🎨 "Sac Surprise" - New Painting at Art en Capital, Paris

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

As some of you might already know, I am a member of the international artist group Libellule. Every year, the founder of the group, Lukas Kandl gives out a theme for the next exhibition project. Most of the time also the size for the painting we are invited to make. We all have about a year, to interpret it in our own way. All the paintings are then introduced to the public at the famous "Salon Comparaisons". It is part of "Art en Capital" at the Grand Palais in Paris, held once a year.

For this time, the theme was "bouquet" (bunch) in 195 x 130 cm. When we get the new theme, we have to decide, if we want to participate or not. Plus we agree, to keep the new theme a secret, until it is unveiled in Paris. I liked this theme right away. It seemed wide open and left a lot of room for interpretation.

comparaisons2019_01.jpg


With "bouquet", of course, one might think of a bunch of flowers at first. But I wanted it to be something completely different and also slightly provocative.

In my artist statement, it says:

My work is a sensual combination of fantastic and surrealistic images and a unique personal technique. My paintings are whimsical, and often have a witty or erotic touch. My elegant figures seem distant and aloof and merge seamlessly with mechanisms and technologies from another world. I like to play with our comprehension of physics, biology, history and eroticism. Bending one to meet the other, seeming opposites are blended into a fragile balance. Absurd positions, mechanisms and compositions create a sense of twisted humor, sometimes flavored with a hint of subtle obscenity to tempt the viewer to remain and detect the encrypted messages.


I had been working on a series of paintings based on a small paper bag I had brought home from shopping. My idea was to fill this bag according to above statement.

bag0400x558.png


The artwork is oil on canvas with acrylic underpainting. The deadline was last August, since the photo had to be sent in by then for the catalog. Last week it was finally... showtime!

The first time I was in the Grand Palais for the Salon Comparaisons was back in 2009. But I am still excited to see my name on the big board for the exhibition.


comparaisons2019_03.jpg


The Building is simply spectacular..

comparaisons2019_04.jpg


The whole setup is more like that of an art fair or convention. Every group has their own booth, where the artworks are being presented for a few days. Then everything is taken down, to make room for the next event.

comparaisons2019_05.JPG


Here my "Sac Surprise"..

comparaisons2019_06.jpg


We left around 9pm. After the openings, our whole group always meets for dinner, a nice "family" chat and some good French wine. Even outside, the view of the Grand Palais was stunning.

comparaisons2019_07.JPG


There is a good connection between my home town and Libellule. We frequently have their shows in our old city hall. As a sign of friendship and support, our mayor had come to the event as well. Here we are on our way to the restaurant.

comparaisons2019_08.JPG


Had to go back home the next day... but not without having a last look at one of the most spectacular buildings in the world.

comparaisons2019_09.JPG



I enjoy reading your comments!


If you like my work, of course I appreciate your upvotes and resteems


appendix-2_01.png
appendix-2_02.pngappendix-2_03.pngappendix-2_04.pngappendix-2_05.png


sig-2017-1.png

pfeil-3.png

See more of my work on BeScouted


My tokenized collectible art at

MakersPlace and Superrare



Join me on Drug Wars and Planet Crypto (Play at your own risk)



Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png


Please support the powerhousecreatives in a
dpoll for a 20k steem delegation!
--> Here is why <--

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you very much, I really appreciate your kind support!

Every image on this post is outstanding. I'm very glad I've found your blog.

Your take on the theme is quite unique. What percent of artists would you say went with a more traditional take on 'Bouquet'?

#powerhousecreatives

Thanks a lot for your kind words! Since our group is all imaginary realism or surrealism and the likes, none of the artworks was really all that traditional :-)

I guess that makes a lot of sense. If I ever get the chance to check it out I most certainly will.

Thanks a lot for your kind words! Since our group is all imaginary realism or surrealism and the likes, none of the artworks was really all that traditional :-)

Beautiful work, and thank you for sharing your adventures with us:)

Thank you for your kind compliments! Haven't seen you around much. Just see, that I missed your last posts, too bad. Would you mind giving me a little poke next time?

How do I poke? You mean @ you? I will be posted ever week now hopefully. I posted a few this week, but I have a better one I am going to posts soon so ignore them.

Fo you have an Instagram? I am trying to follow all my favorite Steemit artists on there

https://www.instagram.com/rschmid07/ not very active though...
Haven't been posting much anywhere. Important commission to complete...

What a great post, and very much congratulations to you to have your work displayed in such a grand building. The surreal painting itself contains all your signature, the fantastic long legs that sprout out from the bag, the softness of your brushes, all the golden colours, it is certainly a distilled artwork of your style.
                     
Very lovely post, Reinhard ^_^.

This post is sponsored and featured by @Appreciator in collaboration with @c-squared. Just keep up the good work.

Vibrant colors in the painting. The gallery looks amazing where it's displayed.

Thanks a lot. Yes, the place is simply amazing. Har to capture in a single photo.

This is amazing!!! I love the colors and how the painting looks in that wall is so eye~catching!😃💖

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you very much. Of course each artist always tries to get his share of the attention

Posted using Partiko iOS

I first thought it was a digital work but is oil on canvas and look so perfect!!!😃 It must have taken you lots of time to do!😀🎨 I love how misterious look!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, all hand painted. Does take a long time. Many weeks in this case.

Posted using Partiko iOS

That's a pretty trippy bouquet! lol. I really dig it, excellent job.

Hehe... had to be somewhat different. That's one of the challenges in these projects.

I love this, Reinhard ! Such a playful and sexy piece :) Wonderful ! Very lovely colours, composition, and detailing <3 The idea and the execution are both super charming <3 <3 <3

And it is very nice to see you out and about, sharing the excitement and journey throughout this exhibition <3

Very great post i love it so much aaaaaaaaaaaaa

You are always so good with your comments thank you very much for your support and encouragement.

Glad you like the colors I wanted it to be a little more pop art in its general appearance, that is why I choose more pink tones than I normally would. May be doing more work in that direction :-)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14