A Rant on Positive Thinking

in #psychology8 years ago (edited)

(image credit: www.fanpop.com )  

I've been thoroughly depressed for years - to say I wasn't happy to be alive would be an understatement. I'm not going to get into the why of it - maybe some other time.  

I knew I had too many problems - I wasn't able to deal with them all at once, so I did the best I could: I started a [really] long term self healing, self development process by means of introspection and various yoga techniques that I knew would help me reach my goals. 

For the longest while this has been a trial and error process. However slow the progress, I found the challenge fascinating - the whole "nosce te ipsum" thing, you know, so I persevered. Thus began my journey into my own mind. 

Laya yoga and introspection have been the best instruments ever - although I also read plenty of books and I found music therapy to be very beneficial.  

My sense of humor developed an ironic side, then went to dark humor and sarcasm. This is how I coped with the darkness inside my head. 

(image credit: youtube)

Once the process of "drilling" into my subconscious began to work, I felt like a twisted Alice in horror land.  

All along, my social circle included plenty of happy people, who were fun to be around [for short intervals], but with whom I didn't relate too much.  I usually retreated when they started spewing all that "think positive" cr...p - that really got on my nerves. 

I'd think - what do they know about positive thinking, they who have normal minds, whose worst problems were getting stuck in traffic or having holes in their stockings?! 

Then I'd ask myself - how can I, with so much poison in my mind, think positive? I'd have to give my mind a thorough cleansing first. 

Accessing my subconscious, I found loads of self loathing, a deeply ingrained self destructive attitude, a strong wish that I'd never come into existence... nothing to joke about, really.

 

(image credit: www.mentalfloss.com)

My mental blocks weren't easy to access. Most of the time I felt like I was trying to drill a hole in a granite mountain with a tin spoon. It has been a very difficult, very tiresome process - and while I know I've successfully gone through most of my inner journey, I still have some things yet to accomplish.  

What I want to address in this post is the positive thinking issue.  

We hear about it all the time. The media is full of documentaries and a wide variety of content on this topic. Those who talk about positive thinking smile wide, look alert, happy, energetic and of course, successful.  

And I can't help asking myself - who are these people addressing? Other people like them? God knows, when I was depressed, I couldn't stand them. It was as if they were preaching from the pulpit to us, the black sheep of this world.  

(image credit: www.eonline.com)

The truly smart people I've met - and I was lucky to bump into a few - didn't once tell me to "think positive". What they did was to help me gather strength; they were there for me when I needed help; they encouraged me and supported me the best they could. They understood. 

As I begun to understand the complexity of the mind, I saw that the conscious mind is only the tip of the iceberg; if I wanted any chance at success, I had to work at subconscious level.  

That's the whole trick. One can think positively his/her whole life, on a conscious level; if his/her subconscious is flooded with insecurities and destructive patterns, a conflict will arise - and the subconscious will always win - because it's stronger.  

What I did was to get a hold on any glimpse of negativity that surfaced every now and then in my conscious mind - and follow it to the root embedded in the subconscious. Then I'd "rip" it out and replace it with a benefic thinking pattern. 

To be able to that, I had to study and understand, to the best of my ability - the law of resonance and the law of karma. Then I put those two in practice and I persevered. 

Small victories showed, slowly began to pile up to give me a stronger sense of purpose in this life. 

I'd think - since I already am here, I'd better do something worthwhile.  

(image credit: www.wallpaperfolder.com)

So, for all those out there wondering why their positive thinking doesn't work: you need to change your mental patterns at the root - in the subconscious. You won't think pink right away - it may take a long while until you feel your darkness turn into a mere deep shade of blue, and from there go to lighter shades of various colors. Don't worry about positive thinking - just keep working at changing your mental patterns - all the hard work will pay in the end. 

You can do this by yourself - which is not something I'd easily recommend - or with someone who understands the intricacies of the human mind and can teach you the fundamentals. Then you do the work. This is the thing - you 're the one to do the work, nobody can really do it for you. But it's worth it.     

[all the images are stills from "Finding Nemo"]

Sort:  

I was just talking about this with a friend. Many times our (mental) illnesses block formation of positive patterns, but we keep trying. When we hold to the idea that it can happen, changes begin at the subconscious level. I have found the key for me is celebrating trying every time I try. :)

Excellent. I like the fact that we're all so different - and for each of us there's something that works! This is what makes me keep going, knowing that there's always a solution out there - waiting for me to find it and use it.

Soon after I wrote this I found this amazing painting posted by @storyseeker:

https://steemit.com/art/@storyseeker/the-maze-she-breathes-an-unintentional-inkblot

Totally worth seeing this!

This is a powerful story. Congratulations on your achievements, wish you many more!
I believe all those "positive thinkers" address people who are somewhere in the middle between the darkness and light - those people can understand them, I believe. Those who are in deep depression, if I may call it this way, need some more special attention, and I don't believe they would attend some conference or speech on this topic (would you?), so it's quite impractical to address them.

Great work done and I would like to include your article in my TOP5 Lucky Find Psychology articles for today. :)

Thanks, I'm glad you enjoyed reading it :)

Thanks - and good luck with your initiative :)

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

About linkback bot. Please upvote if you like the bot and want to support its development.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44