Herbal Prep - Know Your Plants and Methods

in #prepper7 years ago

Before we get into actual teas and recipes, there are more basics to learn. First for learning, but then to always have reference guides. There is sooo much to know, even after Years I still grab my books. There is just too much info to keep it all in one mind, especially if new situations arise, or rare situations. Like I treated a friend's boils, back in 1985...If someone comes to me with boils today, I will sure have to look back at my notes and do new research specific to the new person, before I treat them.

I have slips of paper with notes stuffed in my books, journals, notebooks and recipe books...everywhere. My kids tried to corner me once to try and put everything in digital format, but that is not the way I work. Those crinkled page edges, or remembering I need to look for a blue paper, or I wrote something on a paper bag...that is how I find my old notes best. But no matter what way works best for you personally, be prepared to take down notes and have a place to write/type your thought process, as well as your final recipes. The last is super important, so if you need to make more of the same tea or remedy, you can, easily.

MS 4.jpg

BOOKS

Which books to have on hand, and which become your go to books, will evolve over time. Not everyone works well in the same format. I prefer sectioned books, some text style, and others with good photos.

This is my all time favorite book, as you can see by the wear and notes stuffed in it everywhere :)

IMG_0255.jpg

David teaches, and actually has courses one can take to become licensed...so his books are also good to have if you plan on going to that level.

This is a sectioned book, covering in basics, everything from chemistry to body systems and has a holistic approach to healing.

IMG_0259.jpg

IMG_0257.jpg

There are sections that cover the Actions and Constituents, and which plants they relate to...

IMG_0260.jpg

Which also have cross reference in the alphabetical listings of individual plants...

IMG_0256.jpg

Another go to book, which I don't use as often, but I Love for it's photos...

IMG_0263.jpg

In identifying plants, photos can be very helpful, and these are broken down with fresh, dried, powdered, oil, tincture etc...

IMG_0264.jpg

IMG_0266.jpg

These books both have all of the proper precautions and warnings for each plant, which is very very important as well.

Always keeping in mind, that each ailment, and each Person needs to be researched in depth, before treating. Like Hyssop in the last photo...it clearly says that it is good for chesty colds, and bronchitis...but you need to know Which kind of bronchitis, and what kind of mucous is in the bronchi...is it white, green, yellow, or is it a dry spasmodic cough? Is there a fever? What is the skin tone, eye and tongue colour, everything needs to be taking into account to prepare the correct remedy.

There are tussins which help produce more fluids to flush out the lungs...but then there are anti-tussins which will dry up the mucous if one is coughing up globs of phlegmy mucous and choking on it. You need to cross reference each herb's actions and constituents with the symptoms...and then add in secondary herbs to reduce other symptoms, or boost the effect of the main herbs...check for allergies, and watch how the person responds to the tea...and be prepared to make adjustments.

It is rarely as simple as looking in one book, seeing something and then thinking you can just whip up a tea and fix everything. It can take hours to really research and develop a remedy.

However, once you learn the basic herbs, and remember what they do...in an emergency the memories will kick in and you will know exactly what to do, quickly and efficiently, to stabilize the person.

Plant Identification

There are many field guides out there, which can help to identify various plants if you are wildcrafting. But I would recommend learning Plant Anatomy. If you do, you will be able to identify plant families, and often specific plants, just by looking at them. Knowing plant anatomy and families also helps if you are growing herbs, knowing which grow well together, which cross pollinate and which balance the soil for each other...etc.

The Anatomy of Plants, is a good book to begin with, but I am sorry I cannot take a photo as my daughter has the book right now.

Cultures

I tend to blend various ways of using herbs...some Eastern, some Western, and some Traditional...but I decided that here I am going to stick to Western, because it will be easiest to access for everyone who wants to learn.

And that is all for today...I hope you enjoyed :)

This is a {Steemit Original} All words and photos by Elew

To read my other Medicinal Herb posts...
https://steemit.com/tea/@elew/teas-oils-ointments-and-balms
https://steemit.com/tea/@elew/medicinal-tea-vs-commercial-tea
https://steemit.com/tea/@elew/herbal-prep-infusion-and-decoction
https://steemit.com/prepper/@elew/herbal-prep-oil-infusion
https://steemit.com/prepper/@elew/herbal-prep-on-essential-oils-what-are-they-really

Sort:  

This post has received a 2.43 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @elew.

I love Penelope's book! That was my go-to for a long time. I've been dying to get some herb pics up on steemit. This is a great post! I'm glad I'm following you! :)

Thanks Uniwhisp :) Yes, get some photos up!!

I've got the David Hoffman book - very useful. But not seen the Penelope Ody one before - will check that out. Thank you.

Cool, it is a nice one. The Encyclopedia of Herbs has nice photos too, but it is huge and expensive.

Energetics of Western Herbs Volume 1, Energetics of Western Herbs Volume 2 and several by Michael Moore and loads of others are all kept at hand for reference, agree that each person is unique and all of the person has to be looked at and considered! Great article, sharing!

Oh, good books too! I find some similarities between his view and Culpepper...though Culpepper's books are nearly impossible to reference, because of the format. Good for light reading though, hehe...
Thanks for sharing :) If you do some photo posts with your books and things I will resteem so we get more info going on...

LOL Give me time my friend I am learning the how to do all this stuff slowly and considering I am older than dirt I think I am doing pretty good so far! Agree on culpepper!

hehe, okay...if you need any help just ask, if I can help I will <3

ok how to upload a pic would be good....

I will try and do a post on it tonight, with screen shots for you :) It will be simple once you see it...

Awesome Thank You very much! Will be busy at Oily's prepper pow wow in chat tonight, come over if you can...

I found two good links on how to make a post...the only thing missing in them, is that now you can add photos by clicking on the words 'selecting them' in ---> "Insert images by dragging & dropping, pasting from the clipboard, or by selecting them."

It is right at the bottom of the main text box, and will open your photos on your computer.

But here are the two posts;
https://steemit.com/steemit/@beanz/steemit-posting-tutorial

https://steemit.com/help/@allyo.stories/how-to-write-in-bold-italics-and-more

useful post . keep it up friend

Thanks Istiaq, I will :)

Congratulations @elew! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44