Psychology Writing Contest Reminder, $20 SBD Prize (2 Days Left)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #psychology7 years ago

This is a contest to write something psychology related and maybe win some SBD for it. This was originally part of another post, but I don't think many people noticed.

psychecontest.jpg

I want you to write something about psychology, psyche, "mind", "heart", thinking, emotions, etc.; something that shows an aspect of what humans are capable of -- right or wrong, good or evil. Please share some self-knowledge about the human condition. If you go get some material from a source other than your own thinking, please make sure to reference it as a link somewhere in your post.

Submissions

Make the post on your own blog and link it to this post as a comment, or post it as a comment here alone.

Prize

I will pick a winner who also gets a resteem of their own post in addition to a $20 SBD prize. *Note that I may also split the prize between two winners if I can't clearly decide.

Requirements

Your entry should be a minimum of 500 words, and maximum of 2000 words.

You need to write something fresh, not just grab an old post you already made ;)

You can only make one entry to the contest, and post it once here. You can use any tags you want like any normal post, but please optionally use #krnelcontest. That way if anyone wants to see all the submissions, they can easily do so with a tag rather than look at this comments of this post.

Deadline

You have 2 days left to submit your entries (until the payout of the first post completes) where the contest began.


Thank you for your interest, and hopefully you will be one to show off some of your writing about being human :)

Peace.

Sort:  

Capgras delusion


The delusion where you think your loved ones have been replaced by identical looking impostors.

You really must be surprised by hearing about this Psychological disorder of the brain, but you will be more surprised to know that it is more common disorder than you might think. Today I will tell you about this disorder by a second hand experience of mine as my Lovely aunt 'Reena' fell a victim to this.

Capgras delusion is a mental disorder where you become perfectly sure that some or all of your loved ones have been replaced by their identical clones and these clones or impostor might be there to harm you. It considered as a type of schizophrenia by might also occur due to heavy injury of the brain.

Let me tell you firstly about my aunt 'Reena'. My uncle died when I was little due to lung cancer, She was left with my cousin brother and sister. It was very hard being a single parent and with all the money spent on uncles treatment they were almost bankrupt, but she worked hard for years as a result my cousin brother is now a successful Mechanical engineer and my sister a very good heart surgeon.

But then 5 years back she fell sick and a high fever and doctors had to put her in induced coma for 12 days, when she woke up we all went to meet her, surprisingly she got scared when she looked at my father and was even horrified when she looked at my cousin brother and sister, she kept screaming, who are they? Where are my kids? It was surprising to know that she remembered all the other members of the family like me, Doctor advised us to keep my dad, brother and sister away from her for now until they diagnose her.

Me and my mom used to stay beside her, one night at the hospital, when I was attending her she called for me, she looked terrified and said to me that is not my son, daughter or my brother, they are some impostor who were sent to kill her and asked me to promise her that I would keep checking on them and not let them kill her. I was so terrified and later told that to the doctor, Later she was diagnosed with Capgras delusion, the doctors said that his might get well with time but with time it got even worse.

She started living alone, she fired all the servants, she refused to see anyone not even me anymore, she was continuously scared that everybody is planning to ill her, 3 years later when the milk men noticed unopened milk bottles for 4 days he reported this to the society guard who then called us when we broke in to the house she was already dead, doctors said she have been dead for 2 days. I never even thought that my Lovely aunt "Reena' would have such a tragic ending.


Now there is nothing you can do for a patient with any mental disorder, but what you can do is love them, love them will all your heart because it is that time when they need you the most. I still regret not doing everything I can when it came to me, and I hope none of you get to have that regret ever.


By @Utfull

Loading...
Loading...

Thanks for submitting a post ;)

Awesome! This is my entry: https://steemit.com/philosophy/@alexander.alexis/i-am-therefore-i-harm

Hope it qualifies! It does show us something important about human nature, something that's intrinsic in our mental makeup, inescapable and unavoidable.

Great! Thanks for submitting!

Hi Krnel - great idea - good luck to everyone - here's my entry (hope it's not too long):

https://steemit.com/krnelcontest/@healingherb/initiation-an-attempted-overview-a-draft-typology

Hehe, thanks! I only had two entries before I made the solo post, I guess it's a good thing I did LOL

Thanks for submitting an entry :)

Here is my attempt sir. I am interested and read a lot on the subject but this is my first attempt at writing something on the subject.. Thanks for the contest, it got me out of my introverted shell in a small way!

https://steemit.com/philosophy/@drpuffnstuff/the-blind-brain-theory-the-creation-of-consciousness-a-mostly-simple-explanation

Psychology, people make excuses in Vietnam where I live and they drive motorcycles on sidewalks and bribe police. Psychologically, they are monkeys. You know the idiom. Monkey, monkey do. I will do the same as you. Psychologically, they're discouraged from becoming too creative, individualistic, independent, new, different, and everything. Psychologically, humans have more similarities than we realize globally around the world. We can do better when we acquire more empathy, sympathy, realization, and as we do our best to have conversations, as we network, as we work together with people, especially people with our shared values.

Yes indeed, people with the same shared values, like shared moral understanding. Morality is how we built true freedom and unity. Thanks for the feedback.

Religions where always big into morality yet we didn't gain freedom until we broke those shackles.


Steemy McSteamFace - A Steam inspired dark-coloured skin for Steemit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58363.73
ETH 2484.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39