Stop Thinking about that White Bear - How to Suppress Negative Thoughts (Featuring new author @cristi)

in #psychology8 years ago

I have been speaking for quite some time with @cristi, and today is the time for the feature. Please support and show some vote love. Also ensure to read some of his articles. and follow him if you like his writing style.

His introduction post Introduction - This is me, my Health Progression, and the Books I wrote [+Before After Pics]
One of his posts is currently which is currently doing very well:

Q&A with Steemit Prolific Author - Eric Vance Walton

Enjoy the read!


Stop Thinking about that White Bear - How to Suppress Negative Thoughts

One time in high-school I was caught smoking on the premises. I had to go to the principal's office and wait for my sentence. I thought I was going to be expelled immediately...

I was threatened with being expelled if during the upcoming months I would make even the slightest step into the wrong direction. So, I had to become a monk...

After the initial heat of the moment subsided (after a few days) I became less tense and started allowing other preoccupations in my mind - to be read, concerns. But there were various moments during a given day when I would bring back that bad moment and would start re-living the experience - with all its feelings and emotions attached - the smoke, the principal, the sentence. It would disturb me.

I knew it wasn't okay, which is why I kept trying to suppress thinking about it, but I invariably failed. In fact, suppressing the thought made it worse: I would re-live the moment being caught in action with higher intensity.

I maintained an exemplary conduit until the end of the school year, so I was lucky not to be expelled. The moral of the story?


Stop Thinking of the White Bear

It often happens that in moments of disturbance, when something bad happens to us, when we're anxious or depressed, or when we experience anger we cannot stop the cascade of negative thinking no matter how much we try. We feel the loss of control...

It is the same experience as with panic attacks. You know what triggers your panic attack. Most often than not, it springs from an irrational fear; a fear you can't easily oppose resistance. And the panic attack unleashes anyway.

From what I know, panic attacks are non-life threatening, but they can be debilitating - inducing isolation (often social) from anything that might trigger an attack. Plus, I suspect that there's a chemical imbalance inside the brain that is associated with panic attacks. The neuropsychology of the phenomenon is complex.

According to some psychological theory, the human brain does not operate with negation. It doesn't recognize the signal of 'do not think about that'. For example:

'Do not think of that white bear'

Out of this sentence, what word or words you'd assume gets priority in your brain? I'd say it's probably the noun + the adjective, rather than the verb and the connection words. So, you'd get something like:

'Do not think of that WHITE BEAR'

The white bear allusion comes from an old study from 1987.

Here are more of my assumptions (unproven)

I'll use a different example which could be more resembling.

'Do not think of the car crash.'

Upon recognizing the word 'car crash' I would not only bring back vivid memories about the unpleasant event, but I may also unleash the same negative emotional cascade that was attached to it. Hence, I would feel bad.

I learned about this from Kelly McGonigal's book The Willpower Instinct.

So what should you do when you find yourself in such a situation? What do you do when you find yourself sliding down a negative thinking cascade?


How to Escape

1. The Saving Thought

For this purpose, I propose using a 'saving thought' - the thought that's going to save you from a bad moment, and possibly from the next anxiety attack. Though complex disorders require much more complex and multi-factorial interventions, I think it's worth trying to use it. It worked for me in numerous situations, so it's possible it might work for other people as well.

The 'saving thought' is an experience from your past with strong positive associations. Be it your graduation day, your wedding, your exotic trip, or even that first kiss from the 5th grade. I can remember it...so vividly.

Your 'saving thought' comes packaged with intense emotions. Bring back the thought, re-live it, and fight back the negativity. In theory it may sound simple, but it takes some practice until you get it right consistently. Let me give you an example.

Say I suffer from anxiety whenever I encounter myself in large crowded/public spaces - agoraphobia. I am very tense and nervous in such situations. Moreover, even the thought of going 'public' creates anxiety. My mind often confuses imagination with reality. So what do I do?

I plugin my 'saving thought'. What is my 'saving thought'?

It often happens I feel great joy from riding my bike in the forest. I like the comfortable chill, the sound of birds singing, the silence...Such moments are intensely relaxing. They give me a sense of freedom.

So, whenever I feel giving in to anxiety, I immediately plugin the saving thought. I'm riding my bike. I'm in the forest. I feel good.

My mind cannot simultaneously hold two conflicting thoughts/emotions. Training to immerse myself into the saving thought will allow me to successfully eliminate the anxiety.

2. Gratitude

I'm sure you have dozens of memories that you could repurpose into a saving thought. But if you have difficulty in doing that, experiencing gratitude can be used instead.

Gratitude is one of the most powerful human emotions. All of us can be grateful for many things that take place in our lives. I am grateful for living in the world of today where knowledge is free and when technological advancements bring so many good things in my life. I am grateful for the people around me. I am grateful being able to care for my health. I am grateful for...(you fill in with your gratitude moments).

3. Direct Confrontation

In anxiety disorders psycho-therapists often use the method of direct confrontation. It involves exposing the individual to their fears/phobias in a controlled environment - under the supervision of the therapist. The individual learns to gradually disassociate the stimuli (trigger of the fear) with the feeling of fear itself. The fear is often irrational.


Ending Thoughts

More often than not, you will not go as far to implement direction confrontation. In our daily lives we can save ourselves from spiraling down in emotional negativity by tuning in to great moments from our past or by simply experiencing gratitude.

Remember, your mind doesn't work well with negation. So make sure how you pay attention to your most active thoughts. Also, remember that it's not easy for your mind to hold opposing thoughts and feelings simultaneously. It's energy demanding. It's dissonant.

When negativity, anger, fear or that white bear kicks in, you fight back with your 'saving thought'.

Look, I'll try to frame everything in a minute-or-so of video (thanks to Business Insider):


To stay in touch, follow @cristi

#psychology #practical

Credits for Image: here


Cristi Vlad, Self-Experimenter and Author


Please follow me on my blog @jacor if you enjoy my topics and content.

@jacor features authors to promote a diversity of content and new authors. All STEEM Dollars for these posts go to the featured author.

If you are looking to be featured as an author, please contact me via email - [email protected]


Sort:  

I upvoted you for the stradegy even if I disagree with your approach. I think it causes more harm.

What causes panic attacks is avoiding reality. If you want to get rid of them completely, induce the circumstances that cause panic attacks, facing them head on over and over again. Eventually you become accustomed with the triggers and understand your source fo fear.

Sometimes your fear depends on other people's perception of you though. If their perception of you continues to reinforce, then a problem can be much worse for the person experiencing the problem.

@paulpuk2000

Based on what you are saying one, will always be turmoiled since one cannot change the perception of others towards you.

That's another generalisation. I said sometimes. I think that what you are saying may well work on many occasions, but sometimes, it may not. It think it depends on the situation.

@kyriacos, I agree we disagree. the fact is, that most people suffering from panic attacks are too fearful in being confronted with what triggers the attack. Inducing a strong positive thought may be easier

@christi

This is why most remain forever with the the problem or get into a popping pill spiral. Like most things in life, the situation needs confrontation.

personally, I'm onto the same bandwagon. but it's not something that many folks can do.

@jacor - thank you for sharing this on behalf of @cristi I just hit the follow button. :)
Brain function is so fascinating. I would agree with @kyriacos to a certain extent that avoiding the realities of a situation may be more harmful in the long run, I do agree with you that it's a good temporary fix in the short term in order to find balance to deal with one's reality.

I couldn't help but think about things like eating disorders and the white bear while reading your post. While people with anorexia/bulimia fight the consumption of food and their perception of body & weight, one of the biggest battle is really that they think about food all the time, dare I say, being manic about it. In my opinion, saving thought, gratitude and direct confrontation would definitely be tools to help them as well.

But we're all kids in a way. If you say no/bad/don't do that, there is an air of mystery and longing because we're curious. WHY, no? What makes it so bad? Why can't I? Which often segues into the idea that we don't think about our own mortality...until we have no choice but to face it.

I'm looking forward to more of your articles!

eating disorders can definitely be included in the category. however, they often have stronger physiologic implications compared to the more psychological ones. anorexics are on one side while binge eaters are on the other. there are hormonal disregulations contributing to these condition so they should be a approached somewhat differently.

Interesting practice. Esoteric assumes approximately the same approaches. I'm no expert, just a little read about it

what's esoteric?

I mean this https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Western_esotericism
You probably heard about Kabbalah.

yes, I've heard about it. but I dont have an opinion about it.

I mean that esoteric practices are recommends to control your thoughts and replace the bad thoughts with some good thoughts and pictures

Very nice article . I love to study about psychology. I very well follow you the on path of solitudiness, anger and loss of control when you are depressed. Keep sharing and helping others @jacor. Also you got yourself a follower

'Negativity Bias' is a commonly acknowledged psychological phenomenon. Even when they're equal in intensity or magnitude, a negative experience will be weighted with more emotional significance than a positive one.
I guess it's just a part of our physiology as humans, and likely an evolutionary response so we're more alert, aware and emotionally prepared for negative experiences that potentially pose a risk to our survival. Quite difficult to overcome as you might imagine.

Nevertheless, this is a great, insightful article that I'm sure will go some way to helping people address the issue and begin to overcome whatever anxieties they might have as a result of negative experiences - I have plenty myself.

I like the idea of your 'saving thought' - Very similar to the idea of going to your 'happy place' mentally when distressed.

Thanks for sharing :)

thanks for the lengthy feedback. I didn't get into the negativity bias yet, but it's high on the priority list!

Some really good tips in this post, I sometimes suffer from anxiety and panic, not to the extent of having to take medication, and I always look for natural ways to deal with this, so these tips will come in very handy. Thank you

how do you deal with it when it happens @andressilvera?

I usually try to meditate and do mental exercises, like find 5 things I can see, 4 things I can touch, 3 things I can smell etc. I find this helps ground me

In my family where some of us are always on diet, (I will not mention names), I find that on numerous occasions we are looking at some or other food channel.
__
enter image description here

In this case we are reinforcing the "white bear". Perhaps you can comment on why this will be the case. It would be better to watch some other channel to remove the thought of the white bear out of our minds.

Thanks for the interesting article.

I dont think I understand the question. could you reformulate please?

Hi @christi
I am asking the following:
If food is your white bear, why do you watch food channels. This will increase your craving for food.
Is there a psychological explanation for this?

This was very interesting and I would like to read more articles that you will post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65092.40
ETH 3470.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50