Real Life sculpts for miniature casting

in #art6 years ago

I have enjoyed following @vermillionfox 's sculpture posts recently, and wanted to show you all , some of my real life sculpts. Before you read on , go and check her posts, you will find the latest one here . Maybe you will get as inspired by it as I was.
mastertitle.jpg
It has been quite a while since I have sculpted anything by hand. The fact that I am busy with my day job and my design company, as well as the knife and swordmaking, has meant that i do most of my sculpting digitally these days and print the results, using one of my 3d-printers.

master01.jpg
Most of these are made around 15 years ago when I was still working as a goldsmith. I played a lot of Games workshop games back then and these miniatures are all made for GW games.
First up is a few heads from Inquisitor models. GW made a game called inquisitor that never really took of , but the miniatures where larger than their other , heroic scale , games, and so it was a nice opportunity to make something a little bigger (the miniatures was app. 7 cm high) from left to right they are - a guardsman with gas-mask, a space marine, a sister of battle (whose hair and lower lip has unfortunately fallen off during mold-making) and a daemon-host.
master02.jpg
These next ones are spaceorks for Warhammer 40k again only the heads. they are sculpted in milliput, a really great self curing two-part epoxy clay. It is great for fine detail work and gets hard and durable enough that you can make silicone molds for pewter casting directly from them. it is supposedly nontoxic but i always wear rubber gloves - it is an epoxy and epoxies are notorious for being allergenic.
master03.jpg
the last one is made in greenstuff which is also a self curing 2 part epoxy. it doesn't get as hard as milliput and retains a little bit of flexibility which is nice for durability when used as a means to modify existing miniatures , but also means that it doesn't take sanding as well and sharp edges are harder to get,it is a living ancestor for what was then called Squats. GW decided to discontinue their version of the dwarf archetype in 40K , but for many years there was frequent rumors that they would return. They never did, to my great frustration, but I still have quite a collection of these little fellas. By the way this guy is app. 1.5 cm high, to fit the scale of a seated dwarf in Warhammer 40k
master04.jpg
I will make more posts about some of my sculpts. as you can see here there are more than enough material to choose from. I just need to find the time to get it photographed, and hopefully also show you some of my finished cast and painted models.


Im EvilHippie, a compulsive creative and jack o' trades. If you want to know more about me, check out my introduction post here

If you like what you see, feel free to upvote, follow and resteem
or you can check out these recent posts

Rome part II
Rome part 1
goose sculpt
arrowhead
goddess of the sea

Sort:  

Wow, these are really nice sculpts, man. When I was younger I used to draw, paint and carve from cartons and leather. I thought I'd done it all but the only thing I didn't try was sculpting. Seems really advanced.

I'm looking forward to seeing more of your sculpts, especially bigger ones. Like Michael Angelo's David 😀

@nevies

thanks. hm I think i need a bigger desk then :-)

I’m so happy that you felt inspired to share these after seeing my sculptures. I fully understand the pros of sculpting digitally and then using a 3D printer but there is a charm in the imperfections of something hand made. These are fantastic!

Thanks a lot. I totally agree. Nothing beats the feel of handmade stuff, in my jewelry designs, when they are digitally based, I actually do a final iteration of hand finishing.
First digital sculpting and printing, then mold making and casting in wax and finally going over everything in wax, by hand.

Always surprising with all your talents @evilhippie

Wow! fabulous. great post

wow!!! i jast wow...nice post....thanks for sharing your post. upvote and resteem done....

Great! these are beautiful. i have a lot of interest in sculps

Beautiful post. Its really awesome. Thank you so much for sharing with us. Upvote and Resteem done sir.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63802.69
ETH 3413.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55