You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Running Project: 5km Training Programme Wk 6 Results - Shaming, Not Having It, Moving On

in #runningproject6 years ago

Ugh. That is a frustrating story to read. The beginning part that is :). Good job catching yourself in the act and actually remembering some applicable theory! I usually suffer though a good week of festering thoughts before my higher thinking kicks in. But seriously, this is a sweet post about re-engaging movement as a remedy for the crummies. I was kind of hoping for the part where you walked back into that person's Pilates studio and scolded her, but that would be my way of making a bad situation even worse :/. Have you considered Tai Chi, or ever tried it? The running technique I generally subscribe to is based on that particular martial art, and Danny Dreyer, the guy who developed it, often talks about the difference between yoga and Tai Chi. I think his opinion is a little biased, but it is true that yoga is a little heavy on one side of the yin yang continuum (can't remember which is which). Running and walking really require both -- a strong central axis and soft extremities. A needle through a ball of cotton.

I am glad that @runningproject is providing little nudges. For me too! And more important, it seems like you are quite grounded in your own progress, keeping them to nudges and not overly ambitious paths to injury.

Is there anything specific I can help with this week?

Sort:  

Yes, the running project is good - the training programme provides lots of guidance without being too overbearing, sort of "take this and use it as you will". I don't think I had realised how profound a change it would be, to take up a new practice, it sounds easy, doesn't it - put your shoes on, start running? But I'm finding it's a bit more than that and it's good to have a network of runners around.

I did a bit of reading yesterday about Danny Dreyer and his ideas (I'm looking forward to practising leaning/falling forward and I've worked out just where I can do that in the house). At the moment, I feel that yoga is the best option for me locally. Later in the year, things will change and I'll have more options.

Yes please, here is something you can help me with:
My neck and shoulders are getting stiff. I must try and remember to see what I'm doing when I am out, whether I'm tensing or scrunching them, but somewhere you mentioned about using a foam roller? Maybe you have that planned for the next week or two of the programme?

I am getting really tired. Looking back at your programme for week 7, I think I need to pay more attention! I went out two days running, extending myself both days, but I see in the programme, you're saying, a day between, and do less the second time if you're still feeling tired (last night I was in bed by 7.30pm)!

Sorry I haven’t gotten to the roller yet. I need to get my model to pose for pics. I wouldn’t recommend rolling for the shoulders though. Here are my thoughts. Everyone seems to hold tension somewhere. In my experience it seems like women hold it in their shoulders more than men. That has zero science to back up, just my experience. Regardless, we can address tension in any area first simply by being aware of it, and making it a priority to relax that area. Breathe into your shoulders when your walking and running. From there, there are some specific technique pointers for the shoulders. You want to practice the armswing as a fluid motion where the arms are locked in a 90 degree bend, shoulders are relaxed, and you’re simply, gently, pulling your elbows back and letting the forward motion happen on its own. There’s no need to push the arms forward as they will fall back into place after the gentle rearward pull. Try it in front of a full length mirror with your feet in a staggered position. Watch yourself and tell yourself to relax. See the tension in your shoulders and then see it ease up. Let me know how that works.

I’ve been more tired lately too! Getting back in shape is no joke. I’m enjoying the current process because it’s making me appreciate some things I forgot. It does take a big adjustment to develop a consistent practice. It’s a fairly significant lifestyle choice, and that requires some shifting of priorities and routines, to say the least.

Thank you - good ideas about the shoulders, I'll try them tomorrow.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57408.28
ETH 3079.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31