Random Japan Instagram :: Crossing

in #randomjapan6 years ago (edited)

Hello friends and all beautiful and wonderful readers. This isn't a real Random Japan. I haven't posted one in a few weeks, so I need to, but things are busy and schedules are tight lately.

As an example, it is shortly after 10pm here in Japan yet my youngest is resisting sleep. I am throwing this up then going back to try putting him to bed again, then I have work work to tackle, then hopefully bed myself before too late. I don't know if it qualifies as "the terrible twos", but lately he never wants to go to bed, neither for nap nor bed and will be throwing fits, screaming "no bed no bed no bed" even as he yawns non-stop and rubs his eyes, fighting to keep them open. But I suppose we are the same. Difference is we have coffee.

But I digress.

As I was saying, this isn't a real Random Japan, but it is one that fits the bill. I threw this up on Instagram a while ago with some text from a TS Eliot poem I enjoy. Most people seem not to like Eliot, and the photo isn't all that eye-catching, so I imagine it will get few to no likes.

So let's post here and see if it gets a better response! You all are smarter than average, handsome, and (I imagine) better smelling than those Instagrammers, so let's see what kind of response I get here. Probably the same. haha. Let's see. Let's get started—let's enter...

Random Japan!

On Instagram I posted only the first bit of this section, but here is a little more:

Men’s curiosity searches past and future
And clings to that dimension. But to apprehend
The point of intersection of the timeless
With time, is an occupation for the saint—
No occupation either, but something given
And taken, in a lifetime’s death in love,
Ardour and selflessness and self-surrender.
For most of us, there is only the unattended
Moment, the moment in and out of time,
The distraction fit, lost in a shaft of sunlight,
The wild thyme unseen, or the winter lightning
Or the waterfall, or music heard so deeply
That it is not heard at all, but you are the music
While the music lasts. These are only hints and guesses,
Hints followed by guesses; and the rest
Is prayer, observance, discipline, thought and action.
The hint half guessed, the gift half understood, is Incarnation.

—T.S. Eliot, Four Quartets, The Dry Salvages, Stanza V

I leave you to make what connections you will between the poem and photo.

(If for some strange reason you can't get enough of me, I am "Japandave" on Instagram.)


That's all, folks. Thank you for tuning in. Let me know any and all thoughts in the comments. And me sure to turn in next time when, if providence allows, I shall return for another Random Japan. See you then!

If you like this random photo from Japan, be sure to check out @kaliju's great Random Korea series.

Also be sure to follow @kafkanarchy84, @maxinpower, @boxcarblue, and @wllmdnnd for even more random Japan fun! @jrvacation and @mweich have the occasional randomjapan post too. Lately I think Max has been the most active among us all. His photos rock—so go check him out.

Are you a Japan-based or Asia-based photographer who posts somewhat random photos from the country? If so, use the tag #randomasia, #randomjapan or randomCOUNTRYYOUAREIN on your posts.





Missed a past Random Japan? I've got you covered!

Index Posts
Recent Posts

61. A Walk Near the Train Station
62. It's Time For
63. A Random Walk
64. A Random Walk, pt 2
65. A Shrine Trip and Moss
66. Gacha Gacha
67. Onigiri
68. Gacha Gacha, pt II
69. Painful Car

Hi thereDavid LaSpina is an American photographer lost in Japan, trying to capture the beauty of this country one photo at a time. More?

If this blog post has entertained or helped you, please follow/upvote/resteem. Also, consider buying me a beer.

BTC: 1Gvrie5FDBNBb6YpGBiaTvA5AyvsP814BN
ETH: 0x2Ce5c2b5F3f1a888b50A7bA9002E4F742784dF9c
LTC: LUVLvatsFqCubrJAVmCNQaoUdFAdnUCysU
BCH: qrzdazep5xfxax0ydppun89cxfts2vup9q4wnfn025

Thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61440.52
ETH 3447.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52