"Festivus For The Rest Of Us!" - 6 REASONS I DON'T CELEBRATE XMAS ANYMORE.

in #religion7 years ago (edited)

People claim I am a grinch because I don't participate in holiday celebrations. I think that's very arrogant to think everyone shares your beliefs.

grinch.jpg

Here are the six of the many reasons I do not celebrate Christmas anymore.



1) NO ONE seems to care about the true meaning of Christmas anymore...

135780_895493816309_6777134_o.jpg
People are only worried about buying gifts. I watch people that can't pay rent killing themselves to get gifts for their kids that will be broken or forgotten after a just a few weeks. I was that kid. I don't even remember any gifts I ever received. I wish I could go back and tell my mom it was not worth it. Most people that get in the "Christmas spirit" care nothing about religion. We are supposed to be celebrating the birth of Jesus. There is no way that he would approve of what is going on right now. Most people only care about the materialistic side of it. The picture above is of my son. He was so excited for what ever it was. I enjoy making him happy but it does not have to be Christmas. He still gets gifts from "Santa" though.


2) I used to be a very religious person.

9383850_orig.gif
Growing up in the Catholic church was something that was at the forefront of my life. Of course, as a child, I had no choice. I even went to a Catholic school. I was kicked out of that school for "disobeying orders", which was just me asking questions about God that they never wanted to answer? I was truly trying to understand all of it, but I was always met with an angry response and was told, "because that's how it is." I was not having any of that. A similar situation happened to me when I attended St. John's University and had a minor in theology. My teachers asked to have me removed because I was being difficult because I was asking questions about the religion they wanted me to follow and have blind faith in. I'm not that type of person. If you have to fight and get angry over questions, that means that your position was not that strong in the first place.


3) What about the other religions?

download.png
If we are supposed to be a country that has separation of church and state why is it that all federal buildings are closed on Christmas day? I never understood that. As a child, I would think how that would make someone of another faith feel. Plus I was campaigning for extra days off !o!. I don't want to be a part of any religion that forces it's beliefs on others. When I tell people that I don't celebrate Christmas, it's almost like they are upset at me. This is so annoying because why do they assume everyone is a Christian? Why do they feel like saying "HAPPY HOLIDAYS" is offensive when all it does it include other people into the greeting.


4) I have had a couple of near death experiences...

reaper-gif.gif
I have been right to the edge of death several times in my life. Some people know about and some that they have no idea happened. During these experiences I believe I saw the truth. I understand that you don't need religion to connect to the creator.


5) Religion is the cause of most of the violence on the planet for thousands of years.

cta1vhbosszuh7wcd1dv.gif
People are killing each other simple on the basis of which God is the right god. I never understood how that makes sense. If your god is better and you follow the rules then you should be ok, but killing people in the name of your god is counter productive. I know people will say well it's the muslims, but all religions have committed horrific acts against humanity and justify it by perverting the teachings in their holy books. There is enough blame to go around.


6) I asked my parents one day, "Why do we celebrate a holiday that was forced on our enslaved ancestors?"

bible-fight-cause-snowballs-are-too-mainstream_o_499785.gif
I then asked, "What did our people practice before?" Their answer was, " ...Because that's what we were taught." That answer made me think, If they were taught to follow this religion by their parents and their parents were taught by theirs, then who knows the truth? How can there be truth? So we just follow those who came before us for no reason? No wonder this planet is in the state it is. We have been doing the same crap for thousands of years with no positive results. People are still dying and the people at the top that are supposed to be righteous people are usually the ones that commit the worst acts of evil. You all know what I am talking about.



IT'S ALL LOVE THOUGH...

15589803_10104682360613849_6382313280170036047_n.jpg
I am not here to bash anyone's beliefs but I will question it only because they question mine like I don't have a right to believe what I do even though it comes from logic and facts. I want to wish everyone a happy Monday with their families and hope you make long lasting memories, but please stop expecting everyone to be a part of it. You do you and I will do me. I know God is real because I am able to speak to you all right now. I don't need a religion to tell me what's right or wrong. That is built into everyone who has a soul. Let's just all get along.

I am often compared to Huey from the boondocks and this video shows why...

THIS IS HOW I WILL BE SPENDING MY XMAS!

12390905_10103664774908759_6263035244565518310_n.jpg
SORRY FOR THE TYPOSS... I did have some eggnog... it was given to me...


black-green-horizontal-com-divider.png

If you like it, upvote and resteem!

TALK TO Y'ALL LATER.

@VoyceAtlas

voyceatlasfavicon.png


CHECK OUT MY POSTS THIS WEEK:

GET EXTRA STEEM

FULL STEEM AHEAD!

WhY u No LiSteN?

STEEMCEPTION

RISE AND STEEM #9

I WILL NEVER GO!

ODD SQUAD FAMILY

WHAT YOU TALKIN' BOUT?

TERMITE MC CHALLENGE


black-green-horizontal-com-divider.png

STREAM MY MUSIC FREE ON MUSICOIN

musicoin thumb large.jpg
black-green-horizontal-com-divider.png


IMAGES CUSTOM MADE OR FROM GIPHY.COM

Sort:  

GRINCH! LOL

This may be the most well thought-out post you have ever written. All points are very clear. The anecdotal references made this very personal and valid. I actually really enjoyed reading this. Well done.

mad typos... i will fix when i am sober lol

Despite the typos, it was still a nice read.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @voyceatlas to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

#life
Earl Nightingale : We become what we think about.

" Because that's what we were taught"
We are not supposed to question the hive

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59398.61
ETH 2510.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43