank you!
I am sure you will use it well 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57605.40
ETH 3085.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31