My Memories of the Mean Streak Roller Coaster at Cedar Point

in #rollercoaster6 years ago (edited)


Image Source

I came across a very nostalgic post by @prlndra that brought back a flood of memories. https://steemit.com/challange/@prlndra/steel-vengeance-cedar-point-2018-1-of

Rebuilding the Mean Streak

He's describing the conversion of the "Mean Streak" into a new roller coaster called "Steel Vengeance". I didn't know anything about that until I read the post.


Image Source

Memories

I remember riding the Mean Streak in the '90s when it was new. The ride was so jarring and shaky that I felt strange the rest of the day after riding it. I do not remember it being a fun coaster at all. My body was shook up so much I couldn't enjoy the coaster.


Image Source

Years later when I came back to the park, the Mean Streak was not so mean anymore. They removed all the "bumps" and the result was a much smoother ride. I enjoyed it a lot more, it became my second favorite coaster in the park at the time.


Image Source

The next time I rode the Mean Streak, they installed breaks at the bottom of some of the hills. It was disappointing. By then there were a lot of new coasters and the Mean Streak was not even close to the top of the list.


Image Source

Every time after that, the Mean Streak was under some sort of repair or construction. I haven't been back to Cedar Point in years and I wasn't surprised to hear the Mean Streak was closing. But people were wondering why all the wood beams were still in place. Hmmm...

The Steel Vengeance

This is my first time hearing about "Steel Vengeance". It looks amazing. I hope they learned a lot from the Mean Streak about what makes for a good wooden roller coaster. Being steel, I'm sure it will be a smooth ride. It's 50' higher and 10 MPH faster than the Mean Streak, but it's 45 seconds shorter. I'm sure it will be a hit.


Image Sources

@ironshield


Benjamin Turner: God fearer. Rooted in Messiah. Husband of @lturner. Father of four wonderful children. The guy behind the camera. Steemit enthusiast.

Bless the Most High!

Have you been introduced to Menē yet?

Menē (Meen-nay) is a 24K gold and platinum investment jewelry company, where investors can trade their crypto-currencies for certified gold and platinum items. Preserve your wealth in precious metals and begin your Menē collection today.

Receive a $5.00 Gift Certificate using the link below:
https://mene.com/invite/YHDw

ALL PHOTOS ORIGINAL TO THE AUTHOR UNLESS OTHERWISE SPECIFIED.

Sort:  

OMGosh!!
YES I remember this! The Mean (Blue) Streak, the Demon Drop (right at the park's entrance), the Corkscrew... Oh such find memories! Or the Mill Race- BEST water ride they had back in the day!

Use to love the Turnpike Cars too... when I was young... and it felt s if I were really driving a car!

I actually enjoyed the Blue Streak more, it was fast and smooth and the line wasn't that long! @ironshield

First time I went to the park many years ago the Demon Drop was still there, so was the Mill Race but I never got to ride it.

Now demon drop was relocated to another Cedar Fair park and Mill Race was replaced with Maverick. Cedar Point is going through some crazy changes but its awesome to watch!

The Demon Drop was terrifying. Scariest ride back in the day.

Rode it once and I was terrified. Now I laugh my way through roller coasters XD

We had a wooden coaster here in Tulsa called Zingo. IT was here 50+ years, and was a good ride. The city decided to get ride of it because it was not quiet enough. The people complaining about the noise moved into that neighborhood, knowing there was a coaster there!

The city finally decided they were Not making enough income from the Lease, and ran them off! Now it is a parking lot used once a year during the fair...BIG improvement, NOT!

The only plus, is that the Bells family that owns it, took it down and stored it. They are looking for a new location! :)

I hope the Bells family builds that coaster again, it may get a new appreciation. Great story, thank you for sharing!

They have some of the small rides set up west of town, but Zingo is way too bug to set up there! Well, I will take a wait and see, but I hope they get it set up again!
:)

Always sad to see a piece of history disappear, good or bad. Especially if its replaced by something worthless. I found Steel Vengeance to be an acceptable sequel to mean streak so it doesn't make me too sad to see a classic woodie like that go.

I'm glad to see the Mean Streak revamped and improved. If they got rid of all that wood, a very iconic coaster would be missing from the point.

It definitely still leaves a mark on their skyline.

I am hopeful that Zingo will go up again. They were VERY careful taking it down, and labeled everything to go back up. Lots of video, and still pictures, with heavy measurements on the foundation. I would buy 80 acres out in the country by a small town.

The small town can include a paragraph in the surrounding land that they know and accept the local coaster noise. :) So I am hopeful!

Man you tell me we got a coaster going up in the area I'd be happy as can be about that!

Well, Bells is still looking for a good place, but they were careful bringing it down; and they say they intend to re-assemble it! Easy to stay close, yet dump Tulsa county! I would look at Inola, Owasso, Claremore, and Mannford. Still close enough to draw a crowd... :)

First off just wanted to confirm @checky my uname is @prlndra, its a common mistake so no hard feelings.

I love hearing peoples memories of mean streak, and if you get a chance to try Steel Vengance you will be blown away. It's a night and day diffrence and it's better every time I ride it. I bought a season pass this summer because of it more or less!

Maybe we'll go back to CP, this time with my family. At least some of my children may ride roller coasters someday. I wonder what CP will look like in 2028?

In a decade? Who knows. They are working on converting it more to a resorte destination like it was in years past. 2020 they celebreate their 150th anniveriary.

This coaster is 2 minutes too long for me! I don't do coasters!

I didn't ride the original. Yikes. I've liked some roller coasters but most are just too much. What is the real fun in being that terrified????

Nice story.

I love coasters, and plan to design some amazing ones in the New Heavens and New Earth. I hope you'll show up and ride them. ;)

😄😇😄

@creatr

Now that would be awesome! Thanks for stopping by and checking out my post! @ironshield

ha! howdy sir ironshield! great photos even though I hate roller coasters! lol!

Glad you enjoyed it!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ironshield from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @ironshield! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54819.76
ETH 2295.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31