[MARATHON BLOG 21] Fore Foot Strike/Back Car Strike

in #running7 years ago

IMG_4181.JPG


I went out tonight for a short run to practice changing my stride. I am gradually incorporating a fore foot strike into my stride and technique. It's not easy.


Basically, the fore foot strike involves striking the ground first with the front part of your foot, instead of rolling through from the heel.

You can see it in action here:



My muscles are feeling it now. I may not be able to run the whole marathon in this fashion, but I am set on transitioning as much as possible before the race.


IMG_4182.JPG

In other news, a car failed to stop at the crosswalk tonight as I was running through. I was pretty sure they saw me, so as I swerved around them I gave two very solid thuds with the palm of my hand on their car.

This is called the "back car strike." This technique is much simpler than the "fore foot strike" but should likely be practiced sparingly... ;)

No playlist tonight! No headphones! Working on technique!


(Thanks for stopping by. If you missed the last installment of MARATHON BLOG, number 20, you can find it HERE. If you want to know why I am keeping this blog, and the inspiration for starting such a record on the blockchain, you can find the first MARATHON BLOG post HERE.)

~KafkA

IMG_6356.jpg


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

You are an inovator,dynamic,optimistic,energetic ,keep it up friend.You have to stay strong for us, you know a good friend is much better than a good medicine. So please stay safe and sound .

I sometimes practice the old one handed 'back car strike' technique myself when out on my bike.

Nice post kafkanarchy84, i never hear about fore foot strike but today after watching your post i able to learn that technique too, i try it a little i think it is awesome but the problem is that it puts so much pressure on ankles and muscles so we have to adopt that technique very carefully, i think if i give daily 5 minutes to do fore foot strike i should able to adopt that soon. i hope with this strategy you able to complete your marathon sucessfully, thanks for sharing

Yes, it was very hard on my legs/muscles. Sore this morning. I felt a little discouraged at first, because it felt so unnatural. They say you should start small, like you say, and gradually incorporate it into your stride.

Thanks as always for the thoughtful comment.

Doing great job friend! Through exercise we can get not only a fit body but also it keeps us energetic for whole day.. May be you gain your energetic and spirited mind through exercise, right? Thanks for give us to know how you have performed your exercise to develop good health...

I enjoy reading your running posts here. I blog elsewhere, but I might have to start putting them here as well. There don't seem to be a ton of runners on Steemit.

Thanks, I'm kind of a brand new runner myself, but yeah, I'd enjoy seeing more content from runners, too!

For the post I had read philosophical and thinking issues, I had never imagined that you were an athlete. I'm glad I was wrong. I, according to my knees, I almost do not run. So I'm left with the bike that has less impact on the joints. I see that touching cars when we do sports is universal. LOL.

I see that touching cars when we do sports is universal. LOL.

LOL. I'm glad.

Your posts are very impressive..but friend I just want to know whether you are talking genuinely about marathon or something abstract...

Welcome..and we will be learning too..through you..have a nice day friend ..

Fit body means sound mind....

I have played rugby for years, and the forefoot strike is the technique used by the fastest players, and is the most effective for sprint work. Interested to see how this works for endurance running!

Me, too. It's not the full "toe strike" of sprinters, but it feels like it may just as well be, for me, at this point!

That's interesting that rugby dudes use it, too.

good luck to your run. It's a good thing you like to post some running techniques here. my husband and I like to run as well. we finished our first marathon like 2 weeks ago and until now I haven't done any recovery run yet, hopefully this weekend. Good luck to you!

Really? Congrats! That is awesome!

Thanks, I'm gonna head out tomorrow for a long run if I can.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66917.83
ETH 3499.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89