Running Project 5k Training Programme: Week 1 Results

in #runningproject6 years ago (edited)

The #runningproject is a 12 week 0 to 5k training programme with a bonus 4 week preparation period, designed for beginners and experienced runners. Led by Coach Craig (@cstrimel) guiding and inspiring with a weekly post (week one), you can post your results and queries in the comments each week. This post is a summary of my first week's results.

The beginner's plan:

Monday - rest day.
Tuesday - walk for 20 minutes, after at least 10 minutes, feel free to jog for any portion; plyometric exercises.
Wednesday - walk or rest.
Thursday - walk for 25 minutes, after at least 10 minutes, feel free to jog for any portion; plyometric exercises.
Friday - walk or rest.
Saturday - walk for 20-25 minutes, after at least 10 minutes, feel free to jog for any portion; plyometric exercises.
Sunday - walk for 25-30 minutes, after at least 10 minutes, feel free to jog for any portion.

How it went:

I'm recovering from an infection, and checking in with my GP, I was advised to wait a week or two longer before starting the programme. I thought I would still try to develop a routine.
Monday - brisk local walk for 55-60 minutes; pulled together my kit - shoes, stretchy bands.
Tuesday - working in London for the day, so plenty of walking just going about my business:
walkway-at-St-Pancras-International
supplemented by 35 minute brisk walk from my office to the rail station at the end of the day.
Wednesday - brisk local walk for 55-60 minutes round the Botanic Gardens, checking the paths as future potential routes:
Leicester-botanic-garden
Thursday - working in London, general walking plus 35 minute brisk walk to the station.
Friday - rest day
Saturday - 60 minutes brisk local walk.
Sunday - rest day.

I was tired on Friday, but really enjoyed going out again on Saturday.
It was very cold here, but beautifully sunny.
Next week, I'm going to stay with the walking, but build in the plyometric sessions.

I have never run further than for the bus, which I am always really pleased to be able to do (and still be able to ask for my fare with a degree of decorum). I'd love simply to start running and enjoying the benefits.

The #runningproject is open to others to join - see the first post.

Sort:  

Dear @shanibeer with this post you have been qualified to be an “Approved” Runner of @runningproject.
Now is your turn, transfer 1SBD or 1 STEEM as “Enrollment” Fee to @runningproject in order to enter in our “curation” list.

Resteemed by @runningproject

Thank you, I am delighted! 1SBD transferred.

Enrolled as an ‘’Approved’’ Runner.
@runningproject quote

I'm glad you joined @runningproject .
Keep on running!

Thsnk you, I'm looking forward to it. Amazing array of resources and community support.

Hi @shanibeer. So glad to see you’re following the training plan! I almost missed your post so make sure you drop a link in the weekly @runningproject post so I know to read about your progress. It sounds like you’re off to a great start. I really believe that walking is the way to go for a total beginner, and honestly, even experienced runners would probably benefit from it now and then. Definitely get the plyos in. No need to go crazy. A little work will go a long way. When your doc gives you the go ahead I would just start to jog a bit when you feel like it on the walks. Go by feel. No need to push in the beginning if you feel fatigued quickly. One thing I like to do when I am just getting back at it is walk for a bit and then just ever so slightly start to pick up my heels to go into a slow jog. If you tell yourself to use as little energy as possible, you might feel relatively quickly that jogging uses no more energy than brisk walking. Let me know if you have any questions at all. Cheers!

Hi @cstrimel thanks for the feedback - especially the advice to aim for using as little energy as possible, I think sometimes when we are new (at anything) we tend to put more into it than we need to. I put a comment and link here - was this the right place, or should I put it somewhere else? Many thanks, look forward to working with you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64854.61
ETH 3478.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52