Teas, Oils, Ointments and Balms

in #tea7 years ago (edited)

Because I don't have enough going on ;) I am thinking of getting back into making medicinal teas and other things.

I have studied medicinal herbs and preparation for many years, and make most of our own remedies at home. We honestly have not needed prescription drugs aside from 2 times in the last 20 years. Including my kids.

My cold and flu tea is pretty famous locally, and I have a waiting list every fall...but the dilemma is the FDA. It is against the law to claim medicinal benefits associated with an herbal product that is for sale. This is why I stopped making remedies for sale, and have stuck to family, friends, and occasional trade.

It is however, legal to do a blog here about the remedy, list herbs with their medicinal properties, answer questions, etc...and then list the finished product for sale elsewhere without the medicinal claims. So expect some healing posts as we go along now...

Flu 1b.jpg

I make teas, tinctures, blended medicinal oils, creams, ointments, lip balms...and will be getting into medicinal soaps as well...

oils 1h.jpg

To make herbal remedies for sale, I have to choose basics that address common ailments. Unfortunately I cannot make custom remedies unless the person is with me, but the common remedies still work, very well for healing.

flu 1b.jpg

EcTincture 1a.jpg

Hopefully this fall I can start with the Flu and Cold Tea...

This is a {Steemit Original] All words and photos by Elew

Sort:  

Awesome to see another herbalist here!

You too? We just have more and more in common! This is great :) I look forward to getting into the deeper details with you... <3

Yes finding those of us who actually use the herbs for our health don't need drs very often since we have learned our bodies. Yes finding others who have so many common grounds is awesome.

Yes it is :)

This post has received a 2.59 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @elew.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Elew from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Sounds interesting. Although you do have to be careful about the claims. Herbal remedies here generally put a disclaimer that says "no approved therapeutic claims" or anything close to that.

Yes, if I make posts about specific herbs I have to add a disclaimer, thank you FDA...

Sounds interesting. Hope there is more information coming, I have no idea about herbs :)

Yes there sure will be :) I will keep adding on as often as I can. I probably have a good 30+ years of info to share...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58665.81
ETH 3153.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44