You Want Spiritual Renewal? Watch Along with the Gods, a Korean Movie

in #religion6 years ago (edited)

Around 18 hours from now, it will be Easter Sunday for us Christians in my side of the world. It has been raining since Good Friday. I remember as a kid, it always rains during Holy Week, either Good Friday or Holy Saturday and this Saturday is no different.

More than 2 hours ago I was watching a movie. I was eating dinner with fried fish, some atchara and turmeric rice as I watched this South Korean movie. It was not something I had seen in a movie house. I wanted to but I was too self-engrossed working at home that I don't know what's happening outside anymore.

image.png
(source)

And so it started, a firefighter's soul journey through the seven hells, the seven gates of judgement. Along with our protagonist Paragon and his 3 guardian grim reapers (or defense counsel), I journeyed with him through the 7 hells and reviewed my own sins. I am not perfect.

The worst sin of it all according to the movie arrangement and to the protagonist's sins has to do with * toooot . Everything in the movie culminated into that one sin. * (Whew, I almost gave a major movie spoiler away, good thing I edited this for you.)

The last few scenes hit me the most, like the movie is meant for me. Other people may not understand it, other people may not be affected by the scenes and the story but it hit me hard in the end. It made me ask for forgiveness, like I am at my wits end. I have nowhere else to go anymore. I shall follow God or whatever Higher Being wants me to do. I am only a vessel. How hard can it be to accept it?

How hard can it be? It only hurts when we struggle. It only hurts when we keep fighting it. It always gently demands surrender. So I will do it. Whatever His plans for me now, only He knows. I only ask mercy for my soul. That is all. Mercy for our souls.

Whoever said watching a movie alone has no value? Watch it at your own risk. I never thought I'd cry so deeply, be moved so passionately that I'd stay over the sink with running water crying my eyes and heart out. My sins have come to haunt me.

As we humans make our way through our lives we forget to be good people. As a kid I would envy the saints and tell myself I could never be one. It is too hard. Perhaps a hero, but what am I doing with my life? Wasting some time away in idleness? Well I am doing something but I still think of it as idleness. That is one of the seven gates of hell the main character went through.

image.png
(a firefighter named Kim Ja Hong, our protagonist [source])

Am I using my life well? Am I using my talents well? What am I doing? What are you doing?

The movie is a slow roast I tell you. You won't know what hit you until after it's over. Thanks to the English subtitle I got everything I needed to know, otherwise I would not understand the movie at all.

The acting is superb, it's genuine, it's amazing. You wouldn't know how hard it is to be an actor and feel those emotions unless you've tried an acting workshop or two as I have. It is difficult for me to be someone else. It is difficult to pretend. It is difficult to do method acting because you will embody the character, you will be the character, thus sometimes other actors never come back from the depths of the character they assumed.

I have always loved fantasy (and adventure) and have been fascinated by it. All the mystical shizz and shenanigans, it gives me a thrill, it makes me happy. Why not if it's magical? Why not since it's fantastic.

I don't know if I am making any sense. I have been told by a fellow Steemian (hello @raj808) that I got too blissed out from a meditation session . So who knows, maybe I got too "blissed out" watching this movie too.

If you are going to watch it, pls don't forget your tissues. Perhaps if you watch it as a family it might bring you closer together? Who knows?

This is definitely the best Holy Week movie I have ever seen. It is a whole other level. It does not compare to The Passion of the Christ, that is very different from this one.

Kudos to the people who made this film come to life. Kudos to the webtoon artist and creator who have created it. The movie has a very touching story. It is an excellent movie. My words are not enough to describe it. My only wish is that it changes your life too. Perhaps after watching this movie, your life will be different, if not immediately then sooner or later.

Even the actors' lives and everyone involved in making the movie got changed. So far this is the best film that has ever touched my soul like a bull's eye. It hurts but it should make you feel and be better in the end.

XOXO,
@artgirl

P. S. I rate it 11/10. Here's the movie trailer. My 2 hours was well spent indeed.

The trailer is amazing in itself but it does not have the whole story at all. You might say it is misleading but I will let you be the judge of that once you've seen the movie.


Ciao for now!


IMG_20180216_065807_20180216070540108.jpg

WARNING:
Spam comments will be FLAGGED / DOWNVOTED if it is not revised upon warning.

Images are copyright of their respective owners.

All rights reserved.
Written by @artgirl for Steemit.
© Art x Stephanie Rue

@artgirl is a freelance artist and also a real estate agent for resort-type condo communities in Metro Manila.
For any art or property inquiries, you can chat me up on steem.chat or send me a Facebook message. Link in my bio.

IMG_20180216_065807_20180216070540108.jpg



For more of my latest posts still within the 7 day period upon posting this, do check below:











For my art, writings and other posts, feel free to check my blog page.

image.png

my-Bitlanders-banner2.gif



Like it?
Upvote, Follow and Resteem for appreciation.

♥ Thanks! ♥

Sort:  

Oh this looks good. And your description has got me. I'll have to check this out. Thanks!

asrulmm Asrul Muzaffar tweeted @ 22 Feb 2018 - 21:59 UTC

"Semua orang berbuat dosa. Namun hanya segelintir yang punya keberanian untuk memohon maaf. Dan lebih sedikit yang… twitter.com/i/web/status/9…

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Hi @artgirl. Sounds like an amazing movie, there is nothing wrong with feeling things so intensely and I hope you didn't think my comment on your other post meant that in any way. I just have a very dry sense of humor is all. Great post :-)

Okay. :D Thanks.

Ohhh matry nga din tong hanapin at mapanood

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

https://i.imgur.com/CuJcc1K.gif
Watch online here
►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►
Click here:
►► http://moviezland.com ◄◄
►► http://moviezland.com ◄◄
►► http://moviezland.com ◄◄
-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
Watch online here
►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►
Click here:
►► http://moviezland.com ◄◄
►► http://moviezland.com ◄◄
►► http://moviezland.com ◄◄
-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=

46581

This is spam. Kindly avoid doing this here or @steemcleaners will get you.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the review although it is still unclear to me what is great about this one. I have doubts about your "statement" it is hard to play/be someone else. Most people pretend they are for the biggest part of their lives.. wearing masks, are fake, are pushed into situations they do not like or prefer

Well the story is great. How it affects people and how it is relatable too is something to consider. You're welcome.

As for the "statement" you mentioned, well it is hard to believe anything on the internet. It is up to what your gut tells you and what you find as evidence. :) Depends on what you are looking for.

I always look for great indie foreign films like this. The last Korean film I saw was Snowpiercer which was in English but Korean directed.

Oh well I've never seen that but I heard it's good. :)

Macheck nga online. Na curious ako sa movie na to haha!

Gorabelsss

Greetings @artgirl! Your post was chosen at random and was resteemed as part of Shareables' campaign. Enjoy your free resteem!

If you wish to stop receiving this comment, please do unfollow us.

By upvoting this notification, you're supporting our campaign in Steemit. For more information about our campaign, click here!

@Shareables, we resteem anything we find shareable. Always strive for quality content. Go on express and harness your blogging potential!

God bless from us @Shareables!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15