Enjoying the bounty of feijoas (pineapple guavas) – muffins, smoothies and more

in #recipes6 years ago

Sing along with me, to the tune of “What shall we do with a drunken sailor?”

“What do we do with too many feijoas,
What do we do with too many feijoas,
What do we do with too many feijoas,
In the month of April?”

Ok, enough silliness. Seriously, at this time of time of year, everybody with a feijoa tree is frantically trying to give away bags of them, as you just can’t eat them fast enough.

If you don’t even know what they are, see this recent post from @jockey

Tonight I’ve made a batch of feijoa muffins – a few to eat fresh and the rest into the freezer – but what else are they good for?

feijoas0.jpg

Enjoy them raw

• Fresh fruit - cut them in half and eat the middle with a spoon
• Mix them into your favourite breakfast cereal
• Eat them with yoghurt
• Make a smoothie – here’s my Feijoa, pear and avocado smoothie recipe from this time last year or I found this Superfood smoothie from @faisalali734
• Before the weather gets too cold, enjoy feijoa icecream. Here’s a recipe for Instant Feijoa and banana ice cream, from NZ’s Nadia Lim or this more traditional ice cream recipe from NZ site FoodLovers

feijoa&pear.jpg

Cook them

• Baking. You could take pretty much any recipe for banana cake or banana muffins and replace the banana with feijoas. Though they’re not as sweet, so you might need a little bit more sweetener.
• Pudding! Take your favourite apple crumble or apple sponge recipe and substitute feijoa for about half of the apple.

Preserve them for the winter

• Freeze them whole for smoothies or puddings later in the year. Our easy way to store them for winter is to just throw a bag of them whole into the freezer. You can’t defrost them and eat them like you would a fresh one, as the texture isn’t that great. But they’re excellent for smoothies, or also to spice up an apple crumble or pudding. To use, just take a couple of frozen feijoas out of the freezer and put them in a bowl of hot water for about two minutes. The green outer skin can be easily peeled off using a knife or peeler, and the still frozen inner flesh can be chopped up with a sharp knife, and go straight into your blender.
@andysantics48 isn’t as lazy as me, and she scoops the middles out, and freezes just the flesh in small containers
• She also bottles them – let’s ask her for the recipe!
• Jam, chutney or relish – we gave a bag to someone the other day, and she asked if she could make jam. She doesn’t have internet herself, but it was the work of seconds to find a recipe and print it out for her. Here’s a selection of jam, chutney and relish recipes on NZ website Bite

If they’re not very nice or you’ve can’t be faffed any more

@andysantics48 feeds them to the pigs!

Read about her pigs here

Right, onto the baking.

I actually have a confession to make – I don’t like feijoas very much. That’s one of the reasons it’s hard to get rid of the surplus. @sift666 can’t eat them all himself. I don’t even make feijoa muffins very often. But I’ve successfully used them in two of my starch free recipes.

Here’s a recipe using coconut and almond flours, which I’ve previously posted as a Paleo Easter bun version. For another option, you could leave out the dried fruit and spices, and maybe stir in some chopped apple or pear for some texture.

Tonight I adapted my Banana Cashew muffin recipe by replacing the banana with feijoa and adding a little bit more sweetener. It took 6 large feijoas to make 2 cups. You can see that they’re starting to go a little brown, so I wanted to use them up while they were still ok.

feijoas1.jpg

Here’s one of them chopped up, if you haven’t seen inside them before:

feijoas2.jpg

And here’s how they turned out. I even had a bit myself and enjoyed it!

feijoas3.jpg

Thanks for reading

Images by myself or @sift666, unless otherwise stated.

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts. For an archive of 2016 & 2017 posts, by category, see my last post of 2017.

Contact me in SteemitChat to ask about one on one nutritional coaching or EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype. (Then put a comment on my most recent post, so I know to find you.) Steem, other altcoins or Paypal accepted.

If you’re from New Zealand (Aotearoa) and are looking for other kiwis, use #teamnz as one of your tags // check out other posts with #kiwi or #teamnz tags // follow @teamnz // or join the South Pacific channel on Discord. There is an old list of kiwis on this post.

5-tips-for-newbies.jpg

Sort:  

feijoas are a tasty versatile fruit, love them. We have an abundance on our tree and I'm going to try that delish smoothy recipe!

Oh good - enjoy!

Hello!! Your recipes and informations are super interesting; I like everything about this post! Love to learn about new fruits and healthy recipes as well.. My dream is to move to NZ actually, me and my husband are thinking on moving there, but we'll see about that. How is life there? How is the food? Fruits and veggies?I read that in NZ there arent't to many different kind of fruits/veggies like in Europe or Asia. I'm also a nutritionist and I like to cook healthy recipes. Greetings from Romania

Hi, nice to meet you. Not having lived in Europe or Asia, I don't know how the range of fruit and veges compares. But the food is pretty good. Red meat is all grass fed and you can easily get free range chicken and pork. Organics are available in the bigger cities. If there's anything in particular you want to know about, ask away! Most of my recipes are for people with food allergies, but I like to make them as tasty as I can, so people without allergies can enjoy them too. I liked your herbal drink recipe. I've bookmarked it for next summer.

That's a useful fruit @kiwideb. Although I never had the privilege of trying one. At first I thought you were talking about Spanish Beans. I liked the song and could add a verse or two. I like more silliness...

What do we do with too many feijoas,
What do we do with too many feijoas,
What do we do with too many feijoas,
In the month of April?”

We'll chop em up and blend 'em in a smoothie.

Cook 'em in a muffin pan

Eat 'em raw or frozen

Good to see you're no stranger to silliness. But I already knew that ;-)

Wow Deb, you make some delicious looking food out of the fruit with the muffins and drink. I’m not familiar with the feijoa but use pineapple and other fruits in muffins.
I got a chuckle out of Andy feeding the spoiled ones to the pigs. 😊

I was very pleased with the muffins. I'll make some more batches for the freezer.
I believe pigs will eat darn near anything. Though I hasten to add that the ones they're getting at the moment are not spoiled, just not very nice.

unique recipe yummy ❤️

Nice to meet you. My brother lives in Dubai, and I think you're the first person I've noticed from there on Steemit. Your mango custard looks yummy too - please share the recipe!

The guava is a bit different on your side. We have a guava tree in our home but the fruits are so different to what you have shared.

The feijoa is like a pineapple guava apparently, which isn't the same as a (regular) guava. Or so I learnt from @jockey's post. Till then I never even knew other countries had them.

Oh wow! Feijoas are something new for me. Do they taste more pineapple-y or more guava-y? I dodn't know why I'm super interested now that I saw them. What don't you like about them, Deb?

I don't know why they're called pineapple guava. I don't think they taste like either. Though I'm not sure I've ever had a guava.
To me, they smell like liniment, but obviously they don't to everybody else!

A very wonderful recipe I should try
It has great benefit to the human body

I do always aim for healthy recipes ;-)


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.
For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

mam, this is quite unique and different recipe amazing will try soon coz i love baking thank you mam:))

I hope you like it. I use the basic cashew and eggs recipe with yoghurt or pumpkin or banana or feijoa or apple - so can be adapted to lots of things if you don't have feijoas.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63152.69
ETH 3233.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.45