You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The disadvantages of 3D printing

in #printing3d7 years ago

NOOO !

Spare the Printer, take... take my life instead !!


I think you're going to be happy with MIT's recent advances !

http://news.mit.edu/2017/new-3-d-printer-10-times-faster-commercial-counterparts-1129

I also hope there'll be advanced recognition to detect when the print went awry, shut down the printer as soon as it happens, etc...

It'll probably be the combination of image recognition and an AI module that analyzes the images of the print in-progress as it's made, while also keeping track of where the printer is in the design.

It'll be difficult to put the "where I am in the design when it went awry" part into place, but recognizing that the model isn't coming out as it should be is within the capabilities of Narrow AI nowadays.
it'll just need cameras on every side to observe I guess.

Sort:  

Hahaha! That's super fast! I would print a lot more stuff if I could print 10x faster! At the moment I can only dream about that. Let's hope in the future this is a piece of cake to solve ;-)

Well, the tech involved doesn't sound too outlandish or experimental, so I'm betting it'll be integrated In commercial printers in 1 to 2 years time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62974.52
ETH 2679.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55