Don't Hate the Treadmill - It's a Valuable Tool When Used Correctly (#runforsteem post)

in #running6 years ago (edited)

If you are a runner who hates the treadmill, it could be that you just aren't using it the right way. The treadmill, aka dreadmill, was likely invented as a way to slog off miles at a steady pace, but this is truly the way to hate every second of it.

Stretcher.jpg
Image Source: Wikimedia Commons

Here are two uses of a treadmill that every serious runner should consider:

  1. Brain train a new goal pace
  2. Develop speed with intervals

Notice that both of those uses are related to speed development, and that is probably the total opposite of just doing a long run.

Brain Train a New Goal Pace

If you are currently running 5k's at, say 21:00, and you would like to break 20:00, it means you have to get from a 4:12 per kilometer pace down to 4:00. Trying to do that in tempo runs is one form of torture that has been proven to be effective, but a less self-flagellating method is to do shorter intervals on a track, with short rests. For example, I might do 6-8 by 400 meters with a 3:00 rest and do the reps at 1:35, slightly faster than the goal race pace. Although this is an effective approach, while doing such reps on a track you might be starting out faster and ending slower, or vice-versa. The end result might be the conditioning needed to run the goal pace, but the treadmill adds a super effective element -- constant pace. When you do the same 400 repeat workout on the treadmill, you force yourself to run the pace for the entire length of the interval. I believe that brain training is just as important as the physiological effect of training, and although I have no proof of this, I always feel like my treadmill work supports the brain side more effectively. Just think about the idea that we need to develop new brain synapses to make a physical activity part of our subconscious movement, and the steady state pacing just makes sense.

Develop Speed With Intervals

Again, you can do all sorts of speed work on the track, but sometimes it just isn't feasible. Weather, trying to cram a workout into a busy schedule, multi-tasking, can all force us onto the mill. But there is so much opportunity to interesting variations that can have a huge training effect while adding variety to your weekly routine. Some of my favorite workouts are:

  • 6x400 at slightly faster than goal 5k pace with 400 meter jog rest
  • 3x2x400, with the first rep in each set being at something like 1:30, and the second then ten seconds faster. 400 meter jog rest between sets, then a 400 walk/jog rest between sets.
  • 10 heavy dumbbell squats, 10 high knee hops, 10 depth jumps, then jump on the mill and jog 100m/sprint 300 meters. 5 minute rest and repeat 3-4 times. This workout will leave you pumped, trust me.

And, here's one I came up with yesterday and is my submission for #runforsteem:

  • Warmup of 15 minutes brisk walking with gradual increase in incline from 1-15 (1 up per minute)
  • 2x3x300, with 100 meter jog between reps and 400 meter jog between sets

IMG_0425.PNG

If you have any cool workouts for the treadmill please share them in the comments!

Join #runforsteem and make money for working out! Click on @jumowa's post Weekly Run For Steem Challenge to get all the rules.

Join @runningproject, and consider joining the 5k Training Program that I coach!

Join The Running Project discord channel

Sort:  

Great post! I've been looking for ways to speed up - both for some future planned races and for basketball. This was a great compilation of tips and ideas to kick me off. I'm also looking to try out a week or two of Aaptiv + Treadmill to see if it's as magical as people have made it out to be

Interesting. I hadn’t heard of Aaptiv but it looks promising. Maybe you could post about it for us. Is it expensive? I honestly just banged this out kind of quickly, so if you ever want some more ideas just let me know. I really attribute my success in master’s track to lots and lots of treadmill workouts when my kids were little and my wife and I would go to the gym just to take them to the day care! I really recommend the circuit example, and if you have access to Free weights you should try it with deadlifts. Low rep/near max deadlifts and then a sprint has an amazing effect.

It's a bit pricey at $10/month or $49/year so I've been a bit hesitant to pull the trigger, but I like the idea of an audio coach in my ear (mostly barking at me).

Haha can't argue with that! Nothing like a little motivation to get away to keep you distracted/in the zone on the treadmill.

Will try the circuit example and Aaptiv and post about it!

Hey Coach,
I completely agree. A lot of people hate it and I used to as well. It is the perfect way to count speed, distance, time without any external factors messing up your training session. Its also awesome when rain/snow/heat interfere with training as well.
Keep up the great work.
Regards @run.vince.run

I just posted about HIIT - high intensity interval training - I guess great minds think alike! The treadmill is a great way too get your HIIT on 😀💪🏻!

Amazing post dude. Resteemed.

Forgot to add the discord invite! editing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53554.32
ETH 2224.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29