Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Dark Agate

in #photography6 years ago

Are you a #rockhound? Share your finds using the tag! I manually curate as I can. I've also decided to resteem worthy articles that are shared in the #rockhound tag. I haven't gone agate hunting in a few days now and have not been able to because I've been staying up so late that I end up just staying awake. There is so much that I want to accomplish in a day and not enough time! I've also been trying to share the rest of my snow pictures but summer is just around the corner already so it's probably time to hang that up. I'll have to go out and take some pictures soon.


Found this one rolling around on the shores of lake superior. I think that the red agates are the more common ones as I don't always find dark agates, but when I do, I'm certainly happy about it. Just like a dark agate I shared last month, this one shows off the bands very well when it glows.

Lights Off

DSC_0088scaled.JPG
You can click on the images to view full screen!!
DSC_0101scaled.JPG
You can click on the images to view full screen!!
DSC_0107scaled.JPG
You can click on the images to view full screen!!

Through the 60mm Macro Lens

Moving forward I will no longer be using the Jewelers Loupe. I've come to realize that with cropping, I can show you a better picture with the macro lens and you still get to see what I see with the jewelers loupe. Better quality, and now I don't have to fight with the focus issues I had with the loupe.

DSC_0127crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0128crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0149crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0154crop.JPG

No Shine

I could say that this agate has a good natural polish to it. It wouldn't take much to shine it up! I am not sure when I found this one, so I don't have a "when I found it" picture. It's been quite the task staying organized when it comes to rocks.

DSC_0161scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0163scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0170scaled.JPG

Through the 60mm Macro Lens

DSC_0173crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0174crop.JPG

Shine

When I add oil to these agates, the detail always pops out at me like some kind of 3D effect. You literally get lost in the bands and it's like you can see the depth of the bands. The best way I can describe it is when you observe the inside of a marble.

DSC_0184scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0186scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0191scaled.JPG

Through the 60mm Macro Lens

DSC_0196crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0199crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0212crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0212crop2.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0221crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0224crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0224crop2.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0228crop.JPG

How Big is it?

DSC_0177scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!

Flashlight SettingsISO 100 35 mm f/4.5 1/100 sec
Settings both Lights Off & OnISO 800 55 mm f/5.6 1/50 sec
CameraNikon D3400 24 MP
LensAF-P DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
LensAF-S Micro NIKKOR 60mm 1:2.8 G ED
LocationSuperior, WI

Fun Fact: I took a total of 143 pictures of this rock bring you the best quality! It takes me about 45 minutes to take the pictures, another 45 minutes to pick the best ones and re-scale them, plus another 20-30 minutes to make the post!

It was a lot easier taking pictures this time around since I didn't have to mess around with the jeweler's loupe. I don't mind at all as it's gotten easier, and I'm getting more quality pictures out of it. I was taking up to 400 pictures before I started using auto focus and scrapped the loupe pictures. 143 pictures for one rock is still a lot, but in photography I have to take more than one to ensure I get the quality I need.

Caught the moon full last month! I haven't really seen it since I took this picture. When it comes to being inside and the clouds, it's easy to miss!

DSC_0061crop.JPG
Taken on 4/29/18

Thanks for stopping by! God Bless!

@bitfiend

Previous Rock Posts

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Big Agate

Older than 7 days

good for viewing, not for voting!
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Awesome Bullseye

April

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - April Rocks

March

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - March Rocks

February

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - February Rocks

January and Beyond

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - January Rocks [and 2017]

When I joined Steemit I made the decision to always Power-Up my earnings. For now, payouts are set to 50/50 but you bet I will convert & Power Up! Besides internal transfers, I have never cashed out and don't plan on it! Power-Up only!

Sort:  

Man how fine the banding, such thin layers!
Are these found all around the lake or are
some areas more prolific than others?

Oh yeah, we fill our pockets and then some
each time :-))

Some areas here are way better than others
along the beaches.

They are basically found all around the lake but some areas are much better then others but agates are everywhere around here. I can walk down the street and find an agate on the gravel that makes up the shoulder of the roads. When it comes to the sandy playgrounds, there are hundreds of tiny agates to find in them. I filled a small vase with them. There are a lot of gravel / rock companies / gravel pits that grind up the rocks and sell them. The railroad lines their railways with these rocks.

Usually people pick through these rocks and get the agates before they are ground up and sold but of course they can't get all the agates out of the bunch.

When it comes to gravel roads, the snow plows destroy them over the winter when they plow because they don't just push the snow but gravel too so by spring there are evident pot holes. Then they come in with a big truck filled with rocks and pour it as they drive down and flatten it out. So every year there's no agates on the gravel roads (if you feel like walking).

Decorative rock beds around any and all businesses (because where else are they getting their rocks but local so they're sure to be filled with agates)

There's an agate stuck in the asphalt walkway in the park just 2 1/2 blocks down. I want it, but I'd have to break the asphalt to get it and it's not worth it

They are just everywhere and anywhere. Sometimes I am surprised at the agates I find and where I find them.

That one reminds me of images I see of Saturn's rings with the colors! Beautiful

Nice comparison you're absolutely right! Having played about 1000 hours of Elite: Dangerous I can see the resemblance to the rings of saturn!