My Nostalgic Childhood - Part 1

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

The moment when I had grown up, I start to realize having a landed house is such a luxurious thing. I am so blessed and glad that I had been brought up in a small town instead of a big city because I got to experience lots of crazy childhood activities that provide me precious lifelong memories. Indeed, a kampung kid has better childhood experiences as compared to city kids~~!

houseintown
Image Source

I was brought up in a landed house which had a brownish drain in front of the house, a field and backyard. I still remember that my old house that I grew up in has coconut trees, pigs, chickens and earthworms. :D Yes, there was a pig farm in my house. It smelt very bad but we were used to it. (I felt proud of my childhood because neither one of my friends experienced what I had experienced xP)
chicken
Image Source
Just like a typical kampung life, I woke up to the sound of roosters crow and birds chirp. Everything was simple, carefree and laid-back. The air was fresh and cool which trigger my brother to sneeze in every morning.

I was a kid who is full of wild dreams and fantasy-like imagination.
I wish that I were a tarzan holding on to a rope swininging here and there. That's so convenient to travel from one point to another point.
kidholdingrope
Image Source
My siblings and I, aged 7-9 if I remember correctly, with a small space in the backyard, we had a small swimming pool because my dad wanted us to master swimming skills to save our lifes. And that became our daily shower spot, so basically we swam everyday.

Sometimes, we ran in and out of my house topless under the scorching sun.
(Maybe it was not that hot in those years.) I think it's good to be a kid because I was a totally carefree person, I did not care about my skin tone at all or maybe I have not seen the importance of skincare. Adults called me "charcoal" intentionally to stop me from running outside the house. (I felt a bit unfair, we played together but I am the darkest in the whole family) Anyway, we had fun chasing each other. That was exciting for me! And I was a fast runner with slim and thin body.

On a fine afternoon, it was as peaceful as usual, we were resting in the house after having fun. It's about 3-4pm. My siblings and I came out with the idea of cooking in the backyard. Woohoo!

Playing with fire was fun and thrilling to us because we might get caught by our mum. But still, we decided to give it a try!

Three of us walked to the kitchen secretly and stole some cooking oils and garlic.:D ( I feel excited even as I am sharing my story). We did not know how to cook but we knew what were the ingredients to put based on our daily observation. After that, we proceed to the backyard after picking up the old rusty wok and plucking some wild water spinach (kangkung in Malay). We were ready to have fun!
water-spinach
Image Source
We set up the simplest stove with two bricks that were collected from somewhere. We lighted up crumbled newspapers as fire starter and inserted it between the two bricks, and some dried branches were added to keep the fire alive.
twobricksstove
Image Source

Could you imagine the excitement of doing all these without being caught by mum?
The satisfaction rose up from the bottom of our hearts. We performed as a team as one spied on our mum while the rest were cooking at the same time. My mum was taking her sweet afternoon nap in the room on that day.
:D Yea, we were once kid, we all knew how and when to be evil.

We put the rusty wok on top of the bricks after the fire is stable. We poured some cooking oils from instant noodles oil package, threw wild water spinach in, stir for awhile. Wow, surprisingly the smell was exactly as how my mum cooked! Our neighbour peeked through the roof tiles from upstairs. She teased us if we were going to eat the dish. Of course not! We just want to have fun. At this moment, my mum came out from the house and scolded us. Well, as expected, the fire was put off.

Fun time was over~~

These fun and beautiful memories are something that I will never want to forget in my life. Childhood memories are special and precious to everyone of us. For me, it reminds me of my cheeky, clumsy and naughty character as I was too busy growing up to be a perfect adult. It helps to remind me on how it felt to be a kid, the simplicity of life in the eyes of a kid.

I am happy and grateful to have those fantastic childhood experiences with my siblings. <3

"How about your childhood stories? I could not wait to hear it from you! ^^"


Feel free to comment~:)
Hope you enjoy reading my post! Have a great week ahead:)

Below are the my posts that You Might be Interested in

  1. Is getting a degree A MUST
  2. Homeschool or Learning Centers
  3. Worry Steals Your Peace and Joy
  4. Menya Hanabi Mazesoba

Follow: @fruityexplorer


Asapers.gif

Sort:  

Awww what beaitiful way to take me as well in my childhood. That true people brought up in Urban areas are not aware of the roots and didntbhave fun like those who grown up in suburban. I too belongs from a small town and enjoyed each moment and still cherishes all the time spent👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Yea cherish those moments :) How's your childhood

I too grown up in small town...so was quite peaceful and i enjoyed a lot👌

Posted using Partiko Android

Love the fresh air in village, always wind down the windows and face towards it

Ahh you just reminded me of my village. 👌 with farming and raining season around there is always a fresh life offering 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Write a post about yours:)))

Hahah...dont try to expose a spoiled child hahah..😜

Posted using Partiko Android

I like alot this picture It remainds me of nature and os very calmed

Thank you. :) How's your childhood memories?

Never experienced the suburban life but by the looks of it seems real fun.

Hehe yes it's fun! But it won't look fun to a city kid I guess because they used to stay in tiles place without sand and mud.

I understand what you mean by "Kampung." My family and I lived in Indonesia for many years. We miss our life overseas. We shared many great memories and they will shape us as we live life in the United States.

The past shapes us, but it does should not enslave us. Keep enjoying your memories. And keep pressing forward for a bright future.

Yes:) it never enslave me.

AWW @fruityexplorer... Childhood memories are so sweet. We all did some "forbidden" things :)

Wow what are the forbidden things

Playing with fire was forbidden 🚫

Hahaaa!! That's true. Whatelse had you played

Congratulations @fruityexplorer! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Your post has been manually curated by littlenewthings

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Do checkout other posts made by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/created/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87