I am No.t a NUMBER!

Numberless.png

I recall when I first grasped the "reputation" system of Steem... As a complete noob to this space, it held great magnitude and oh did I work and work to increase that little number at the top of my profile as if it was some kind of rainbow that held a pot of gold once reached. It was honestly like a continuous carrot dangled in front of my face, much like it is to most others newer to this space - that is, until they begin to climb that little ladder of irrelevance and realise for themselves just how utterly meaningless and destructive that number is!

Yes, I have earned my way to the 71 that I currently stand at - but the reality is that a good percentage of people here have simply bought their way to it which is unfortunate, but of no consequence in this post.

My point is WHY was this STIGMA of hierarchy put here in the first place?!

It gives many an unwarranted sense of entitlement and it makes people on the flip side of that coin feel unworthy and irrelevant! It reminds me of something oh so familiar... what is it... it's on the tip of my tongue... OH, that's it... OUR SHALLOW SOCIETY!

"Ooooh darling, what is that you are driving?! How does it even get you to where you are going?! - Why don't you get a new one? Have you seen mine?!"

Who's "grand" idea was it to create this automatically subconscious divide among equals from the ground up?!

I am so SICK of the stigma attached to that number!!!

Last week I was told that it was ridiculous to see a "rep 71 individual" behaving in such an unnecessarily emotional and dramatic manner" - errrr, ummmmmm....hmmmm let me think this one through - I don't recall signing any "LEVELS CONTRACT" with terms and conditions about how I could and could not behave or express myself. I am a human being with the right to express whatever I please, in whichever way I choose to do so.

I really detest how so many people here waltz around with their REP number like its a prefect badge! We are not in school anymore and you won't be sending me to detention.

As it is, the community of STEEM, whilst AMAZING - is a minority in the grand scheme of things and we should be standing together as a TEAM, not casting lines of divide!

And it is an UNDENIABLY unconscious divide! - You may not even REALISE that you are actively playing a part in that divide but there is a good chance that you are! Scrolling through feeds I can almost put money on the fact that 80% of people here are unintentionally paying less attention to a post by a 40 rep individual as they are to a post by someone with a 68 rep.

How sad is that?!?

I know there are many people here, including myself who try to remedy that "stigma", but would it not make more sense to do away with it completely?!

Judging one another from the outside in seems a pretty shallow approach and if we are to ever hold a REALLY loud voice to the rest of the world then I think removing that little number of divide would be a good place to start leveling the playing field so we can all TRULY stand as equals.... which is precisely what we are when you strip it all down!

We are a COMMUNITY, how about we start to behave like one! We are not "reputations or numbers" - we are people, human beings - and we all crapped in our nappies when we were babies!


THANKS PIXABAY FOR THE BACKING PHOTO ON MY HEADER IMAGE

❤❤❤

Until next time...
Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx
Jaynielea

FOUNDER OF THE POWERHOUSE CREATIVES

lifestyle & inspirations.png

www.rockyourworld.co.za

text15.png

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

A community of individuals who are dedicated to producing quality content
which adds value to the Steemit platform and beyond.

text15.png

ALL IMAGES ARE MY PROPERTY UNLESS OTHERWISE CREDITED

Sort:  

It was better once upon a time, and it can be better again. The community part is what is great about SteemIt. I have to admit I have a bit of a reputation bias, but I mostly try and look at the content of the post.

I seldomly look at that number since bid bots can make you a 60+ rep in one day of purchasing votes.

Precisely my point, but most still do it unconsciously regardless.

I do agree with what you have said and I certainly hope it heads in that positive direction. As for looking at the content of the post before anything else, I wish more people did that.

I like growing my reputation but I know it's a worthless number. The highest rep account on the blockchain is haejin who is also the biggest shit stain here. That says it all.

I wouldn't worry too much about other people's opinions. Do what you enjoy and as long as it's not harming anyone else their opinions are worthless. There is no point even listening to them never mind paying attention to it.

The highest rep account on the blockchain is haejin who is also the biggest shit stain here. That says it all.

BINGO! haha :)

I am not at all worried about it personally, because I have long since realised how pointless it is but I still don't like the false "dick swinging" that it creates around here.

I think that would be an interesting idea for sure! I have such a gamer brain - when I first joined, and saw my rep number climbing, I just assumed it was because of my activity on the platform (which in a roundabout way it is, since I hadn't invested any money at that time).

Then when it clicked that the number reflected the amount of Steem Power you had, and that you could essentially go from a 25 to a 70 in two seconds if you bought enough Steem to power up, I was like...


via GIPHY

Definitely food for thought, @jaynie. 😊

I thought it was related to the amount of rshares allocated to your account via upvotes (let me search where I read that from an I will share the link with you)

Hmmm, that would be interesting if that's how it goes. I keep trying to wrap my brain around how all of it works, but here I am, almost exactly two years later, and I'm still...


via GIPHY

Lol I will search for it and share the link as soon as I get my hands on it... Also let's break it down together since it is indeed very complicated

Coolness! Sounds like a plan, @joelsegovia! 😊

Precisely. It is in NO way an accurate gauge of ANYTHING. In addition to that, even if it WAS representative of "dedication" or "value" it is still creating a divide because we ALL have to start at the bottom of that ranking no matter how great we are at blogging or how much passion and enthusiasm we have rearing to go...

Awesome point

thanks ;)

It would be better if you can highlight peoples behavior instead of a number labeling his "reputation". For instance if an user tends to curate more often than posting it should be a curator, if he or she stream videos on dtube the label streamer shall fit him or her... There are many more examples, for instance those who engage heavily in splintersland (a.k.a. steemmonsters) could be labeled as gamers or whatever name fits in.

That is an interesting take on things. I quite like that.

Hah, yeah, I don't have the faintest idea how it's calculated at all, and I've never looked into it. It doesn't seem to effect content at all.

Nope it has zero relation to content detail or quality.

Couldn't agree more...
That number doesn't mean a thing. Take te example account you just posted in the 'abuse' channel on PHC.
Makes me wonder why I put all that time and effort in to reach the same rep score, lol.

Scrolling through feeds I can almost put money on the fact that 80% of people here are unintentionally paying less attention to a post by a 40 rep individual as they are to a post by someone with a 68 rep.

There's a lot of that going around, unfortunately... I try to do exactly the opposite, even though I would probably earn more curation rewards if I didn't....

And you were the first person that came to mind when I mentioned that... re. certain people trying to do the opposite of what we are unknowingly conditioned to do. :)

😉
It ain't easy, though. I mean... maybe it's different during US daytime, but during European daytime, there aren't that many interesting posts to curate, imo. Not from low rep people, nor from high rep people.

I have the 'created' feed open in a tab all day, refreshing it at least every 15 minutes and, to be honest, I'm pretty bored with what I get to see.
Sometimes I feel like I should take the easy way, optimize my autovoting and look after myself first. My curation rewards have gone up a little, but they've not skyrocketed.
But then again... looking after myself = trying to give this platform a future... and without new accounts, there is no future.
Still, I find it more difficult each day to motivate myself.

(And, to be honest, I would lie if I said that my own reputation score didn't matter at all. I know it is shallow, but still... It's a little frustrating that not really getting somewhere with that rep score is the price I'm paying for helping out so many newcomers these last two years.)

during European daytime, there aren't that many interesting posts to curate, imo. Not from low rep people, nor from high rep people.

Agreed.

(And, to be honest, I would lie if I said that my own reputation score didn't matter at all. I know it is shallow, but still... It's a little frustrating that not really getting somewhere with that rep score is the price I'm paying for helping out so many newcomers these last two years.)

I understand what you mean and you are right in that respect... but it is never too late to find a healthy balance :)

I have to admit I was pleased to get my number up but mainly so my vote would amount too more. It’s still low!

I think we all share/d the same sentiment, but once you get there and realise that absolutely nothing changes and how completely pointless it is, it becomes obsolete.

@jaynie - very valid point - what purpose is served by displaying a "reputation" number that has nothing to do with a person's "reputation". As you said, many have bought their way there to that number. I'm working my way toward Dolphin for more weight to my voting power, but I could care less about that "reputation" number. But I know you are so right, people look at that number and pass over lower numbered people and look for bigger numbered people to vote on. Those doing that are losing out on some really great content. I say - Yes - STOP DISPLAYING IT - it serves no positive purpose.

Precisely.

i think if steem were to actually reset the reputation for everyone and come up with a system that didnt rely on how much steem you've brought in over the lifetime of the account(bought or otherwise) it would at least be a good start. i understand the need to gamify activities in most community settings so i'm sure there can be a more fair system to still have a reputation without the financial requirements.

I totally agree! It should be based on merit not on wallet... but as we all know, money rules. lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65353.50
ETH 3202.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61