Basic Prehab for Runners; Strength, Stability and Flexibility

in #running6 years ago (edited)

I am leading a 5k Training Program for @runningproject, and in conjunction with that will be posting helpful information to my blog during the next 12 weeks. Follow along with the training program, post your workouts, and get ongoing guidance from me and support from runners from around the world!

IMG_0330.JPG

What is Prehab?

Prehab is short for pre-habilitation, and refers to various things we can do to prevent injury during athletic activities.

Why Do Runners Need Prehab?

A healthy person with the appropriate muscle strength, flexibility and stability should have no difficulty running in a straight line for at least short distances. However, very few, if any of us, have perfect physical fitness Lack of strength in one or more key muscles, a lack of stability, or a lack of flexibility can lead to overuse injuries relatively quickly. Furthermore, runners sometimes believe they are in great shape and do not need to do anything besides run. If I want to be a good runner I should just run, right? Well, not quite. Running is indeed great exercise, but moving in a straight line on a relatively flat surface doesn't work all of the muscles necessary to support that movement completely. Prehab helps develop and maintain strength, stability and flexibility, so that the body can withstand the stress of the activity, and truly benefit from it.

Personal Experience

I am an experienced runner and coach, and I have lived through many of my own mistakes. When I was younger I didn't have to think very much about injuries, but when I started to get more serious about my own fitness in my mid 30s, I experienced a string of injuries that almost led to quitting running altogether. However, by learning and practicing better technique, and by paying more attention to strength, stability and flexibility in my entire body, I have been able to enjoy the health benefits of running with very little interruption. As a high school track coach, I have lived through the evolution from the time when we told kids to static stretch before running, and did almost nothing else besides stretching and running, to now, when we have kids spend almost half their training time doing plyometrics and drills. The result is that with each passing year as a coach, I have experienced less and less injuries among my team. The point is, we are all learning, and I don't know that I will ever be done learning better ways to stay healthy as runners.

First Thing First: Posture

The very first thing we need to become more aware of and begin practicing, especially as new runners, is good, athletic posture. The more efficiently we move our bodies, the more in tune we are to how our bodies were designed to move, and the less likely we are to use the wrong muscles in the wrong ways and become injured. So, by correct posture, I mean that we are standing upright, and distributing our body weight evenly through both feet. From there, all motion is forward and rearward, with minimal to no lateral motion. If we want to move forward, then our limbs should only move forward and backward. If you have difficulty standing with good poster, or walking/running with minimal lateral movement, it means you have a lack of strength in one or more key muscles, or a lack of stability, or a lack of flexibility, or a combination of all three.

Try standing in place, with your feet parallel and hip width apart. Hands and arms at rest, with the thumbs resting at the center of each thigh. Rock forward and backward to feel the pressure of the ground on the bottom of the feet, and feel the pressure shift from the heels to the balls of the feet, and then come to rest evenly. Then rock side to side, feeling your weight shift, and again come to rest evenly. Now lengthen your spine by breathing in and just gently making yourself as tall as possible. Your head should be in a neutral position and the neck relaxed. In this tall position, your shoulders are over your heels. Now, turn your awareness to your navel, or belly button, and imagine you are lying flat on your back and about to do a sit up, or a crunch. With just a bit of tension in your core/navel area, lean forward slightly at the waist so that your shoulders move over the center of your feet. This is a very slight shift in posture -- again, the shoulders shift from being directly over the heels, to directly over the middle of the feet.

|

This shift allows you to engage your core, and hold your posture in position while moving. In this position, walk slowly. You may feel a little stiff, so consciously relax, and walk as normal as possible while holding the posture. Take very small steps, so that you are not reaching far in front of your body with your feet. As you walk, allow yourself to fall forward slightly from the ankles, and just allow each step to land directly below your center of mass. From this position, you can begin running by simply lifting your heels gently.

Your arms are the last part of the overall posture. Standing still, just bend your elbows as naturally as possible to 90 degrees. This should bring your hands inline with your nipples, and if you make relaxed fists, your knuckles will be close to the edges of your breast bone.

|

When you run, simply pull your elbows gently to the rear. You hands will move forward and backward at about a 45 degree angle to your torso (not a 90 degree angle, like a robot). One way to check this motion is to open your thumbs up a little, and allow them to drag along your lowest rib as you swing your arms forward and backward. This is getting a little ahead or ourselves, but when we get into proper running technique, we can imagine that all we are really doing is falling gently forward while picking up our heels and pulling our elbows to the rear.

Stability Test

While practicing your good athletic posture (remember to keep the core engaged), try simply lifting one heel straight up to your butt while standing on one leg. Imagine a string being attached to your heel, and then running straight through the corresponding butt cheek. Pull the string up, and your heel just rises up.

IMG_0318.JPG

Standing in this position might look like a flamingo standing on one leg. Try both legs, and as you get the hang of this simple, gentle motion, walk in place doing the same. Now, the test. Lift one heel, and see how long you can hold it without moving. Then try the other leg. If it is your first time doing this, chances are you will at least rock a little on your feet as you find your balance. The extent to which you are able to do this, or not, is an indication of your stability. There are many other aspects of muscle stability as it pertains to running, but standing on one leg is the most central, as running is pretty much just planting one foot down at a time to support your body weight as it moves forward.

More of a test of flexibility, try squatting as low as possible while keeping your feet flat on the ground.

IMG_0321.JPG

And last, try bending only at the waist and touch your toes.

IMG_0322.JPG

If you have difficulty squatting or touching your toes its a sign that you need to work on basic flexibility. If you are not in pain or already dealing with an injury it is okay to run, but you should start doing the exercises below right away. Even if you can do the tests above, these exercises are some of the most common that physical therapists recommend for runners to maintain strength and flexibility in muscles and joints that end up neglected by only running.

Prehab Plyometric Exercises

Plyometric exercises will help develop overall core and key muscle strength. Most of the stretchy band exercises help develop hip strength, which is essential for increasing stability and minimizing lateral motion. My favorite strengthening exercises for my track athletes are all quite simple, and most require the use of 12" stretchy bands. CLick here to see an inexpensive kit on Amazon.

Here are a few of the exercises we do before almost every practice, after a light walking and jogging warmup.

  1. Squats
    |
    With the band around both legs just above the knee, begin with a bit of a stretch in the band which activates the hip flexors. Feet are hip width apart, and feet are in a symmetrical position, with toes pointed out about 5 degrees. Bend the knees and squat until your knees are bent 90 degrees. Make sure you are sitting back far enough that your knees do not move forward past your toes. Do 10-15 squats.

  2. Side-Walks
    With the band around both legs at the ankles, stand tall with glute muscles activated (clenched slightly), and step to the right 10 times. One leg extends straight out from the body, and then the other leg follows. While stepping, keep your upper body straight and not swinging side to side. Take 10 steps in one direction, and then 10 back in the other direction.
    |

  3. Clam Shells
    |
    Lying on the ground on one side, place the stretchy band around both legs just above the knees. With you body in a straight line, and leaning on your bent elbow for support, bend your knees 90 degrees. Your knees, hips and head should be in a straight line. In this position, open your knees by keeping one leg on the ground and pulling the band apart with the other, like a clam shell opening and closing. To add some difficulty, go into a side plank and do the same motion (below). Do 10-15 reps on each side.
    |

  4. Alphabets
    With the stretchy band around both ankles, stand straight and tall, and begin by pulling one foot back and at a 45 degree angle 10 times. Then while still standing on the opposite leg, spell out the alphabet with the other foot, keeping your leg straight at all times. Switch legs and do the routine again. The photo below shows the first part of the exercise - pulling the leg back ten times at a 45 degree angle. When drawing the alphabet, don't sweat your penmanship - the point is just to keep moving the hip in random directions for an extended amount of time.
    IMG_0330.JPG

  5. Bridges
    |
    Lying on your back with the stretchy band around both legs just above the knee, bend your knees 90 degrees and keep your feet flat on the ground. From this starting position, put a little stretch in the band and raise your hips up off the ground until you are in plank position. Keep your arms slightly raised off the floor, using your shoulders only for stability. Hold the position, with tension on the band, for 5 seconds. Return to the starting position and repeat 10-15 times. Add difficulty to this exercise by raising one leg at a time into a straight leg position with each rep.
    IMG_0337.JPG

  6. Lunges
    | |
    No stretchy band. Standing tall, reach one leg forward by lifting the knee up, stepping forward, and placing the foot down in front of your body, then dropping the other knee down until it touches the ground. Using the glute muscles, stand back up and repeat the stepping motion with the opposite leg. Do 10-15 of each leg, walking forward with each step.

  7. Planks
    IMG_0341.JPG
    Front plank: Beginning on a push up position, but with the elbows on the ground and hands forward and clasped, hold a plank position for 30 seconds (increase hold time as you get stronger).
    Side plank: Begin lying on one side, with bent elbow supporting upper body. Lift up into a plank position and hold for 30 seconds. Switch sides and repeat.
    IMG_0342.JPG

  8. Deadbugs
    IMG_0344.JPG
    Lying on your back, engage your core by pressing your lower back flat to the ground. It is important to have the core engaged during this exercise to prevent lower back injury. Raise one leg and hold it with the knee bent 90 degrees, with the shin parallel to the ground. The opposite hand is held by the side, and the same side hand is held straight out and above the head. Holding your head and all limbs off the ground, hold this position for a count of five, and then switch arms and legs, hold for a count of five, making one rep. Begin with 5 reps, and increase over time to 15, and/or hold the position longer.

  9. Pointers
    IMG_0345.JPG
    Starting on your hands and knees, slowly lift and straighten one arm and the opposite leg. Hold this position for 5 seconds, return to starting position, and repeat with the opposite arm and leg. Do 5 on each side. The challenge is to keep your hips steady and parallel with the ground during the entire motion. Balancing a long stick on the middle of your lower back will not only help you feel that your hips are steady but will also increase the overall difficulty of the exercise.
    IMG_0347.JPG

These are just a few possible exercises, but they will make a big difference. I recommend doing them at least three days per week, and I often work them into my warmup routine before a workout. Begin with one set of each exercise, and gradually add reps and then sets to increase the workload.

See my recent post titled Thoughts on the Run #1; A Run Report and the Things That Bounce Around My Head While Doing It within which I discuss stride length and how to check it and correct it.

Join my 5k Training Program for all runners. Follow the training plan, post your workouts, and get ongoing guidance from me for 12 weeks!

About Coach Craig:

IMG_0541(1).jpg

I am an avid running and coach. I have competed in every distance from 55 meters to iron distance triathlon, including a handful of marathons. As a masters athlete I focus on the 5K (masters pr of 19:40), 800 meters (2:12) and 400 meters (55.2), but I also run the Philadelphia Broad Street 10 miler every spring with my wife (1:16). I am not a fast distance runner, but partly because I am a sprinter at heart. I currently coach sprints at my local high school, and help my wife with her cross country team in the fall, as well as the winter track program at her school. I am also the vice president of Greater Philadelphia Track Club, the president of a youth track and field club that my wife and I started last summer, and hold a USA Track & Field level 1 certification. I have done extensive technique training and coaching, and attend two coaching conferences every year to keep up with the latest ideas. This summer I will be completing my USATF level 2 certification, most likely with a concentration in youth track and field.

Sort:  

This was REALLY useful! My stability on my left leg/knee has been a bit off - partially I think because I haven't stretched it well. Will need to try all your strengthening exercises ASAP too!

Glad to hear you liked the post. I also really recommend using a foam roller regularly, which I’m bad at myself. Although I’ve learned that sometimes really bad knee pain is just my quad tightening up and the roller takes care of in a couple of days. I will do a post on rolling in the next couple of weeks.

That'd be great! I'm really terrible about foam rolling too honestly. Definitely need to get into better pre and post run habits as a whole.

Wow! This post is exceptional!!!
Good work for both!

Thanks! It really helps to have a hot model :)

A very comprehensive post! I encourage all my athletes to get into a prehab habit. #FormThePrehabit

Love it. Prehabit. My track girls are gonna be rolling their eyes at that one all season :).

:-D I hope it gets at least a little laugh!

Somewhat related question to this...what's your take on running shoes? Are you more in line with the barefoot camp or are you more traditional minded? I'm very curious about barefoot running. I walk all the time and everywhere in very minimalist shoes. I've found it very comfortable and rarely do I wear anything different. And I have noticed how the difference in shoe does affect heel strike and form. Is it worth trying, is it hype? Is it bad science in your opinion? Is Tarahumara style the way to go? What is your opinion? I also tend to be more into trail running than running on pavement. Maybe should add that detail.

Great question. First and foremost, like with a lot of things in running and injury rehab/prevention, some things just don’t work for everyone. I personally love barefoot running, and I think there is good science supporting the idea that it’s the healthiest way to move. No need to be too technical about that — our bodies evolved just like every other creature, and they evolved to our current form long before shoes were invented. From there, our feet will have the right strength and flexibility to support walking and running if we use them properly. One problem with this is that you can’t just go from wearing shoes your whole life to not. Especially if the shoes you’ve been wearing have lots of support, or a raised heel. Shoes make our feet stupid — I’ve heard that is something that Chinese people say, but perhaps just in the Tai Chi world. I walk in very minimal shoes. Product plug — check out Xero shoes if your interested. They make a minimal canvas shoe that I love. I wear them to work, and I have also done intense hiking in them in places like the Grand Canyon. I like feeling the terrain. I also run in minimal shoes, but I have a weird relationship plantar fasciitis so I sometimes wear shoes with a little more cushion, but never a raised heel. That takes us into a slightly different topic. Regardless of whether someone likes to run barefoot or with minimal shoes, a raised heel changes your entire posture and center of mass, which in turn effects technique. Nike invented the raised heel running shoe because they thought heel striking was natural, and so more cushion on the heel would be good. But that just made it feel more comfortable to heel strike, and as I’m guessing you’ve read, likely led to more injuries. But again, you can’t just go from raised heel shoes to flat shoes overnight. By walking and running in raised heel shoes (trying to find men’s dress shoes without a heel is almost impossible) your Achilles’ tendon shortens, so making the switch can lead to pain and injury. BUT that said, when my plantar faciitis has flared up (I’ve learned it does so when I do big jobs on my house, up and down ladders all day, etc) the only remedy that has worked for me is hiking and running in my flat minimal shoes. Plantar fasciitis is really tricky by the way, and I’ve heard of about 20 different remedies and it seems like the trick is finding the one that works, so I’m not advocating minimal shoes as THE solution for anyone. Well, I hope that answers your question :)

Thank you. That's a good answer. And you said it so eloquently, too. ' Shoes make our feet stupid'. Haha. That's the first I've heard that. I think I've thought it before. Seems a pretty obvious conclusion if you disregard the past (50?) years of marketing.

Little history plug just for fun: (I'd love to see that exhibit.)
https://www.smithsonianmag.com/travel/running-shoes-date-back-to-the-1860s-and-other-revelations-from-the-brooklyn-museums-sneaker-show-180955967/

Yeah, I really started reading one day on this subject, and I guess, over time, I've gravitated towards more minimalist shoes. It's gotten to be all that I wear. Like when I go hiking, I've got to where I'll have on a very thin and flat rubber soled boot, or shoe, even sandal. I suppose I prefer anything that feels the closest to nothing on my feet. I've got a pair of Dr. Marten's boots I've all but worn out; the kind with the new lightweight rubber sole. It's almost a shoe-boot. The Chuck Taylor of boots. They're just heavenly to walk in. (Now my well-meaning mother, who had me shod in a rather expensive and specially fitted pair of uber-padded Brooks running shoes in my HS cross-country days, cringes every time I tell her all the miles I've trod in those shoes, but I'm totally sold on my more minimalist alternative. And, maybe worth noting, the best runner on my team did have a habit of running barefoot at practice; and I thought it was the quirkiest thing anyone could do at the time. But they also consistently won races and even took our guy's team to the state championship, which they won, twice. And now when I think back on it, they had the most fluid and graceful form of anyone, too.) So my go to hiking shoe/boot is either those or a pair of Palladiums. But now, I can even find the Palladium sole to be a bit much. Still, one thing I've noticed with this sort of shoe is that they've worn evenly, perfectly even, and they've formed into a shape that shows my feet are moving near their full range of motion. They're not stiff.

I think studies like this are what proves it:
http://journals.plos.org/plosone/article?id=10.1371/journal.pone.0131385

The difference in the feet of un-shod vs. shod runners is so telling.

I have a partner who's lucky enough to naturally have the un-shod type of feet. And one interesting fact is that he lived his childhood pretty free-rage and barefoot; and as an adult has walked nearly everyday, and often barefoot then as well. Now, I know, it sounds like I'm betrothed to a caveman. It's possible that I am. But, it's also possible those cavemen were onto something with that whole "no-shoe" business.

But yeah, I get your view. It's something you work up to doing. And, I think I've heard it said by few a different people now that once you've mastered proper form, it's not so much the shoe that makes the difference. It's more that you're running properly, and if you've always got a fat pad of rubber under your heel, you're never going to feel the ground enough to figure the proper mechanics of that out.

I guess what I'm trying to say is I already knew the answer. The answer seems common sense obvious. But I was curious of your opinion. And I do appreciate you telling me. I think this is becoming more mainstream knowledge nowadays, thankfully. Good marketing sure is a hell of a beast to contend with, though. I mean would you have believed twenty years ago they'd have us buying bottled water someday? It's madness, I say. Madness. :P

Run often. Run long. But never outrun your joy of running.
-Julie Isphording

Resteemed by @runningproject

Kind reminder:

Remember to vote your Running Author of the week!

You got a 7.93% upvote as a Recovery Shot from @isotonic, currently working as a funding tool, courtesy of @cstrimel!

  • Image from pngtree.com

@isotonic is the Bid Bot of the @runningproject community.
Earnings obtained by this bot, after paying to the delegators, are fully used to increase the SP of the @runningproject from which all affiliated members are benefited.
Check @runningproject posts in order to know further about.

You got a 1.44% upvote from @upmyvote courtesy of @cstrimel!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by cstrim from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You got a 0.79% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @cstrimel!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Thank you for this! I so miss running the way I used to. I had a surprise (what other kind is there?) knee injury a few years back, and I've not been the same since. This is very helpful and encouraging for someone very slowly trying to get back to all they once were capable of.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63365.67
ETH 3398.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44