A Role Model Steemian - Finding Myself as a Leader

in #rolemodel7 years ago
Since joining Steemit I've stumbled around like every other Steemian trying to find myself. Finding my moral compass in the "Wild West" of social platforms if you will. I've grown along the way from upvoting my own posts on a consistent basis, to none at all, and finally, to the point of an occasional self-vote for comments I want a little more exposure on and posts I think are worthy. The same with bot votes. I'm still not sure where I stand officially on either topic but know they both helped give me a motivational boost to keep Steeming and get to where I'm at today.


Source

SteemUSA

This was a community in the making ever since @sirknight developed #steemwars and #teamaustralia declared war on the world. This event was fun, exciting, and helped get my posts some exposure as a minnow just starting out. It's also where I first heard of @bearone as she was making the footers for all the countries at the time. It was in @thealliance server that she encouraged us (myself and @topkpop) to get #steemusa going again.

bearone.png

@bearone

With her guidance we began brainstorming, decided on and invited @dswigle and @tattoodjay to be founding leaders, came up with an SP giveaway contest, and kicked off the community. We've grown to almost 100 members and after a small break for the holidays are once again setting up contests and encouraging interaction with the community. This week I created a room for a member to recommend undervalued post in which I go upvote to the best of my ability. I'm planning and setting up a surprise event for the week of the 29th that will be much like #steemwars, but for the USA community to encourage even more interaction and encouragement within the community.

#TheAlliance

I don't know if I ever told her, but I'm pretty sure after following @bearone from the Steemwars seeing her alliance footers is what encouraged me to join #thealliance. A limited group of 100 members who created great content and interacted/upvoted each other sounded like an amazing and incredible opportunity for a minnow like myself trying to find my way in this vast ocean. I was accepted shortly after I applied and incredibly excited about this new opportunity (little did I know this would lead me to help start @steemusa) and exciting opportunity.


Source

If I remember correctly it was by sheer chance I was hanging Christmas lights one night and remembered the weekly call was taking place. They were talking about ways to help the #thealliance name out in the community more and someone mentioned making a post highlighting other great posts in the alliance. After a month or so of experimenting with this idea, me getting sick, and then the holidays Buried Treasures was born. A Monday - Friday (try to make 5 a week at least) post in which I look through posts of @thealliance and @syndicates to highlight that are quality and undervalued (my goal is < $1).

@OCD

I mention these two communities first because with their support and the support of the few loyal followers I had allowed me to be selected as an OCD curator. During my time as an OCD curator, I've been able to pay it forward like I never was able to before. People who I've been following for months and creating great undervalued content, I've been able to nominate and help them stay encouraged with posting to Steemit.


Source

Other Communities and SP Delegation

I'm a member of the #steemsilvergold community and have 50 Steem Power delegated to @silvergoldbotty. I try and support members of the community by commenting and upvoting posts as well as contributing posts when I can. I also have 150 SP delegated to @stsl which is an account that runs contest with upvotes as rewards and upvotes certain posts that meet a criteria that are members of @thealliance. I have some SP invested in @jerrybanfield's @budget initiative to support community projects and some in @randowhale for some passive income.


Source

Upvoting/Recruiting

I try and upvote as much as possible. With more SP I'll be able to stretch my vote out and make it last longer to support more people here on Steemit. I now have 4 real life friends that I have recruited to Steemit and am doing my best to help get them onboard, explain how everything works, and upvote their posts as well. I also have a private Facebook group in which I help people new to crypto figure everything out (since most just bought BTC, LTC, or ETH and have no idea what to do now). I've mentioned Steemit a few times in there and hoping to get a few more recruits on here from that group. A lot of people want more crypto, but don't have the fiat to invest. I've found Steemit to be an amazing tool for me first hand to grow my crypto without the need for fiat investment.


Source

TLDR - A Role Model is a . . . and How I Fit

  1. Leader - I'm a leader in STEEMUSA, my crypto Facebook
    group
    , and the @steemchurch.
  2. Mentor - I participate in @Gmuxx's #ians initiative and my second post should be released today, mentoring 4 friends, and am planning on making an adopt a minnow post to pick up another new Steemian to support.
  3. Takes Initiative - Volunteered to take over a post to highlight undervalued Alliance posts called Buried Treasures as well as starting #statewars the week of January 29th.
  4. Involvement - I get involved wherever I can to help improve the community such as #steemsilvergold, #thealliance, and #ocd
  5. Investment - At least 80-90% of the earnings I make on the platform are powered up (use some to diversify into other cryptos I want to support and believe in).
  6. Education - I try my best to daily educate myself on Steemit and other cryptocurrencies and share that knowledge with others through posts, comments, and upvotes.


Source

Ok, ok enough talking about myself. I'm sure I've forgotten something and will update this when it comes to me. If you have any questions let me know down below. If you made it all the way to the end start your comment with a 1 ;)
Sort:  

1! Hey man you've been doing some great stuff for sure, I love it how once were a bit established we're able to give back a bit more.
Your list reads like mine and I always find myself wondering how we find enough time to do it all!

Coming from someone I look up to as a leader/mentor here on Steemit I really appreciate the comment. Thanks for reading the entire post (or at least skipping to the end) ;).

I remember when 100% upvotes were worth $.01 for me with no slider. Now I can share upvotes like that only using 4-5% of a vote. It awesome how I'm able to reward people more monetarily and more by handing out more $.01+ votes.

1 Always nice hearing the backstory into how things came into existence. Are there any other posts that discuss the backstory of SteemUSA?

Haha what do you want to know. I mean that's pretty much the entire story. I don't know how they picked USA leaders for steemwars as I joined partway through. Plus back then it was called teamusa. @sircork may have been around for that, but not sure. Thanks for reading the whole post :D

Just wanted to make sure there was nothing else. History of the place you joined is always important to know. :)

1 thing that I am really impressed with in how far you have been able to spread your influence.
You really have done the most that you possible can to others on the platform and y doing so are helping the platform succeed!
I have also just learned of steem reports and have been having some fun checking out some of my stats.

Darryl (@dadview) resides in Canada. He is an active member of The Alliance and teamcanada
Check out my Latest Blog

Haha just starting to spread my influence (or at least that is my hopes). Thanks for the comment and headed over to check your "latest blog" now.

We have quite a lot of communities in common :D Way to go @gniksivart, you're doing an awesome job and more power to you...

Thanks for the support and yeah I've noticed the same thing.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by GnikSivart from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56792.41
ETH 2444.34
BNB 487.19
SBD 2.39