Attention Span Of A Goldfish

in #psychology6 years ago

I remember a time when I used to remember everything; all zip-codes, phone-numbers and birthdays of my family and friends had a place of their own, permanently stationed inside my mind.


attention_small.jpg
Image by Brian Solis - source: Flickr

Or at least I thought it was permanent, but then came the digital age; now all this information is stored on my mobile phone with a backup on my network drive at home, and as a consequence most of it isn't stored in my mind anymore. Information in general, not just addresses and phone-numbers, is at our fingertips; what we need, we look up on some database or another, online or offline.

Not only that; we look it up while catching up on the news and checking what the favorite sports-club has done lately. Several studies have shown that the digital age has strongly improved our ability to multi-task. But they also show that our attention spans have suffered greatly. Not only information, but constant distraction is at our fingertips and we get bored of anything that doesn't gratify some some urge within a few seconds. Because I noticed the negative effects myself when I realized I stopped memorizing stuff, I looked up some information about human attention spans and I must say it's even worse than I thought...

The average human attention span has shrunk by almost a quarter in just 15 years, between 2000 and 2015: from 12 seconds to 8.25 seconds, to be more exact. Now, I don't know how they measure the attention span of a goldfish, but these little aquatic pets have attention spans of 9 seconds on average, beating us humans by three quarters of a second!! Take a look at this infographic for this, and some more rather shocking facts about how our always-online-lifestyles influence our mental abilities.

On Psychology Today, I found this attention span test, right here; try it out. I had, to my surprise, a fairly good score of 76 out of 100. Maybe it isn't too surprising though; for almost a year now I've had the discipline to write and publish an article every day, and I guess that proves I can at least concentrate on one task for anything between 30 minutes and 2 hours; words don't flow as easily some days ;-) And maybe I'm lucky to have known a long time without the internet.

I have no idea how this development will pan out in our future, but I do believe we should try to catch up with the goldfish at least. During a lecture, a book, or a movie, when we miss only a few seconds, we might have missed essential information. In the movie and the book we can go back (do you catch yourself re-reading and re-watching a lot?), but not during conversations or lectures. This is surely something to be concerned about I think...


Digital Hygiene: How We Might've Fucked Our Attention Spans


Thanks so much for visiting my blog and reading my posts dear reader, I appreciate that a lot :-) If you like my content, please consider leaving a comment, upvote or resteem. I'll be back here tomorrow and sincerely hope you'll join me. Until then, keep steeming!


wave-13 divider odrau steem

Recent articles you might be interested in:

Latest article >>>>>>>>>>>May The Force Be With You
Google Limits Speech... AgainWriting History
Anticipated RealityFuture Visions From 1979
FBI Guards Against Progressive PoliticsEternal Waves, God and Science

wave-13 divider odrau steem

Thanks for stopping by and reading. If you really liked this content, if you disagree (or if you do agree), please leave a comment. Of course, upvotes, follows, resteems are all greatly appreciated, but nothing brings me and you more growth than sharing our ideas. It's what Steemit is made for!
Helpienaut_post_banner_02-01.png

I am a proud helpinaut! @Helpie is looking for new members! Helpie has been growing nicely and we are always on the lookout for new valuable members. We are very supportive and community oriented. If you would like to be scouted for @helpie , please drop a comment on THIS POST or contact @paintingangels on discord at paintingangels(serena)#3668.

wave-13 divider odrau steem

Just for Full Disclosure, I'm invested in these crypto-currencies:

Bitcoin | Litecoin | EOS | OmiseGo | FunFair | KIN | Pillar | DENT | Polymath | XDCE | 0x | Decred | Ethereum | Carmel | XYO

wave-13 divider odrau steem

@helpie is a WITNESS now! So please help @helpie help you by voting for us here!Helpie_01.png

Sort:  

gotta agree, im not sure all of this digital brain does us favors. what happens when that phone is lost and you dont have access to the net? i can still tell you most of the phone numbers i used to call when i was 12, but nowadays i cant remember my own address. use it or lose it.

i read this a while back.:

Yes, I Think you're right; the brain is like a muscle that has to be kept in shape, use it or lose it, indeed... How was that book by Nicholas Carr?

Thanks so much for stopping by @torico! 😍

it was mind blowing. tons of info, maybe a bit too much, and some interesting theories, some i agreed with some a bit far fetched. however it was unnerving enough to change a few of my more detrimental habits

Thank you, @torico; if I get a chance, I'll read it. 😊

I've noticed that my attention span is pretty short these days. If something doesn't grab me right away, I lose interest really quickly.

Thanks for this response @amberyooper 😋 I think we're all affected in some way; I've lost my short-term memory and I also get bored quicker... I'm glad you made it to the end of this article! 😉

The information age make us less concentate these days!

Posted using Partiko Android

The Idiocracy is nigh!! 😊 😋

The problem is we have access to so much information and is hard to keep track of all of them!

Hi @zyx066!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.643 which ranks you at #5601 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 28 places in the last three days (old rank 5573).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 222 contributions, your post is ranked at #59.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55693.62
ETH 2494.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31