The disadvantages of 3D printing

in #printing3d7 years ago

20171203_193234.jpg

Sometimes I really want to smash this 3d printer! A 3D printer is a nice thing to have and you can make many things with a 3d printer but there are some BIG disadvantages too!

Preparation

20170930_230511.jpg

When you want to 3d print an object, it takes a while before it starts, maybe not all printers, but mine does take a while. It needs to get hot first around 200 degrees, you need to extrude the filament before using it to get the previous colour out. With my printer you also need to tape and glue the tape with glue stick. It happened once I run out of glue after a print failed couple of times and I was pissed that I had to go to the shop to buy one!

Time

Printing 3D can take sooooo much time! If you want to print out for example a pair of large earrings it can take already 1,5 hours. So you can imagine how long it will take with bigger models. You can not leave the house when you have a print running. Of course you can, but it can be dangerous sometimes and you will think about your print while you are out of the house. Thinking if it will succeed or fail. When you come home and you see it failed after 50% then you really feel annoyed and become moody.

Filament

20171203_194351.jpg

The filament/PLA comes on a spool. You also have a spool holder on top of your 3D printer. Many times it works but there are moments the filament get tangled on the spool during your 3d printing and the 3d printer will stop printing or it prints without the filament being extruded. Today it happened that the spool fell off the spool holder and the filament broke! I was already at 50% something!

When filament is broken you can not continue again, so you have to start from beginning again. It's not like sewing that you can continue where you left off. I tried once to connect the broken filament with the filament on the spool again, but there was a layer of filament missing on the printing model. I really hope in the future this problem will be history and the 3d printer will somehow detect where it stopped during the printing and continue again finishing the print. This would be so amazing!

When a model failed because of the 3d printer or simply because it somehow doesn't satisfy us, we can not reuse the filament. It would be nice to be able to reuse the filament using a machine like a spaghetti machine.

giphy.gif

Design

20171113_111443.jpg

On this picture you see the 3d printed princess broken heart lip balm duo container. You can see what I mean. Curvy things will look like this, it is not sticking on the bed like it should. With a (PLA) 3D printer you can not design anything you want. At least not with my Printrbot Simple Metal. I can not print for example thing that are round like a ball and very small details like necklace amulets with many small details. Printing out hinges can also be very challenging.

I hope in the future they make it more advanced and cheaper because I like to have a metal 3d printer to print jewellery! I hope in the future printing time would be not so long anymore. Not hours but minutes!

aHR0cDovL21lZGlhLmJlc3RvZm1pY3JvLmNvbS82L0EvNDAxOTg2L29yaWdpbmFsL3ZhZGVyLWxpcXVpZC1tZXRhbC5qcGc=.jpg

Look how cool that is if you can print this unique jewellery!

container_spine-necklace-3d-printing-20951.jpg

For the moment....

20171203_192855.jpg

Source images:
1 2 3

follow_fathin-shihab.gif

Sort:  

@fathin-shihab i really like your post its amazing

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted by SteemMakers. We are a community based project that aims to support makers and DIYers on the blockchain in every way possible. Find out more about us on our website: www.steemmakers.com

If you like our work, please consider upvoting this comment to support the growth of our community. Thank you.

Even though I don't have a 3d printer, I can understand the pain when it fails after 50%.

nice idea with jewelry)
but it's really too long...
i understand why you lose patience)
but if a girl is nice even anger makes her nice)

i wanted to buy such a printer but now i'll think of it twice..) thank you)

Hahahaha! "if a girl is nice even anger makes her nice".
Yeah it is long, but I guess I have a lot of patience because I made already a lot of stuff in 3D. I think in the future they are faster, and hopefully cheaper. It's nice to 3D design and print. But you need LOTS of patience ;-)

it's very intersting I think, to create smth my your own hands and your unique design
mass-market is so boring
dont you make bussiness from it? private orders maybe)

well, because printing 1 piece is already taking so many hours, I am not willing to make a business out of it. :-). Moreover, the quality isn't that good as when its coming from a factory. Thanks for your suggestion :-)

Hi ! I understand all this kind of frustrations. For jewelry you should have a look to the Peopoly Moai, it is a SLA and it has the precision required for this kind of delicate stuff: layer height down to 0.05mm and the laser diameter is 0.07mm. There are more and more affordable resins some of them burn like wax if you want to cast your 3d prints.

Thats a monster! That looks like a refrigerator. But it looks it only delivers quality ;-). In the future I definitely would like to have a metal 3d printer and order directly 24 carat golden filament :-D.

NOOO !

Spare the Printer, take... take my life instead !!


I think you're going to be happy with MIT's recent advances !

http://news.mit.edu/2017/new-3-d-printer-10-times-faster-commercial-counterparts-1129

I also hope there'll be advanced recognition to detect when the print went awry, shut down the printer as soon as it happens, etc...

It'll probably be the combination of image recognition and an AI module that analyzes the images of the print in-progress as it's made, while also keeping track of where the printer is in the design.

It'll be difficult to put the "where I am in the design when it went awry" part into place, but recognizing that the model isn't coming out as it should be is within the capabilities of Narrow AI nowadays.
it'll just need cameras on every side to observe I guess.

Hahaha! That's super fast! I would print a lot more stuff if I could print 10x faster! At the moment I can only dream about that. Let's hope in the future this is a piece of cake to solve ;-)

Well, the tech involved doesn't sound too outlandish or experimental, so I'm betting it'll be integrated In commercial printers in 1 to 2 years time.

I have never actually used a 3-D printer, but it looks to be quite irritating and frustrating at times , especially if you are personally printing things. I think the 3-D printing industry is going to revolutionize some particular sectors such as, healthcare, automation and the manufacturing industry. How? by speeding up the process at an incredibly efficient rate and by cutting costs remarkably!! This was a cool post, I really enjoyed :)

Thank you @conradsuperb. It is really cool to have one but because printing takes many many hours, it can be frustrating. everything with 3D printing gets quicker, better and hopefully cheaper in the future ;-)

My neighbor 3-D prints so I usually hear all bout it lol and yes, most definitely. Keep up the good work :)

yeah, its loud too! forgot to mention that! thanks

Cool article. I worked in a warehouse for Stratasys for a while, the printers are so interesting! I've heard a decent amount of complaints as well though.. lots of work to be done, but they are improving all the time. Good luck :)

Yes, lots of work and many hours. It's true, they are improving all the time. thank you @amariespeaks ;-)

@fathin-shihab,
Thank you for showing disadvantages of 3D printing. some losses had in this field but you won't stop your creative designs. Bcoz you have excellent skills. 3D technology is great one need to search beneficiary ways.
Up-Voted & Re-Steemed.

hehehe, thats true, I keep going on ;-). Thanks for the resteem!

Perfect explain of disadvantages in 3D printing with use images.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62731.36
ETH 2678.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54