Christmas appetizers with Ed. Pickled eggs.

in #recipe7 years ago

20171216_211538.jpg

Today we will be preparing everyone's favorite Christmas treat: pickled eggs.
I couldn't find a larger jar in the house, so today's batch will only have 5 eggs. This recipe isn't for the faint of heart, you will need to hard boil and peel the eggs and measure guess the ingredients.

Step one
Guess how many eggs will fill your jar and cook them. Once cooled peel them(discard egg shells into your compost) and place into jar.

20171216_211516.jpg

Step two
Fill the egg jar with water until the eggs are covered. Pour out the water into a measuring cup, remember capacity and discard water. Now in the same measuring cup add your choice of vinegar. This time I used 1/3rd cup white vinegar, 1/3rd cup red wine vinegar and 1/3rd cup water.

20171216_211452.jpg

Step three
Now the exciting part. Add your spices to the vinegar. I used salt, pepper, dried dill, dried chilli flaked, mustard powder and chopped up garlic. You can change and adjust these to your own tastes.

20171216_211430.jpg

Some recipes say to cook the solution, but I never do.
Step four
Pour the brine in the jar and refrigerate for at least a week making sure to open the jar at least once a day.

20171216_211408.jpg

These will keep in the fridge for a very long time for a convenient treat, I will probably be making deviled eggs with these on Christmas eve.

DQmPx2rVFZnkZ5CkSetxgnxh7TvjLoKapKEbMpc5Hdzti6S_1680x8400.png

Interested in #thealliance? Check us out.

@edthecanadian 🇨🇦

Sort:  

Love eggs and this sounds really good if I have time that is! My husband likes Devilled eggs and often makes them so this will be a treat for him. Thank you much appreciated. jv

Have you seen my Bunghole? My people; we are without Bungholes...

It's you again! Have some Merry TP (Tinsel paper)!!

How do you get on cornholio's good side?

He makes me laugh! He persists, I refuse, he persists and we somehow stay friends.... Anyone who can make me laugh is a friend as far as I'm concerned. Try bribery - offer tinselly TP. Have a good day!

They take no time at all and give deviled eggs quite a zip! Have a great sunday😊

A quick 'memo' to say this post has been featured in the latest issue of 'Notes', do stop in and see what else #thealliance has been up to. Some really good content out there!

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

To really get festive, put a couple drops of red or green food coloring in the brine. Then your eggs will look AND taste great!

Thats a great tip on the food colouring. Thanks.

Awesome !!! #edisbest
Cheers!

Hello there @edthecanadian. I'm not sure I've ever had pickled eggs, but love me some deviled eggs. Sounds good to me.

You say you're a gear head? Me too of a sort. I write on my own website about offshore fishing rods & reels.

Looking forward to more quality articles. Followed and upvoted. @inalittlewhile :)

You can make some great deviled eggs from pickled eggs. Thanks for stopping in!

I have not had these in years.
I think I am going to make some tonight now!
My mouth is watering!

Darryl (@dadview) resides in Canada. He is an active member of The Alliance and teamcanada
Check out my Latest Blog

I love pickled onions but have never tried pickled eggs, may just have to do a batch to try

You can change the eggs for onions or half and half. I'm not too keen on onions so I tend not to use them ever-except for my pumpkin soup.

I actually mat do both now that I think about it 😎

Ok, Ok... you have given me a new recipe to try out this year. We always have some sort of hard-boiled or deviled egg appetizer!

Yea, I'm an inspiration!

I’ll have to try this. Sounds good.

Its super easy, even I can do it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60157.45
ETH 2345.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47