Road to Steemfest3 (10): The Physical Road 🚗✈️✈️🚕

in #roadtosteemfest6 years ago

The tenth installment in my #roadtosteemfest series, the brain-child of @anomadsoul as he encourages attendees, and those trying their hardest to get there, to write about their journey along the way.

If you missed the first nine posts, you can catch up here 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, if you wish.

And now that you have totally not clicked any of the links above, let's begin...


The physical road

In less than 3 weeks, myself and hundreds of other Steemians will have arrived in Krakow and will have soaked up Wednesdays action. Will there be hangovers heading to the 2nd full day? - likely! Personally, I like a beverage to pass the time during travels, but wont be too 'cooked' when I arrive late Tuesday afternoon.

The journey will begin on the east coast of Mallorca, Spain. It's about an hour in the car to the airport along the new road, and I'm hoping to be kindly driven there by my mum's partner. He'll likely be called up a week later for the ride back home, and I will be offering him fuel money for sure. The bus service slows down heavily from the 1st of November, and I'd need to take a 1.5 hour ride to the capital, Palma, and then another bus out to the airport. I'm pretty sure the timetable isn't great for my departure/arrival times, and so I'm hoping a lift will present itself here.

The next leg is a flight from Palma to Frankfurt, a 2.5 hour flight to central Germany. As with the buses, it is not possible to get a direct flight to Krakow from Mallorca in November and had the event been a month earlier, a 3.5 hour single flight would have done the job. Oh well, a two hour layover isn't so bad. By the time I've disembarked, visited the services and located when the next boarding gates are, I don't think I'll have too long to wait.

This is where the battery USB charger I have will come into it's own. It can charge my phone 3/4 times from flat, and still keep my Vape ticking over too - at the same time! This will allow me the ability to curate, write a post, and/or play @steemmonsters to my hearts content. If the last week is anything to go by, it'll likely be the 3rd mentioned activity taking over my phone time. I also like to nosey around airports I've not visited before, but I think I did have a transfer at Frankfurt almost 20 years ago, en route back from Thailand to the UK. To be fair, I was probably still concussed with a loud ringing in my ears, so I'm willing to forgive myself for not being 100% sure if I've visited Frankfurt airport before.

At around 4:10 local time, the 2nd flight lasting 1.5 hours will hopefully depart to Krakow in Poland. And if anyone reading this is arriving at around 5:40 local time, be sure to let me know so we can share a cab to the hotels in the city. With or without a fellow Steemian or two, this will likely be my method of transport to the living quarters for the week. And actually, it's not a hotel I'm staying at, but a 24 hour party poker den house - I hope (not) :D

Last year I used AirBnb, and the same is true this time around. @anomadsoul has arranged a house which is apparently very close to the Hotels being advertised by @roelandp. This should hopefully ensure we are not late for any coach trips, and also means I'll be heading to Carrefour prior to the trip to pick up some decent ear-plugs. The chances of heavy snorers, or who knows what else is a worry, but hopefully it will allow the the house guests some decent bonding time over a beer,or a game of poker, or whatever else comes up.

The price of renting a house, split between guests, is a bit cheaper than a hotel room for the week and so this is another bonus, especially in my and likely many peoples situation right now. Clearly it would be very good timing for a little pump in the price of STEEM over the next couple of weeks, but I'm not holding my breath. Steemfest has coincided with a lull in the markets for both years so far, and I don't expect much difference this time. The good news is that following the previous SteemFests, the price has risen nicely - almost a 10x rise in price from November 2017 to January 2018. More of the same here please!

Before I forget, I should probably mention that the SteemFest app was very handy last year, and i'm just about to download this years offering - when I've deleted a few apps I don't use, and any suspect photos I can find too 😛

Alright, that's it from me for today, and I've just one more message from sunny Mallorca for you.....

steemon.jpg

Cheers!

Asher

Sort:  

"Will there be hangovers heading to the 2nd full day?"
I am sure I will be in this list =)
Good post @abh12345 see you in Krakow!

haha :D

Well i'm hoping it wont be me but i'll have sympathy for those who are - see you there!

oh you're coming from Mallorca, how cool =) and I'm stoked there is a Carrefour close by! I miss having a REAL supermarket around, so will go there also, to stuck up on little things I cannot find herein Panama =) Have a great trip!!!

Oh the Carrefour is here in Mallorca, not sure about Krakow! My English is pretty terrible huh :D

See you there Eve!

LOL no it's not!!! I checked and Krakow has Carrefour too =) See you very soon!

Sweet, I can double up my earplugs just in case :D

Good luck with the "24hr party poker den house", that sounds great, although I am not envious at all haha :P I hope to join in for a game of poker at some point though!

Well I'm sure the doors will be open to all :D I'll see you in a couple of weeks, be sure to say hello!

Definitely man! See you there :)

@abh12345, Ha ha, awesome, you wrote your complete Roadmap. And whatever I've read in this post, i can say that your journey is really exciting one and for sure you will going to hold the effective fun. And when we think of Long Travels then sometimes we move into overthinking phase but instead we have to move with flow no matter what time brings.

Wishing you an great day and stay blessed. 🙂

Thank you @chireerocks :D

I will be sure to have a good time, and not worry about these small details.

Have a lovely Sunday!

Welcome. Thank you so much and you too. 🙂

Is there a steemfest app?? (gotta get me thatttt)

Yeah, the road to steemfest is a long one here as well, because I will reach friday afternoon at earlier. By then everybody will already have BFF-ed and I have missed all the actual wise-people lectures.

Be sure to include me into the social events starting friday evening :D

Yes there is! It was really handy last year at the event, and i'm sure it'll come in useful again.

Friday is a late start to proceedings, but better late than never for sure - see you for the weekend!

Frankfurt airport is quite big and busy, so a two hour layover is not that long, you'll see. I had one hour and a half and had to find my gate to Hannover, had to get my boarding pass, went through a bunch of checkpoints and had some extra time for myself.
It'll be fine, you'll see, and you're going to say Erika was right 😁

Erika is right :D I can say that beforehand!

Yes I'm sure the time will pass quickly, 2 hours at an airport is no time at all. Thanks for visiting! :D

My pleasure and looking forward to that steemfest summary post, and the others about the trip! Don't forget, you're there to represent us and as a reporter on our behalf 😜

Planning a trip is half the fun, isn't it?😊 And how is it already mid-October??? Wasn't it just August yesterday?!

I'm hoping you get at least one beer fueled post out while you're there. Just an fyi😊

Time is flying by for sure :)

My beer fueled posts are a combination of controversial and crap. I can promise you they will be shorter as it'll all be phone-based and I guess time will be limited. Have a great weekend Lynn!

Sounds like you are all set. Wishing you safe travels and good times.

Pretty much set yeah, a little more 'fiat free float' and I'll be set. Oh and some warm socks :D

Even with heavy snorers it's just going to be so much fun :D

Headphones will make that a non-issue I hope! But yes, much fun will be had :D

And now that you have totally not clicked any of the links above, let's begin...

😂😂😂 how do you know that 😛 this is a strange travelling story I ever read for sure

Oh I know it :D

Because you have read them all already, yes? :P

you right.. I did read them all.. and still remember the story about the two ladies who'd like to show you around Krakow and howmany jeans you gonna bring .. LOL, hope that you'll met your expectation there and I hope that you'll make a post "walkwithme" at krakow..uhm, perhaps dtube or vlog about the pool etc

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63281.14
ETH 2674.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79