Let's talk about nightmares

in #psychology6 years ago

CA06B589-EB01-4F6F-B535-9802CEF0BBF8.jpeg

We all spend a considerable part of our lives sleeping, which is not surprising given the large amount of energy we must recharge to accomplish our daily activities. However, there are times when our sleep, which we usually associate with being relaxed and calm, becomes a hell that we desperately try to get out of.

Almost everyone of us has experienced a dream that causes panic or nervousness. Sometimes we can dream of the same nightmare repeatedly. Other times we might suffer nightmares presenting the same message but in a different context, the truth is that no one likes to have them

What are nightmares?


What we know as nightmares has come to exert such a strong impact in us, that a long time ago it stopped being a simple unpleasant experience that we have individually, to become a source of all kinds of mythologies or, directly, the very definition of what we want to escape from. In fact, we use the word "nightmare" to describe any highly distressing or traumatic experience in our lives.

Nightmares are lengthy, elaborate dreams with imagery that evokes fear, anxiety, or sadness. The dreamer may wake up to avoid the perceived danger. Nightmares can be remembered upon awakening and may lead to difficulties returning to sleep or even cause daytime distress. Isolated nightmares are normal, but when dreams that bring extreme terror or anxiety recur often they can become a debilitating sleep disorder. | Source

Nightmares are vividly realistic, disturbing dreams that rattle you awake from a deep sleep. | Source

Is it fair to consider nightmares as a state of unease and disturbance that appears at the moment of dreaming, often associated with images and sensations that cause us fear, sadness or any other negative emotion, in such an intense way that the interruption of our sleep is the final result.

Thus, we could consider that a bad dream does not become a nightmare if it does not wake us up or we reach a state of consciousness between sleep and wakefulness.

This sudden interruption in our sleep occurs easily, since the REM phase, which is what happens while we sleep and dream, is the stage of sleep that most resembles wakefulness thanks to the activation patterns of our neurons at that time. A small "push" can take us back to the real world.

Why do we have nightmares?


Like everything that surrounds the study of dreams, there is little that is fully understood with certainty about the causes of nightmares. But there are several things we can all agree on.

Unresolved conflict is not the only causation of nightmares, poor eating habits can also contribute to the frequency of these terror episodes. People can have nightmares after having a late-night snack. Eating meals or snacks that are high in carbohydrates in the late hours of the night can increase brain activity and body metabolism. | Source

We need to realize that it is very unlikely that there is a single cause that explains the existence of nightmares. We can of course, say the same about practically any other psychological process, in the case of nightmares this is reaffirmed in the effect that various elements have on the frequency of appearance of these unpleasant experiences. For example, leading a busy lifestyle and having stress makes them appear more frequently, and alcohol addiction has a similar effect, making what we dream to be more unpleasant and disturbing.

On the other hand, some people might think nightmares are what happens when a part of the unconscious emerges into our sleep state without being able to repress its contents, and this might force us to keep those ideas, memories or beliefs blocked and away from us. The state of anxiety caused by the fact of starting to see what we want to continue to ignore, can indeed cause us to be awaken in order to make this type of disclosures stop.

Nevertheless, that is not the case, since there are no part of our mind that try to hide certain contents while sleeping in order to prevent them from emerging into our consciousness, there are simply contents that at a certain moment are not relevant enough to get our attention.

We could see nightmares as something without any use whatsoever, they are simply there, and since they are inoffensive enough, the genes that make them possible do not disappear with the passage of generations.

On the contrary, if we attribute a certain utility to nightmares, specifically, that their presence on a daily basis can make us prepare for stressful events, maintaining a certain state of anxiety that might be useful in the short term to overcome specific obstacles. In this way, the nightmare would be a kind of mental training to get into alertness more easily and, therefore, react quickly in real life when needed.

However, the possible usefulness of nightmares might not compensate for the awkward feelings they cause. Either way, most people are not significantly affected by their nightmares, since they usually do not occur very often and, although in many cases what we see in them is very disturbing, we usually forget about the nightmare soon after waking up. In my case for example I am sure I have had tons of nightmares throughout my live, but right now I can only remember 2 of them, so they are for the most part a passing discomfort.

Conclusion


Having nightmares from time to time should not alarm us at all, the presence of these type of dreams does not have to pose a serious psychological problem, however, when they are recurrent, they are usually associated with different disorders such as depression, post-traumatic stress disorder and even schizophrenia.

There have been a few times in which while dreaming, I realize I am dreaming and try with all my energy to transform the dream into something I would like (I have literally tried to fly while dreaming), but for some reason this happen to be really hard to do in my case. Nevertheless, this is very useful when having a bad dream because there is always the possibility to change it for the better.

Have you ever had a nightmare that you remember to this day?

Were you able to take control of your dreams at least of a few occasions?




References

psychologytoday - nightmares

webmd – nightmares

medicaldaily – bad dreams

harvard.edu


Images sources
All images are from pixabay

1 , 2 , 3 , 4

If these titles sound interesting to you, I assure you the articles will be even better!





Why some people simply cannot stop talking?


Why some people are unable to relate and engage with others?


Beware of the Burnout syndrome


Understanding our brain, how our thoughts work


Procrastination and psychology


Dreams and psychology

final banner.JPG

Sort:  

This is so interesting, a post on nightmare! I didn't know poor eating can lead to nightmare so that's new to me! I have had an experience of changing a nightmare around after being chased in it, I remembered I turned around and pointed at the thing sternly and asked it to be gone! It disappeared! That was one of my most unforgettable dreams. Thank you for such an interesting and educational, as always from you @dedicatedguy :)

I turned around and pointed at the thing sternly and asked it to be gone! It disappeared!

wow that must have been great! but did you knew you were dreaming?

Yeah I knew even when I was in the dream. It felt so powerful :)

Good for you in controlling your nightmare. Sounds like you can be a
Powerful force.

There is this movie about a little boy and everything he dreams comes true.

It’s a little scary sometimes because he has nightmares, but it has a happy ending.

Your article brought that movie to mind.

I like the idea of controlling your dreams. Try to look at your hands next time you realize that you are dreaming - see if that helps you fly.

I think I saw that movie years ago! But cannot recall its name.

Controlling our dreams is fun, and I was able to do it a few times years ago. But lately I don't see to remember any of my dreams so I haven't had the opportunity to try this again.

Have you ever realize you were dreaming while in your dream?

Yes, of course.

I would try asking myself for permission before going to sleep. Say something like: “Self, I would really like to be active in my dreams tonight, please set me up.”

Have a great day.

Wow. You really are a dedicated guy. I am finding it hard to find contents where the authors pour their everything into such as this one. I like how you try your hardest to get your thoughts out about the utility of nightmares.

You are right in saying it can be a way to prep us for stressful events, to me this is even true for the awkward feelings that goes with it. Life will find its way to put one in those situations anyway, and having experienced the same through nightmares may be a good prep.

Thanks for your kind words!

Yes I believe that might be the most important utility of nightmares, although I bet the majority of the people would choose not to have any nightmare whatsoever.

My fiance was having really bad nightmares everynight for a few months after we moved. Im not sure if it was environmental or simply the stress of the move, but we had to get meds to help reduce anxiety and break the cycle. After a month the meds were gone and no mpre nightmares.

wow that sounded very serious. At least the problem was resolved.

Frequently I have a nightmare, the nightmare is that I try to run and I can't. I always try to search or investigate about that. What means, but I don't have a convincing replie yet.

Perhaps it’s a life dream? You feel stuck in your life, in this body, like you have no control, then you try to make changes and life improvements but it just doesn’t seem to get better?

I’ve had dreams of not being able to run before, or trying to hit something and having no power, or walking through real sticky muck...

What @metzli said is reasonable.

Another meaning could be that you want to move somewhere in your life, and are unable to do so for now...

But if I were you I wouldn’t worry about it.

I had a series of nightmares that ended with sleep paralysis, in one of those dreams as the monster was about to get me I quickly turned my head away and woke up. Ever since every time I had a nightmare I simply turn my head quickly and wake up. I think I haven't had a real nightmare since... Thank you for the elaborate explabation

Sleep paralysis is horrible. I only no had it once but I didn’t see an monster or anything like that (even if I saw them I would probably realize this is just my brain messing with me)

But that one time I had what I believe was sleep paralysis I felt super weird, I even thought I would die right there. It was the only time I have felt that and still cannot figure out what happened to me.

If I had the opportunity, I would like to feel it again to see if I can understand it now.

You just cross my path nightmares can also not do anything to you ! Somtimes you can feel little to no emotion in the dark depths ! This shows strength !

Yes they cannot do anything to us, but of course while we are experiencing them we don't usually realize this.

Nightmares are experiences I deeply dread and really do hate to personally experience as they could be really scary at times...especially extreme forms of it. It is quite sad or unfortunate that little is still known about the cause right now. But hopefully in the near future noteworthy explanations would be given as more light is shed on the subject. Thanks for this really insightful post. Great job!

Yeah nightmares can be really uncomfortable, but if you manage to realize you are dreaming, then it becomes “easier”to control them and avoid the bad time they cause us.

Yeah...I guess you're right afterall.

Nightmares might be accumulated repressed unconscious negative feelings & motives that we have kept throughout the day or for a considerable amount of time. I usually have nightmares when Im very stressed and tired or if I have personal problems. Great article @dedicatedguy I hope I dont have nightmares tonight. :)

hahaha luckily I didn't have nightmare last night. Although the second pic gave me the creeps!

I did not even attempt to look at it. Hahaha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01