The Maze, She Breathes: An Unintentional Inkblot

in #art8 years ago (edited)

 Several of my paintings seem to interest Psychiatrists.  


But it is my painting titled “The Maze, She Breathes” that gets the most attention from mental health professionals. I have sold several prints of this image to those in the profession, and four different therapists thus far have told me that their copy was purchased for the office. This interests me and makes me consider the potential and purpose of art.


A girl on an inner tube floats in the lower left corner of the frame. Her journey (conceivably through the maze) looks rather bleak. She has few potential paths. There are larger-than-life figures floating in the dark and quiet sea. They look like her. They watch the maze. They ARE the maze. There is a goal but there are obstacles. Red dragons threaten her quest. 


Most of the time I know what my own images represent. Sometimes I draw complicated stories, and other times I render simple concepts. But this one is somewhat open-ended, leaving more to discuss. Perhaps that is its appeal.
 

One buyer in particular explained that she uses this painting in her psychiatry practice to start conversations. She added that some paintings tell you something and others (like this one) seem only to ask. In this case, there is room for the viewer to complete the circle of meaning. The engagement is a collaboration between the painter and the viewer. And the observer's interpretation can be telling. 


As the work’s creator, I can’t help but think that a psychiatrist’s interest also reveals something about me. I half-joked that perhaps I could trade this buyer some more art in exchange for her services. She smiled, but didn't exactly laugh -- making me wonder what she might know that I don’t.

What is it that you see?
Have you ever looked at a piece of art and seen something new in yourself?

 

Image © Jaime Zollars 2016

Sort:  

Wow, thanks so much! I am still trying to understand Steemit, but having fun and meeting lots of talented people from all over the world in a few short days. I look forward to sharing, and will read the link to learn more about the Robinhood Whale!

This is absolutely beautiful. I can see why mental health professionals are drawn to it. You are so right...I used to be a mental health professional. People project their feelings onto people, places and things...especially art. This painting reminds me of the vast subconscious that runs the show behind the scenes.

Ooh- I love that interpretation! Interesting. Thanks so much for your comment :)

A-maze-ing
Seriously, though, this is so powerful it gives me a knot in my stomach and makes me feel anxious! You have a gift.

Beautiful. I enjoy how the hair makes the maze, very interesting.

Breathtaking work @storyseeker . I'm always inspired by great artists. Today I'm VERY inspired. Thank you, J.

Thanks! I just looked up your work - I love that you are using the platform to write fiction. And fantasy too! Perhaps one day we can collaborate :) I'm just starting to get fantasy book covers and may have found my favorite genre.

It would be a real privilege to collaborate with you, Jaime. I don't want to accuse you of stealing or anything... but your artwork comes straight out of my imagination. ;) Seriously, your beautiful art is perfectly aligned with my vision of the world of Ahe'ey. Let's talk soon!!! http://www.angeelseries.com/contact.html

nice post and I can understand using this image to access the subconscious - it seems to happen naturally!

thanks - this one has been odd that way.

I absolutely love the symbolism portrayed in your painting. It's very surreal and has a creepiness to it that anything deeply subconscious should have; get under the skin. Definitely can see why psychs are coveting a copy for their office.

Thanks @radioactivities ! I love surrealist art, but don't naturally draw it. This piece, however, seems to have came from nowhere and I think like it for that...

Really amazing artstyle. I like how you see the shadows of the bodies through the watersurface. Keep it on!

She journeys through the convoluted paths of the mind to find her own heart. Once the maze is completed, she must leave it, falling, sinking ... inward. A clear and lovely a little creepy illustration of the most significant journey of man. I'll be watching you! :)

Oh thanks @andreeagarden ! This is why I probably need to pair up with a writer :)

What a formidable idea! Writer describes in words what artist sees and expresses visually, artist paints visually what writer describes in words. A magical team we'd make! :)
Your painting stayed with me throughout the day. More and more meanings come to the surface. One I especially like is a folk saying: "keep your head above the water".
Another regards the sailboats. They represent those who are not yet ready to enter their heart (take the one journey that matters) and prefer to roam about in the visible tangible world, giving their minds adventures and entertainment, showing to their minds how brave and powerful they are. But eventually, everyone will have to face the Dragon :)

Absolutley beautiful, my inner surrealist is squealing with delight.
I can see why mental health professionals would want to use this, I imagine a lot of their clients cast themselves in the role of the girl entering the maze.

Oh, that is interesting! I immediately assumed that the girl entering was the patient/client, but I definitely see your take now!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43