Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Invisible Bands

in #rockhound6 years ago

Hello Steemians! The other day I was able to go out rockhounding and didn't find much. That didn't stop me but I was also very tired. Shortly after I started, it began to rain and I didn't have anything to cover up my camera with but my hat so I had to get out of there. I was able to find a few but nothing very big. Still, it was nice to get out there! All the ice is melted and gone and I am looking forward to the warmth of summer. It's been hard getting out because the weather keeps fluctuating (I'm talking 30-40 degree differences) so it makes me not want to go outside yet. This is typical as summer approaches and I am absolutely sick of winter and the cold winds.


While this one is still small, it was completely unexpected but it goes hand in hand with what I've been saying. At first glance it totally looks like a quartz but once you investigate further it's definitely an agate. Hidden bands on the flat side, I was happy to find this one. I'd say it was the best one I found that day, but it's also a very popular spot for rockhounds and I did come late in the day as well as days after the last windstorm.

Lights Off

DSC_0069scaled.JPG
You can click on the images to view full screen!!
DSC_0082scaled.JPG

Through the 60mm Macro Lens

DSC_0096crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0098crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0106crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0111crop.JPG

No Shine

When I walked up on this one I wasn't even sure if it was going to be an agate. At best I figured I was taking a picture of a nice looking quartz, but then I flipped it over! It was a sure thing!

DSC_0119outsidescaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0121outsidescaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
outsidescaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0114scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0118scaled.JPG

Through the 60mm Macro Lens

DSC_0119crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0138crop.JPG

Shine

The orange detail on this one reminds me of the spotted agate I shared a few months back but this one has a bunch of crosses instead of spots. There was also a very small hidden bullseye hidden on this rock and I didn't notice it until I added the oil! Check it out below!

DSC_0150scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0154scaled.JPG

Through the 60mm Macro Lens

DSC_0157crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0166crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0168crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0177crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0179crop.JPG

How Big is it?

DSC_0146scaled.JPG
Precious Metal to go with Precious Rock! Nothing too fancy, just a copper penny!

Flashlight SettingsISO 100 35 mm f/4.5 1/100 sec
Settings both Lights Off & OnISO 800 55 mm f/5.6 1/50 sec
CameraNikon D3400 24 MP
LensAF-P DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
LensAF-S Micro NIKKOR 60mm 1:2.8 G ED
LocationSuperior, WI

Fun Fact: I took a total of 81 pictures of this rock bring you the best quality! It takes me about 45 minutes to take the pictures, another 45 minutes to pick the best ones and re-scale them, plus another 20-30 minutes to make the post!

Certainly saving a lot of time with auto focus. It's nice not having to take so many pictures because then I have to go through them. I kind of hurried through this one but I think the results were pretty good! I hope you enjoyed!

More cloudy days means a hidden moon. It'll show face again soon!

Thanks for stopping by! God Bless!

@bitfiend

Previous Rock Posts

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Artistic Quartz or an Agate?
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Too Thick To Glow

Older than 7 days

good for viewing, not for voting!
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Dark Agate
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Big Agate
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Awesome Bullseye

April

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - April Rocks

March

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - March Rocks

February

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - February Rocks

January and Beyond

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - January Rocks [and 2017]

When I joined Steemit I made the decision to always Power-Up my earnings. For now, payouts are set to 50/50 but you bet I will convert & Power Up! Besides internal transfers, I have never cashed out and don't plan on it! Power-Up only!

Sort:  

Hola muy buen post, esa piedra me encanta " El agata" hay de varios colores, pero ese en particular me gusta, y ese proceso de pulirla es efectivo. saludos @wendyth16

Gracias, utilicé aceite de cocina para obtener el aspecto pulido y luego lavé la piedra cuando terminé de tomar fotos. Bienvenida a steemit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57529.75
ETH 2571.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44