The Running Project 5k Training Program; Week #1

Welcome to Week #1 of the #runningproject’s 5K Training Program

group-run1.jpg

brought to you by Coach Craig Strimel

Hellooooo Runners!

I can’t even begin to tell you how excited I am to kick off this training program. As a coach, it is an incredible idea to be able to work with people from anywhere in the world, and I want to thank @runningproject and @toofasteddie for allowing me this great opportunity.

Allow me to get some basic information out since this is the first Weekly Post for the program. In the future, each Weekly Post will begin with the specific recommended workouts for that week. After that I will likely also include some additional information, like suggestions for thinking about and improving technique, injury prevention, motivation, etc. Please, please, please let me know what you think of these items and feel free to make any suggestions or requests.

As you follow along with the program, I suggest you post your workout reports to your own blog, and tag them with #runningproject, and then link your posts as comments on the Weekly Post. So for this week, link your posts to this one. I also ask you to include the basic info of your runs along with the link to your post (I will provide an example as the first comment to this post.) In this way, the bulk of our conversations will take place on the Weekly Posts, so everyone who is participating will see everything in one location. So, make sure you also include any questions you have, and any other relevant information, and I will do my very best to respond in a timely manner. Easy peasy.

This Week’s Plan:

Remember, this plan is four weeks longer than a typical 5K plan, as it includes four weeks of prep for brand new runners, and four weeks of relaxed prep for experienced runners. Depending on where you are at this point in your running and fitness, feel free to jump in now, or wait until the plan more reflects your own starting point. Do not feel like you have to do everything exactly as I prescribe. All runners should make adjustments as they see fit. Listen to your body. If you are dragging, or in pain or too much discomfort, do less, or take a day or two off. If you are feeling great, be careful if you add anything. The newer you are, the more I will recommend that you NOT add days or distance.

Recommended Equipment:
I strongly recommend you purchase a basic set of small stretchy bands. Here’s a link: 12” Versa Loop Kit.
See my post titled Basic Prehab for Runners; Strength, Stability and Flexibility to read about the importance of developing strength, stability and flexibility, and how to use the stretchy bands along with other plyometric exercises. I also recommend getting a foam roller, and will provide info on that in a later post.

Beginner Plan Week #1

Primary focus: Develop a new routine

Monday:
Rest (how’s that for an easy first day?!)

Tuesday:
Walk for 20 minutes. After at least 10 minutes, feel free to jog for any portion, but take it slow and trust the process.
Plyometric exercises/stretchy bands (see info below)

Wednesday:
Walk, or rest

Thursday:
Walk for 25 minutes. After at least 10 minutes, feel free to jog for any portion.
Plyometric exercises/stretchy bands

Friday:
Walk or rest

Saturday:
Walk for 20-25 minutes. After at least 10 minutes, feel free to jog for any portion.
Plyometric exercises/stretchy bands

Sunday:
Walk for 25-30 minutes. After at least 10 minutes, feel free to jog for any portion.

Intermediate Plan Week #1

Monday:
3 mile/5k run at a comfortable pace (no need for a watch, but I know how you are :)

Tuesday:
Rest or cross train/walk

Wednesday:
3 mile/5k run at comfortable pace

Thursday:
Rest or cross train/walk

Friday:
3 mile/5k run at comfortable pace

Saturday:
5 mile/8k run at comfortable pace

This Week’s Additional Information:

If you are starting at square one with a brand new fitness program, my number one piece of advice is to just trust the process. If you put in the work that is prescribed, your body will respond. In the moment you may not feel great, although I am hoping that by starting out with easy walking and maybe some jogging, you won’t be in any great discomfort. You may feel really out of shape in the first week, but your body will make fairly large adaptations early on. I am always amazed at how hard the first few runs feel after some time off, and then equally amazed at how quickly I get used to the work.

I want to really emphasize the importance of adopting a goal of zero injury, and I will repeat this over and over. Some people actually take some sort of pride from being “banged up,” or by having to limp around with a knee brace. There is no glory in getting hurt and having to delay or abandon a fitness program. Take it slow, trust the process, and be sure to inform me of any problems. In the context of this training program, informing me of aches and pains is not complaining.

There are a few things to consider from day one in oder to prevent injury. For these first couple of weeks, I do not think you need to do any special warm up, as I want you to begin each session by walking. But I do want you to be thinking of technique as much as possible, and I encourage you to do the very simple exercises I recommend here:
Basic Prehab for Runners; Strength, Stability and Flexibility

Below is a copy of the information provided in the Introductory Post Join The Running Project's 5K Training Program! (All levels of Experience Welcome)

This program has been carefully designed by an experienced coach
to provide you with the information, personal guidance, and motivation
to assure your running success. Beginner, novice, and experienced runners
are all welcome to join and follow along.

See below for instructions on how to
join #runningproject and the training program

Training Program Overview

We will provide a basic overview of the 12-week training program here, with weekly plans to follow as separate posts. Record your runs by posting them to your own blog (and linking to the weekly post), or simply by leaving comments on the weekly post. Which option you choose is up to you, but making your own post can obviously lead to bigger rewards for you. If you wish to participate, please see the instructions below for signing up.

To keep things relatively simple, there will be two separate plans, one for beginner/novice runners, and one for intermediate/experienced. If you are starting from scratch, it is advised you follow the beginner plan from day 1. Depending on your current fitness, you can follow along more loosely, doing your current comfortable distances, and then start following the plan in a week or two. Sharing your starting point and progress will help me to give you the most helpful feedback for you. It is not advisable to start with the beginner plan and then switch to the intermediate mid-way through. Definitely consult with Coach Craig here if you need help deciding where to begin. If you begin with the intermediate plan and realize it is too much, then we do advise dropping down to the beginner plan.

Please have both your health and this training plan evaluated by your health care provider before you begin training. Neither RunningProject, Coach Craig, nor any other person or entity connected to this program is liable for any injury or accident you sustain. Any participation in this program is voluntary and you are urged to use your own best judgement regarding your health, safety and well-being. As experienced runners, we know that one of the most important rules of training is to listen to your body and take a break when you need one. Most running injuries are caused by simply doing too much too soon, and although this training plan is designed to prevent that, you must take responsibility for your own health.

Beginner plan overview:

Weeks 1 and 2:

  • Three days of walking and jogging/running at comfortable pace for timed intervals
  • Optional walk or cross training days

Weeks 3 and 4:

  • Three days of walking and jogging/running with run segments for timed intervals
  • One walk day

Week 5 through 8:

  • Three days of running with gradual increases in time or distance each week
  • One walk day with gradual increase in time each week

Week 9 through 11:

  • Three days of running with gradual increases in time or distance each week
  • One "track" day with gradual introduction to running faster
  • One walk day

Week 12:

  • Taper and preparation week
  • 5K race!

Intermediate Plan Overview

Weeks 1 and 2:

  • Three days of easy to moderate 3-mile/5k runs
  • One long run

Weeks 3 and 4:

  • Three days of easy to moderate 3-mile/5k runs
  • One long run
  • One "easy" track interval workout

Weeks 5 through 7:

  • Three days of 3-mile/5k runs (and adding 1 mile/1.5 km to one run in week 7)
  • One track interval workout or tempo run (alternate each week)
  • One long run

Week 8:

  • Two days of 3-mile/5k runs
  • Focused track workout for goal race pace
  • Extra rest day
  • 5K time trial

Weeks 9 through 11:

  • Two days of 3-mile/5k runs
  • One 4 to 5-mile/8k run
  • One track interval workout or tempo run (alternate each week)

Week 12:

  • Taper and preparation week
  • Focused track workout
  • 5K race!

Let's do this together as a global running community!

About Coach Craig:

IMG_0541(1).jpg
I am an avid running and coach. I have competed in every distance from 55 meters to iron distance triathlon, including a handful of marathons. As a masters athlete I focus on the 5K (masters pr of 19:40), 800 meters (2:12) and 400 meters (55.2), but I also run the Philadelphia Broad Street 10 miler every spring with my wife (1:16). I am not a fast distance runner, but partly because I am a sprinter at heart. I currently coach sprints at my local high school, and help my wife with her cross country team in the fall, as well as the winter track program at her school. I am also the vice president of Greater Philadelphia Track Club, the president of a youth track and field club that my wife and I started last summer, and hold a USA Track & Field level 1 certification. I have done extensive technique training and coaching, and attend two coaching conferences every year to keep up with the latest ideas. This summer I will be completing my USATF level 2 certification, most likely with a concentration in youth track and field.

How To Join and Participate in The Training Program

  • Reply to this post stating your wish to follow along
  • Follow @runningproject and @cstrimel (Coach Craig)
  • Join #runningproject (see link below)
  • Consider resteeming this post (the more the merrier!)
  • Look for the weekly training post by @runningproject
  • Share your workouts/runs, and any questions or info about how things are going as comments to the corresponding weekly training post
  • @cstrimel will respond to your posts and guide you through the program

For more information about @runningproject please check "The Steem Running Project: Growing!!!! 5th Status Report"

Posted by @cstrimel on behalf of @runningproject

Sort:  

Looking forward to seeing how this project works as I'm hoping to work with @runningproject on a similar way with a marathon plan.

Sample run report:
Walked and ran for 30 minutes. walked 10 minutes, and then ran for 3-minute intervals until the 30 minute mark. Felt great. A little soreness in my right knee when I first went from walking to running but it loosened up quickly. Did most of the exercises when I got home, a little confused about pretending to be a dead bug :)
(link to blog post here)

Hey @runningproject, more SP delegation heading to @isotonic from me tonight. Keep up the good work.

Wow!!!! 1000 SP more?
Thanks @cryptokeepr, this will help us a lot!!!

Wow! Thanks for the support. Now we just need to get some people signed up. I’ve been promoting on Facebook, and I’m wondering if it makes sense to make an appeal to other runningproject members to participate in a big marketing push.

Here's my first week's results. Not able to start running yet, but aimed for developing a routine and continuing to build my stamina.

@shanibeer I realized that if we want to benefit from our comments and upvotes we should porobaly post weekly training reports on the next week’s plan post. Don’t worry about doing it for this one, but next week you would post your week 2 report on the week 3 plan post. I will still make most of my comments directly on your post, but we may as well get credit for each part of the process. Make sense?

Here's my training report for Week 1:
https://steemit.com/runningproject/@cstrimel/runningproject-5k-training-my-week-1-results-and-runforsteem-post
If you are following along, please officially sign up with #runningproject if you haven't already, and post your results.

Hurry Up!!! Limited Time.. Just Participate and Feel The Planing of Up-voting together..

https://steemit.com/upvote/@shahidahmed/upvote-to-partcipate

I ask that you kindly not spam my posts. Thanks.

Great project:)

I'm a barefoot runner: may I partecipate? Do you accept me, even barefooted?
Thank you!

Of course! I definitely appreciate barefoot running. I don’t do as much as I used to, but I only run, or for that matter walk, in very minimal shoes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64870.15
ETH 3489.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54