Naughty Piglets

IMG_2061 (2).JPG

Four Weeks Old

When Piglets reach 4 weeks old they get their license to be as naughty as they want!

They spend all day discovering new treasures to stick their noses in, searching all corners of the yard for something fun or delicious.

They travel together in a pack, resembling a gang of hoodlums out on a Saturday night looking for trouble, and when the police come they all run scattering before they can get caught.

IMG_0022 (2).JPG

At four weeks old they discovered my porch! I was out there 10 times a day screeching like a fish wife and waving the broom sending them scurrying back to mum.

IMG_1777 (2).JPG

At four weeks old they also discovered the back garden where I grow all my vegetables - a disaster waiting to happen!!

That day comes and then they have to be locked away.

Their antics are so cute to watch and they are a constant source of entertainment that I don't want to lock them away. They are so happy and free.

This morning I gave them a ball to play with. It was joy to watch them having so much fun with it.
They are six weeks old now and ready to go to their new homes.
I shall miss them when they all go, they really do brighten up my day!

IMG_2066.JPG

Please feel free to comment. I welcome feedback.

Other posts you may like :)

Calf Day Sage
The Cough
Progress

Sort:  

I can't wait to have enough land to raise more livestock. I've got room here for chickens, quail and some rabbits. But baby goats are so cute they make me die a little! I've not seen piglets in action, but I'll bet they're cuter than pictures can describe. 😄🐷

Pictures can not do them justice - When they are first born they are just the cutest things you'd ever see!!
Goats are so cute but I would never have them again - I value my garden too much!! In one afternoon they can destroy your whole vege patch.

I read that the way you can tell if your fence is goat proof is to throw a bucket of water at it. If any water gets through, the a goat can get too. lol

Piglets are just so cute and lots of fun. I always hated when it was time for them to leave. That meant my entertainment was leaving too.

Oh yes - I really love having them here - I get to laugh out loud often as I watch them get into mischief!

I know what you mean. We have 8 that are 5 months now and still act the same.

Haha you're right I don't think pigs grow up for quite a while - just so entertaining!! What kind do you have?

Oh my, they are the cutest things ever! Such an enjoyable post too.

Thank you - yes they are very cute indeed!

ermagherd too much pigletness <3 <3 <3

I was lucky enough to have Kune's for a while. So intelligent, and yes naughty lol. Pigs are one of my favourite farm animals. :D

Btw, you've probably seen already but just in case ... I am posting an invite to a Discord group some of us created to hang out in together - go kiwis! Would love to have you join us. :)
South Pacific discord invite link:

discord invite

Awww thank you for the invite I shall join :) Yip pigs are fun - even in a sty I could watch them for ages - the way they pick the food is funny - they always eat their favourite stuff first and push everything else out of the way.

Forgive me if I've missed the post which might have said what they are - do I see Tamworth in them?
I have a soft spot for the floppy ears, like the Gloucester Old Spot (love rare breeds).

Oh wow good spotting - the mum is duroc/tamworth x dad is duroc/large white - pretty rare to see tamworth pigs anymore - shes she a wonderful breeder and lovely in nature.

lol, hard not to spot that red coat and think hmmm, surely Tamworth?
Don't tell them, but I'm not partial to their longer snouts.

Duroc - how do you find them? I used to know a pig farmer and I think it was this breed that could get really grouchy.

I wouldn't swap them honestly the meat is just amazing - for superior to straight large white meat. I do't have any trouble with aggression at all. :)

I don't eat much meat any more, but mmmmm bacon!

They do look so entertaining!

And I thought piglet was just a Winnie the pooh character - you are a piglet expert!

Lol I would say semi expert - I don't like to over state my abilities

Ahhh no you need to keep then all and there babies :)

lol they are a great income source for me - they enable me to eat :D

Bless them there so cute though :)

I've met a lot of pigs during my time. One of them was pure evil lol. She was a momma with babies and was very very protective of them. She tried to eat me many times! :P

Oh yes mums with babies can be nasty - my girl is so good - she's only protective if they squeal so I try to avoid that lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98