A myconid head, inspired by @basilmarples

in #rpg6 years ago

I love being inspired by my interactions here on steemit. This post is about such a interaction
myconidtitle.png

After one of my recent posts @basilmarples reached out in the comment section He mentioned his interest in Myconids (for those of you who dont do rpgs its a fungoid race).
I immediately thought it would be fun to do such a figurine and so I decided to do some sketches. It quickly turned into 3d sketching and so I ended up doing this Head. 3D makes everything look very finished but it is still just a preliminary sketch. If time allows I will do many more, both drawings and sculpts before I decide which one should become a finished figure.
here is a video showing the sculpting process :


I relase the stl file under the creative commons attributions license ccby 4.0

go grab it here


Im EvilHippie, a compulsive creative and jack o' trades. If you want to know more about me, check out my introduction post here

If you like what you see, feel free to upvote, follow and resteem
or you can check out these recent posts

spring
Chalices
Miniature 3
Miniature 2
Miniature 1
Rome part II
Rome part 1

Sort:  

Duuuuude! That is SOO great! It was awesome watching you work, thats made me want to try that program out! Glad I inspired you :D :D If you need any further inspiration, one of the kids in my roleplaying club plays as a Myconid barbarian (they're rarely used as heroes I think, so its almost impossible to find a myconid figurine who looks equipt for adventure). I don't blame you if you'd rather not go down that route though, its unlikely to be a popular figurine choice! haha

Off-topic question: can you cast iron or steel in such a way that the result isn't too brittle and can take some mechanical abuse? I need some trimmings for my Ivy Staff, especially a strong cap at the bottom end. Plastic just won't do for such a staff.

off-topic - but interesting. Well if you are asking if I can, then the answer is no. Not iron or steel, I could possible forge or machine iron/steel into a shape that can be used for trimmings, though fine details wont be possible as with a casting. Other people could definitely cast iron or steel and it can sustain a fair amount of wear and tear. for an endcap I would just use a piece of pipe though, if you want decorations on it you can engrave those.
Bronze on the other hand can be used. Bronze is fairly easy to cast and can take a fair amount of abuse. Ship propulsors are often made from bronze, and they used to make weapons and armour from it, and it wont rust. It has a different colour though, and if patinated black, the golden colour will still shine through when it get worn.
It all depends on what you want. It is definitely do-able in some form or other.

Thanks! Bronze sounds like a good idea, more in keeping with the look of the staff as well. It may clash a bit with the other silver trimmings I have planned, but worth considering.

Hello How r u Pls Vote me and follow me pls

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86